• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus P5Q Deluxe Problems

croutonsoup

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Location
Kent
System Name Windows XP
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 @ 2.5GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q Deluxe
Cooling Asus Silent Knight ii
Memory 4x1GB Crucial Ballistix 1066
Video Card(s) Inno3d 256mb Nvidia 6600
Storage Western Digital 250GB
Case Coolermaster Scout Storm
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 700W
Hey! I have just built my first PC (yay!) :laugh: and I have come into a few problems.

When I first overclocked this board it would do a kind of false start when I would boot it up again which was quickly followed by a successful power up. It would boot into windows fine and would complete the sandra burn in computer tests. But after a few days it would come up on the screen during boot up that "overclocking has failed". I thought this was quite weird as my computer was running fine for quite a few days whilst I had been gaming also. My main concern though was the failed power up which was quickly followed by a successful one. I heard somewhere that this is simply a protective measure after and overclock?

The funny thing is I tried overclocking again and this time made sure my RAM was set at 1066 which is the stock speed... My processor was set at 400. It then booted up without a failed first attempt and worked fine...for a few days :shadedshu

It then came up with that golden chesnut "Overclocking failed". Im baffled. Because I thought that if an overclock was unsuccessful it wouldnt wait a few days to tell u.

Id appreciate any insight into this issue. :)

Another thing is that I tried to connect my old IDE harddrives up to the connection on the side of the board and it wouldnt recognise it? I tried 3 different cables...
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.18/day)
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
we need more information fill your systeme spec

cpu , overclocked, bios voltage setting ?

''When I first overclocked this board it would do a kind of false start when I would boot it up again which was quickly followed by a successful power up''
My P5Q-E does the same thing and these normal
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.61/day)
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
I second stanhemi's request for more details so we can help out better. As he said, the "false starts" are normal, don't worry about them.

The problem with overclocking failed appearing after a few days is quite normal if the system is unstable. Just because it can boot and run a few days without problems doesn't quite mean it's stable. Again, telling us what settings you are using we should be able to help out iron out that instability.

You mentioned you ran Sanda burn, but this won't stress your system in a way that determines stability. Try OCCT for 4hr or Intel Burn Test at high stress mode. Much quicker than a 24hr Prime95, but always good indicators.

Keep an eye out on temperatures if you try these.
 

croutonsoup

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Location
Kent
System Name Windows XP
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 @ 2.5GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q Deluxe
Cooling Asus Silent Knight ii
Memory 4x1GB Crucial Ballistix 1066
Video Card(s) Inno3d 256mb Nvidia 6600
Storage Western Digital 250GB
Case Coolermaster Scout Storm
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 700W
Right I filled out my system specs :) Im planning on getting a new graphics card and harddrive very soon. they were just temporary as these were the only things I had.

Yeah I realise the false boot thing is normal the first time it happens... But it would do this everytime I powered up my PC. Could it be possible that the speed step is causing the overclock to fail after a few days? I havent enabled it but I read other places that this can cause a unstable overclock

Is the speed step enabled by default?
 

croutonsoup

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Location
Kent
System Name Windows XP
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 @ 2.5GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q Deluxe
Cooling Asus Silent Knight ii
Memory 4x1GB Crucial Ballistix 1066
Video Card(s) Inno3d 256mb Nvidia 6600
Storage Western Digital 250GB
Case Coolermaster Scout Storm
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 700W
just to be clear im not overvolting as I am new to overclocking and I would like to learn a bit more before I start tweaking Vcore voltages and such. So I have left the voltages alone... When I ran sandra tests it said that my CPU Voltages were higher than stock speed recommendation...

I Tweaked the RAM latencies down to 5-5-5-12 and managed to reduce the latencies by 10ns. Im not sure if this is good but any increase is a start?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.61/day)
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
Speedstep is enabled by default, disabling it certainly should make a difference. Never overclock on AUTO because the motherboard will automatically increase voltage, most of the times way too high.

