• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS P6X58D Premium - MemOK Light Stays On

SashaG

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2022
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
I have an ASUS P6X58D Premium motherboard that is not posting and gives no display.

First I thought that it was corrupted bios so I flashed the latest bios using an external programmer. Still nothing. So I thought that the bios chip is faulty. Used a different chip still the same result and used the original chip in a different motherboard and it worked, so its not the chip.
CPU and RAM are known working (tested on 2 motherboards). No bent pins in socket.

What I noticed is that the MemOK light stays on and according to the manual its some sort of compatibility issues with the RAM and bios version. However, I flashed the latest bios and the RAM Im using is in the QVL.
I've read that this is a common issue but I haven't found the solution yet.
I've tried pressing the MemOK button just as what is said in the manual and it cycles through the tests (different blinking speeds) until it comes to the point where it stays on again and still no post.

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
5,127 (3.21/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R7 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140 White
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x Intel 545S 256GB, 1TB Toshiba spinner
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA G+ 750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Do you have other ram you can try? If you are using the newest bios, maybe flash to something older.. I had better luck with mem compatibility on older bios than newer ones when I had an R3F.
 

SashaG

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2022
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
Thanks for the reply.

The other RAM I have is known working but is not in the QVL. Still the same result when I use it.
If you are using the newest bios, maybe flash to something older.. I had better luck with mem compatibility on older bios than newer ones when I had an R3F.
This is what Im planning to do next. Just flashing every bios from the oldest.

Any other step I could take?
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
5,127 (3.21/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R7 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140 White
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x Intel 545S 256GB, 1TB Toshiba spinner
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA G+ 750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
To save a bunch of hassles, maybe just try booting with one stick, I think it would be the furthest slot from the CPU, but I don't recall off hand.. once it trains for that stick, it should be ok to plug the other two in, one at a time because triple channel can be a bit fussy sometimes..
 

SashaG

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2022
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
Im only booting with one stick. According to the manual its the 2nd slot that should be filled first. But I tried all the combinations I can think of nothing worked.
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
509 (0.51/day)
System Name sub-$500 rig
Processor i5-9400F, @4Ghz 0.95v
Motherboard Asrock B365M Pro4
Cooling DeepCool Neptwin (1x 120mm TF fan)
Memory 2x16GB Corsair LPX 3600MHz
Video Card(s) ex-mining Asus GTX 1660S Phoenix, liquid metal inside.
Storage 0.5TB WD Black SN750 + 2TB Seagate Skyhawk (2016) + 1TB WD Caviar Blue (2010)
Display(s) Samsung C24RG50FQI
Case InWin Alice
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek crap
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-750FX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Redragon K539 brown switches
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 + Windows 10 21H2 LTSC (patched).
Does this board have a POST 2-digit indicator? What code does it show before mobo hangs up?
 

SashaG

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2022
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
It doesnt. But I have an external PCI post card. Its just loops with code b8 02 EA 01. Fun thing is those codes are blank.
However I was able to reproduce those codes on a motherboard by booting with one ram inserted on a known faulty ram slot. Doesnt give any beep that there is no ram but doesnt post as well.
So Im guessing it has something to do with RAM not being detected and this MemOK light.
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
509 (0.51/day)
System Name sub-$500 rig
Processor i5-9400F, @4Ghz 0.95v
Motherboard Asrock B365M Pro4
Cooling DeepCool Neptwin (1x 120mm TF fan)
Memory 2x16GB Corsair LPX 3600MHz
Video Card(s) ex-mining Asus GTX 1660S Phoenix, liquid metal inside.
Storage 0.5TB WD Black SN750 + 2TB Seagate Skyhawk (2016) + 1TB WD Caviar Blue (2010)
Display(s) Samsung C24RG50FQI
Case InWin Alice
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek crap
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-750FX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Redragon K539 brown switches
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 + Windows 10 21H2 LTSC (patched).
It doesnt. But I have an external PCI post card. Its just loops with code b8 02 EA 01. Fun thing is those codes are blank.
However I was able to reproduce those codes on a motherboard by booting with one ram inserted on a known faulty ram slot. Doesnt give any beep that there is no ram but doesnt post as well.
So Im guessing it has something to do with RAM not being detected and this MemOK light.
did you try another cpu as well? if it still doesnt work i guess the chipset (pch) is faulty.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
477 (0.59/day)
Location
Connecticut, USA
System Name Personal rig & Folder
Processor R9 5900X (VRM-B2) @ 180W/160A/140A | Mfg Wk03/2022
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Pro V2
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 w/ MX-4
Memory 2x16GB Crucial Ballistix 8Gbit Rev.E (DR) @ 3800CL15-18-8-17-34-54-540-1T @ 1.45v, 1900MHz FCLK
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Devil 6600XT @ C2800MHz/M2300MHz (Samsung) @ 176W TGP | MX-4, stock pads
Storage 1x SK hynix Gold P31 1TB (boot), 1x 2TB TeamGroup MP33 Pro, 1x 4TB Seagate Ironwolf HDD 5900RPM
Display(s) 1x Gigabyte M27Q, 1x Dell 2007WFP, 1x Dell E152FPg
Case Phanteks P500A (non-digital) w/ 4x 140mm Arctic P14 PWM PST CO fans
Audio Device(s) FiiO E10K-TC (USB) -> beyerdynamic DT770 Pro (80ohm)
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Core RGB
Software W10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/machinelearning/ ~ https://hwbot.org/team/warp9_systems/
It doesnt. But I have an external PCI post card. Its just loops with code b8 02 EA 01. Fun thing is those codes are blank.
However I was able to reproduce those codes on a motherboard by booting with one ram inserted on a known faulty ram slot. Doesnt give any beep that there is no ram but doesnt post as well.
So Im guessing it has something to do with RAM not being detected and this MemOK light.
If you haven't already, try re-seating the CPU. Sometimes what appears to be a RAM issue is a slightly off CPU install.

