• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus p5w dh deluxe BIOS emergency :(

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#1
I finally go around to putting my new e6850 in today. Before, I made sure to check the asus website to see if the mobo was compatible with this CPU. The asus site said it was as of BIOS rev 2103. I knew I was running 2206, so I figured it would be OK.

I installed the CPU and tried to boot. The system starts but does not post. I figured I should just clear the CMOS and it should be ok. However, it still won't post. I went back to the asus site and checked again - yes, the mobo is compatible with bios rev 2103. I follow the link they give and it takes me to BIOS rev 2301, not 2103.

So I put the old e6400 back in and it won't boot. I tried to flash the BIOS from the USB, a CD-r with the BIOS file on it and a floppy, all with the file named p5wdh.rom as instructed in the manual. None of the devices are even being accessed :(

Please help :confused:
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,680 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,356
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#2
try taking the cmos battery out for a couple of hours and do the disharge of mobo and bios reset...then maybe just maybe the old cpu will get you back in...good luck
 

Hawk1

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
1,248 (0.32/day)
Likes
161
Location
The Big Smoke, Canada
Processor E6600@3.6Ghz (8x450)
Motherboard Commando
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2GB Ballistix Tracers @900 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) ATI X1950XTX w/TR HR-03
Storage 2 x WD250GB (RAID0) 1x WD150GB Raptor 1x500GB external
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case TT Armour
Audio Device(s) Xfi xtreme Gamer (X-230s/HD595s)
Power Supply TT 750W modular
Software xp pro SP2/Vista Ultimate 32
#3
Not to be insulting, but did you double check the power cables did not come loose/were all reconnected (PCIE/4pin CPU etc), 'cause I've given myself a heart attack like that before. Are you getting any beeps at all when you power on?
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
I'm not getting any beeps at all. The system powers up, the drives seek, then the HDD activity light goes off. All wires are secure and checked - I had to remove the vid card to reset the CMOS and made sure they were plugged in.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#5
Did you reset your raid array in bios after clearing CMOS,or set it to boot from floppy first to flash with the new bios.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.84/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#6
so . . . if you hear the HDD's being accessed, then it should be safe to assume that the BIOS is at least entering POST.

You were careful enough not to accidentally bend any pins in the CPU socket, right?

just to double check, you made sure your VGA is 100% seated and that the vid-out cable is 100% seated?
 

Hawk1

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
1,248 (0.32/day)
Likes
161
Location
The Big Smoke, Canada
Processor E6600@3.6Ghz (8x450)
Motherboard Commando
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2GB Ballistix Tracers @900 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) ATI X1950XTX w/TR HR-03
Storage 2 x WD250GB (RAID0) 1x WD150GB Raptor 1x500GB external
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case TT Armour
Audio Device(s) Xfi xtreme Gamer (X-230s/HD595s)
Power Supply TT 750W modular
Software xp pro SP2/Vista Ultimate 32
#7
Hmm? What method did you use to flash the BIOS. Hope it wasn't the Asus Autoupdate, as they say on the ASUS forums to strictly NOT use this method or it can corrupt the BIOS chip.

Also, when you cleared the CMOS, how long did you leave out the battery/move the jumper. I did mine overnight as I found only 10-20minutes did nothing for me (but this was due to a bad overclock).

If your BIOS chip is screwed, you can either order another one from the ASUS site (think they are $20), or if still under warranty, do an RMA. I know these solutions suck, but that's all I can think of.

Hope one of these help, and good luck.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#8
OK, I got it straightened out. It probably was not letting the CMOS clear long enough, although I have not had that issue previously on this board. I ended up ripping everything out of the case, put the board on a techstation and hooked up a different PSU and vid card (the ones from the DFI rig) and used the stock HSF and no drives. While I was taking everything out I set the CMOS to clear and removed the battery. This time around it got a good long clear, and I was able to post. I powered down and hooked up a floppy, then used the EZ Flash in the BIOS to update to the 2301. Shut it down, cleared the CMOS while I ate dinner, then powered up and checked everything out. I installed the new CPU and rebooted half a dozen times getting everything set up in the BIOS again. Fortunately, everything seems to be working great. I've had to dumb down the ram settings (was @ ddr800, now 667) due to the higher stock FSB, but I'll get it back up to speed as soon as I try to do some OCing.

Thanks for the input guys, and sorry for freaking out on ya :twitch:
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.84/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#9
glad you got it sorted out man! :toast:

have fun with that new proc :rockout:
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
I intend on it. Idling right now at stock @ 18C :D
 

Hawk1

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
1,248 (0.32/day)
Likes
161
Location
The Big Smoke, Canada
Processor E6600@3.6Ghz (8x450)
Motherboard Commando
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2GB Ballistix Tracers @900 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) ATI X1950XTX w/TR HR-03
Storage 2 x WD250GB (RAID0) 1x WD150GB Raptor 1x500GB external
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case TT Armour
Audio Device(s) Xfi xtreme Gamer (X-230s/HD595s)
Power Supply TT 750W modular
Software xp pro SP2/Vista Ultimate 32
#11
Glad you sorted it out. Have fun!:toast:


Edit:
glad you got it sorted out man! :toast:

have fun with that new proc :rockout:
LOL - well I guess there's a parrot here.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,680 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,356
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#12
:toast:hip-hip-hurray:toast:
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#13
what are the chances that the thread under this one is about the same board's bios?
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#14
I want your 2900XT
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#15
what are the chances that the thread under this one is about the same board's bios?
Probably. I hijacked that one with the same problem, hoping that some of the P5W DH owners that were already subscribed to that one would show up and offer their two cents :respect: