• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Asus P6X58D-E rebooting, how did you make yours work?

Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#1
Asus P6X58D-E rebooting randomly.

I have went through 3 motherboards now and they all keep doing the same thing. I'm starting to think My limited understanding of Asus's method of bios tuning, is causing the pc to reboot.
It rebooted once even in bios. It runs perfect for days sometimes though so I'm thinking it's voltage or some setting I'm missing.

The PC in question has an asus p658d-e mobo
win 7 x64 home
core i7 950 cpu
700 watt ocz psu
3x2 gb Patriot extreme ddr3 2000 memory
radeon 6850 gpu
Everything is brand new.

It rebooted once even while I was in bios.
It hasn't done that since but that can't be a good sign I'd think.
I have returned 2 mobos and this is my third, all are doing the same thing.
Could someone please post me your Asus px58d-e mobo overclocking specs?
Like what you did for voltages on everything to see if I'm just doing this wrong?
Idc if the p runs at stock speeds, that would be just fine.
But It just won't.
It tries to run the memory at 1066?! wtf..
I think I'm just use to gigabytes layout and this is confusing me.
Please please please, someone list their voltages and what they enabled or disabled in this mobo so I can get it to work right.. ty. ; ;

I have to work so I won't be on again until tonight but please, I'd appreciate any insight.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
1,037 (0.29/day)
Likes
100
Location
London, England
System Name Le Don
Processor Core i 5 2500K Unlocked 3.3GHz HD Graphics 3000
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro B3 Revision Rev 3.1
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7 Rev.2
Memory 8Gb Corsair DDR3 (CMZ8GX3M2B1600C9), 1600MHz, 1.5V, 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) EVGA Signature 2 Super Clocked GTX680 2GB
Storage Total 6 TB storage
Display(s) LG 23" D2342P and LG 42" 42LF65 LCD (Wall mounted)
Case Antec P180 Silver
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Corsair 850HX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit,
#2
While i can't give you any specific advice pertaining to your dilemma, have you tried clearing the CMOS/BIOS settings. usually on ASUS boards you have a jumper that needs to be put across two pins that would clear the BIOS settings.
2ndly. from the random reboots, i would think it's either something overheating (i.e. maybe the CPU heatsink not clamped down properly or too little or too much thermal paste).
3rdly. faulty PSU?
you mention that it's done this with all three mobos suggests it's not the mobo as such. usually when starting out on a new build, you should set things in the BIOS to auto unless you know the settings you wish to change (i.e. RAM timings etc) but usually suitably recent mobos do all that for you so there's no tweaking involved unless OCing.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#3
Will try the jumper. But I have reset defaults in bios. I assumed it would handle it.
I have tried everything else though.
Temps are very good on the processor under monitoring.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#4
no :love: ?
anyone? lol...
I try the profiles, the xmp and the others ones and all kinds of voltages including the auto setting. But it just randomly reboots still.. ; ;
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#5
What kind of reboot is it? Is it getting a blue screen? Does it just hard reset instantly? Does it soft reboot? Need more specific details.

If it's blue screening/glitching out and then resetting it could be overclocking settings (ie: too little or too much voltage)

If it's soft rebooting it could be a software/hardware issue but unlikely hardware.

If it's just randomly hard resetting with no blue screen or any warning at all it sounds like it's being shorted out possibly. It could be an electrical short. Make sure the motherboard is properly and securely mounted with standoffs and grounded properly. If it's making contact with a piece of metal or something it could be shorting it out and making it reset.

This issue has been happening with three different motherboard models, or just three of the same model? Also, have you reinstalled Windows fresh when changing motherboards or did you just swap it out with windows still installed?

Need a bit more specific info, thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#6
It's an instant reboot. Shuts totally down, no bluescreen.
Acts as if the reset button was pushed out of nowhere.

I reformatted when I installed the new mobos each time.
After three rebuilds I'd be surprised if it's wiring related. I have checked it all a lot.
I have rewired it though several times just to make sure. I have taken everything out several times and put it back together as well.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
1,037 (0.29/day)
Likes
100
Location
London, England
System Name Le Don
Processor Core i 5 2500K Unlocked 3.3GHz HD Graphics 3000
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro B3 Revision Rev 3.1
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7 Rev.2
Memory 8Gb Corsair DDR3 (CMZ8GX3M2B1600C9), 1600MHz, 1.5V, 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) EVGA Signature 2 Super Clocked GTX680 2GB
Storage Total 6 TB storage
Display(s) LG 23" D2342P and LG 42" 42LF65 LCD (Wall mounted)
Case Antec P180 Silver
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Corsair 850HX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit,
#7
I'm still convinced it's not mobo related. Three new (and therefore different) motherboards wouldn't be the cause of this instant reset. get your hands on another PSU, i've heard stories that resets occur randomly if the PSU is failing.
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#8
Yeah sounds like PSU/Power issues or some kind of short.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#9
K if it happens again I'm packin up the psu and shipping it out. tx. ^^