Also, if you have any, try a 4GB RAM stick. Some DDR3 boards specifically dislike 8GB DIMMs. I have the exact same board as you, as well as the -E, and 4GB RAM sticks work best.

I have heard of X58 having RAM channels die on motherboards, don't think that's the case though since you tried every slot?

Lastly, I'd try Regeneration's modded Xeon BIOS, see if that helps as a last-ditch effort. I use it on the same board with no problems.
 

SashaG

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2022
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
did you try another cpu as well? if it still doesnt work i guess the chipset (pch) is faulty.
This is the southbridge yea? It gets warm so Im not sure if its at fault.

If you haven't already, try re-seating the CPU. Sometimes what appears to be a RAM issue is a slightly off CPU install.

Also, if you have any, try a 4GB RAM stick. Some DDR3 boards specifically dislike 8GB DIMMs. I have the exact same board as you, as well as the -E, and 4GB RAM sticks work best.

I have heard of X58 having RAM channels die on motherboards, don't think that's the case though since you tried every slot?

Lastly, I'd try Regeneration's modded Xeon BIOS, see if that helps as a last-ditch effort. I use it on the same board with no problems.

I've tried reseating the CPU multiple times. Also tried a different CPU. Same results.
The RAM im using is actually a 2gb RAM.
I've tried every slot and every combination and nothing works. Its not giving me a beep code that no RAM is detected like when you have no RAM inserted. It detects the RAM but somehow doesnt work.
Can I have the link to the modded bios you are talking about? Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
477 (0.59/day)
Location
Connecticut, USA
System Name Personal rig & Folder
Processor R9 5900X (VRM-B2) @ 180W/160A/140A | Mfg Wk03/2022
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Pro V2
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 w/ MX-4
Memory 2x16GB Crucial Ballistix 8Gbit Rev.E (DR) @ 3800CL15-18-8-17-34-54-540-1T @ 1.45v, 1900MHz FCLK
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Devil 6600XT @ C2800MHz/M2300MHz (Samsung) @ 176W TGP | MX-4, stock pads
Storage 1x SK hynix Gold P31 1TB (boot), 1x 2TB TeamGroup MP33 Pro, 1x 4TB Seagate Ironwolf HDD 5900RPM
Display(s) 1x Gigabyte M27Q, 1x Dell 2007WFP, 1x Dell E152FPg
Case Phanteks P500A (non-digital) w/ 4x 140mm Arctic P14 PWM PST CO fans
Audio Device(s) FiiO E10K-TC (USB) -> beyerdynamic DT770 Pro (80ohm)
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Core RGB
Software W10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/machinelearning/ ~ https://hwbot.org/team/warp9_systems/

