• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus P6T SE bios update questions.

JSidney

Mother board PT6 SE
Operating system Windows 10

This is my first time trying to do anything like this and I am worried about bricking it.

For my boss I am going to replace a I7 920 with a Xenon X5690 and I need to flash the bios first.

I have the update on my portable computer, it is 0908.ROM

I understand I have to be careful when using it to flash the bios but don't know the best way. I have read some horror stories but was unsure what information is good or not.

What is the safest way to flash the bios so I can change the CPU and how do I do this. I am worried that I will not have all the information I need together when doing this and for when I start up the computer after changing the CPU.

I really have no idea what I am doing.

Any guidance will be greatly appreciated, I don't want to brick the bosses computer.

Thanks

System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches + PBT DS keycaps
Software Gentoo Linux x64
Any guidance will be greatly appreciated, I don't want to brick the bosses computer.

The only dangerous thing about motherboard bios updates is they absolutely must not be interupted.