Here are the settings Stanhemi passed me, which I am using as well... different board but similar BIOS. Should give you some idea so you don't let the mobo fry itself.

vcore 1,36
cpu gtl 0.635
cpu gtl 0.635
cpu pll 1.52
fsb 1,28 (stay under 1.40 )
nb 1.36
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.21/day)
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
''When I first overclocked this board it would do a kind of false start when I would boot it up again which was quickly followed by a successful power up''

I have a P5E and it does exactly the same thing, its normal

About the OC failing, without knowing your system, we cannot help you

I use intel burn test, if it pass that it will pass all
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.18/day)
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
you have a Q9300 if I understood

7.5 x 400 = 3000mhz
in bios set manually your memory voltage (around 2.1 volt )
Fsb voltage to 1.20 or 1.24
northbridge voltage 1.32 or more (4 stick need more nb voltage)
cpu voltage 1.28 (you can drop the voltage after if your stable)

try to test your system with Linx (20 pass) if everything is stable you can try to lower your voltage by step

Dont play with your memory timing now
 

croutonsoup

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Location
Kent
System Name Windows XP
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 @ 2.5GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q Deluxe
Cooling Asus Silent Knight ii
Memory 4x1GB Crucial Ballistix 1066
Video Card(s) Inno3d 256mb Nvidia 6600
Storage Western Digital 250GB
Case Coolermaster Scout Storm
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 700W
Sorry it took me a while to reply but I have been away for a while

Actually I have a Q8300 :) I shall list that in my specs to avoid any further confusion.

http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLB5W <<<My processor

Alright so these voltages you mention are default value or slightly above default to compensate for power needed to run higher speeds? And I would first try lowering the CPU voltage first after I have obtained a stable overclock? And then work my way over to the FSB voltage Ect?
Or would I change the voltages simultaneously? I thought changing them 1 by 1 would be the most sensible solution so u can see what is causing the instability?

Thanks for ur help by the way. I hope to gain a much broader understanding of how it all works. Im using this PC as a kind of learning tool and plan to upgrade to a more recent processor :laugh:
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.18/day)
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950

croutonsoup

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Location
Kent
System Name Windows XP
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 @ 2.5GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q Deluxe
Cooling Asus Silent Knight ii
Memory 4x1GB Crucial Ballistix 1066
Video Card(s) Inno3d 256mb Nvidia 6600
Storage Western Digital 250GB
Case Coolermaster Scout Storm
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 700W
Why do I need to tweak the memory volt if I can leave all the other voltages on default up to FSB 400?
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.18/day)
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
look at the spec of your RAM chips 1066mhz= 2.0-2.1-or 2.2 volt
look on the memory stick label (timing and voltage)
 

croutonsoup

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Location
Kent
System Name Windows XP
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 @ 2.5GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q Deluxe
Cooling Asus Silent Knight ii
Memory 4x1GB Crucial Ballistix 1066
Video Card(s) Inno3d 256mb Nvidia 6600
Storage Western Digital 250GB
Case Coolermaster Scout Storm
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 700W
Ahhh alright I see.. So basically we want to set the RAM volt at default so it doesnt exceed stock voltage? Like when u have to set the DRAM Frequency so the RAM is not overclocked?
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.18/day)
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
every 1066mhz memory stick need more voltage to operate at 1066mhz (bios voltage at auto don't feed 2.1 volt to your memory)

i have some corsair dominator at 1066mhz@2.1 volt and i can run my stick at 1.80 volt@800mhz
 

croutonsoup

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Location
Kent
System Name Windows XP
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 @ 2.5GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q Deluxe
Cooling Asus Silent Knight ii
Memory 4x1GB Crucial Ballistix 1066
Video Card(s) Inno3d 256mb Nvidia 6600
Storage Western Digital 250GB
Case Coolermaster Scout Storm
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 700W
I see what u mean. My RAM was only performing at 800mhz when I left everything to auto. I had to set it at 1066. So I guess the same is to be done for the voltage :laugh:
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.18/day)
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
cpu voltage 1.28
cpu gtl referance voltage 0/2 auto
cpu gtl referance voltage 1/3 auto
cpu pll voltage 1.54
fsb terminaison voltage 1.22 or more 1.24-1.28
northbridge voltage 1.30-1.36 (4 stick need more nb voltage)
northbrigde gtl referance auto
southbridge voltage auto
pci-e voltage auto

load line calibration enabled
cpu spread spectrum disabled
pci-e spread spectrum disabled
C1E support = Disabled
Intel Speed step = Disabled

test your overclocked with linx 20 pass (Pay attention to your cpu temps)
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=201670
 
Last edited:
Top