SashaG

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2022
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
I found the link but unfortunately still the same. Any other ideas?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
477 (0.59/day)
Location
Connecticut, USA
System Name Personal rig & Folder
Processor R9 5900X (VRM-B2) @ 180W/160A/140A | Mfg Wk03/2022
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Pro V2
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 w/ MX-4
Memory 2x16GB Crucial Ballistix 8Gbit Rev.E (DR) @ 3800CL15-18-8-17-34-54-540-1T @ 1.45v, 1900MHz FCLK
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Devil 6600XT @ C2800MHz/M2300MHz (Samsung) @ 176W TGP | MX-4, stock pads
Storage 1x SK hynix Gold P31 1TB (boot), 1x 2TB TeamGroup MP33 Pro, 1x 4TB Seagate Ironwolf HDD 5900RPM
Display(s) 1x Gigabyte M27Q, 1x Dell 2007WFP, 1x Dell E152FPg
Case Phanteks P500A (non-digital) w/ 4x 140mm Arctic P14 PWM PST CO fans
Audio Device(s) FiiO E10K-TC (USB) -> beyerdynamic DT770 Pro (80ohm)
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Core RGB
Software W10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/machinelearning/ ~ https://hwbot.org/team/warp9_systems/
I found the link but unfortunately still the same. Any other ideas?
None right now, unfortunately. It's a beautiful board, I wish I could help... If I do find anything, I'll be sure to come back.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,849 (1.27/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor 13600KF
Motherboard Asus B660-G (BCLK enabled!!)
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Patriot C36 series 5200mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060
Storage Samsung 980 pro m2
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Benchmark Scores 1800 single core CB R23 at 4.6ghz
Plug in the diagnostics speaker. If the board I working properly, you'll get some beeps.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
92 (0.06/day)
Location
Seattle area, Wa
System Name We call it 'x79', aka The x79 system
Processor E5 1680 v2
Motherboard Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Soft tube loop w/ Black Ice GTX 360 and EK Supremacy Evo
Memory 32gb (4x8gb) 2400mhz cl11 Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) Radeon VII, XFX with Samsung HBM dies
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 1tb
Display(s) old 27" Viewsonic 1080p, Asus 1080p, Viewsonic 4k
Case Thermaltake Core x9
Power Supply Corsair HX1200
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r15, w/ 1680v2 @ 4.6ghz and XMP enabled, 1648 1680v2 @ 4.7ghz RAM @ stock 1333mhz, 1696
I have one of those boards too.... the exact same one that you have. Bought it used a couple years ago. At first it worked fine when I upgraded to an x5680, but after I tried running an x5675 it doesn't want to work with any 6-core 32nm CPU that I've thrown at it. However, it works and boots fine when I tried a Core i7 920, 950, and 960.

The BIOS has been updated to the latest version and I've also tried a new BIOS chip but none of this has worked.

The only action that remotely works with the x5680 is when I move the DRAM voltage jumper to the OV position, boot with 1 stick of G.Skill RAM I have, and I press the Memory OK button when the red light comes on. That will at least get me into the BIOS, but after that I can't get into the BIOS again.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
435 (0.07/day)
System Name Desktop |Laptop Eluktronics Max 17
Processor X5675@4.8Ghz|Intel Core i7 9750H -140mW undervolt
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright True Black Ultra-120 Extreme | pk-3 | conductonaut
Memory 16Gb Trident DDR3 2400Mhz@2095Mhz | 10-9-10-20 | 64Gb DDR4 @ 2666 laptop
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 280 | RTX 2070 Max P
Storage Vertex 4 Raid 0 | 2 x 2Tb Inland Premium nvme
Display(s) Dell fpw 2005 20.1" 16:10 1680x1050
Case Tt Black Armor
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Fatality platinum & Extrememusic x-fi
Power Supply Evga P2 1000 | Corsair H1000i
Mouse Razer Viper ulti
Keyboard Saitek
Benchmark Scores (PR 9750H Cne15 2100|Cne20-3150) (as-SSD-7000 &6600pts 2 Tb Nvme) (PR x5675 Cne11.5 -1102Pts)
I broke out my x58 asus p6t deluxe v2. No boot. Cant get motherboard to spin fans either. I am in the middle of trying to find any shorts in the motherboard.
tried two cpus, different ram kits, single slot, dual, triple slot mem sticks, and two working psu's dont do a thing. Just started tonight trying to find a faulty mosfet with the multimeter. Checking continuity of mosfets and found no shorts with no pwoer. maybe two mosfets shorts with standby power. Leads me to believe the southbridge is toast. Because It doesnt post and thus cannot get 12v power to run throughout motherboard, checking voltage rails is done by jumping pins 16 and 18 on 24pin connection.
You might want to try checking voltage rails and mosfets and capacitors before replacing a southbridge. A southbridge shouldnt get warm with no post. Every time a southbridge needed replacing, that was a common symptom. You can check if the voltage is too high going to the southbridge and out of spec.
 
Last edited:

SashaG

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2022
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
Plug in the diagnostics speaker. If the board I working properly, you'll get some beeps.
I have it plugged in, it doesnt give me any beeps. However if I remove the RAM it gives me the beep that there is no RAM. Which means it detects the RAM but at the same time it doesnt or is somewhat not compatible? So I dont know.
I have one of those boards too.... the exact same one that you have. Bought it used a couple years ago. At first it worked fine when I upgraded to an x5680, but after I tried running an x5675 it doesn't want to work with any 6-core 32nm CPU that I've thrown at it. However, it works and boots fine when I tried a Core i7 920, 950, and 960.

The BIOS has been updated to the latest version and I've also tried a new BIOS chip but none of this has worked.

The only action that remotely works with the x5680 is when I move the DRAM voltage jumper to the OV position, boot with 1 stick of G.Skill RAM I have, and I press the Memory OK button when the red light comes on. That will at least get me into the BIOS, but after that I can't get into the BIOS again.
The CPUs I have tried with it are 920 and 960 both known working. Both didnt work. Tried flashing different bios versions even flashed the modded one to no avail. Also tried a different bios chip. Still nothing. I've also tried moving the jumpers back and forth from OV to default multiple times. Still nothing.
Just started tonight trying to find a faulty mosfet with the multimeter. Checking continuity of mosfets and found no shorts with no pwoer. maybe two mosfets shorts with standby power. Leads me to believe the southbridge is toast. Because It doesnt post and thus cannot get 12v power to run throughout motherboard, checking voltage rails is done by jumping pins 16 and 18 on 24pin connection.
You might want to try checking voltage rails and mosfets and capacitors before replacing a southbridge. A southbridge shouldnt get warm with no post. Every time a southbridge needed replacing, that was a common symptom. You can check if the voltage is too high going to the southbridge and out of spec.
Was thinking that this has also some sort of short somewhere. But my PCI post card senses every voltage rail so that means that 12v 5v 3.3v are present in the board. I've also checked the mosfets near the RAM slots, they all output ~1.5v so power to the RAM is present.
checking voltage rails is done by jumping pins 16 and 18 on 24pin connection.
If you mean checking the voltage rails on my PSU, my PSU works fine. Tried it on another working one too. Same results.
You might want to try checking voltage rails and mosfets and capacitors before replacing a southbridge. A southbridge shouldnt get warm with no post. Every time a southbridge needed replacing, that was a common symptom. You can check if the voltage is too high going to the southbridge and out of spec.
No mosfet shorts and no blown caps whatsoever. Might need to double check. This is interesting I didnt know that southbridge shouldnt get warm if there isnt post. How can I check if its getting the right voltage? Where to check and what should I look for in terms of voltage values? I have a boardview of the motherboard if anyone is interested.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,849 (1.27/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor 13600KF
Motherboard Asus B660-G (BCLK enabled!!)
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Patriot C36 series 5200mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060
Storage Samsung 980 pro m2
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Benchmark Scores 1800 single core CB R23 at 4.6ghz
b8 = Reserved for future AMI
02 = AP initialization before microcode loading
EA = S3 Resume Boot Script Error
01 = Power on. Reset type detection (soft/hard).

02 and EA are good indicators.

My thoughts are trying different keyboard and or mouse including different monitor and cable. Any device can create those two codes. Not limited to ssd or hdd internal or external, thumb drives too.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
92 (0.06/day)
Location
Seattle area, Wa
System Name We call it 'x79', aka The x79 system
Processor E5 1680 v2
Motherboard Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Soft tube loop w/ Black Ice GTX 360 and EK Supremacy Evo
Memory 32gb (4x8gb) 2400mhz cl11 Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) Radeon VII, XFX with Samsung HBM dies
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 1tb
Display(s) old 27" Viewsonic 1080p, Asus 1080p, Viewsonic 4k
Case Thermaltake Core x9
Power Supply Corsair HX1200
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r15, w/ 1680v2 @ 4.6ghz and XMP enabled, 1648 1680v2 @ 4.7ghz RAM @ stock 1333mhz, 1696
When the problem with my P6X58D Premium board began I looked over a few other forums and I found this red DRAM light problem is quite common. This seems to be a problem with both the Premium version and the P6X58D-E boards.

A couple times when I got into the BIOS, I noticed the Baseclock was set to 500. Also, there are some sticks of RAM that just won't work, no matter what I do. I can't get into the BIOS unless I use RAM from a particular kit of G.Skill memory that I have.

The only other issue I had with an x58 board was a recent one that involved the PC/board refusing to POST. I bought a used RIIIE that had been sitting around for somewhere between 8 to 10 years. The board refused to POST until I cleaned the 8-pin EPS/CPU power terminals on the board.
 
Last edited:

SashaG

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2022
Messages
13 (0.04/day)
My thoughts are trying different keyboard and or mouse including different monitor and cable. Any device can create those two codes. Not limited to ssd or hdd internal or external, thumb drives too.

I don't even have any peripherals plugged in. Just CPU and RAM. It should give me a beep that I have no GPU inserted but it wont even reach the GPU check. It does however give me a beep if I dont have any RAM inserted. So Im guessing is the problem is somewhere in checking the RAM which relates to the memOK thing.

When the problem with my P6X58D Premium board began I looked over a few other forums and I found this red DRAM light problem is quite common. This seems to be a problem with both the Premium version and the P6X58D-E boards.

A couple times when I got into the BIOS, I noticed the Baseclock was set to 500. Also, there are some sticks of RAM that just won't work, no matter what I do. I can't get into the BIOS unless I use RAM from a particular kit of G.Skill memory that I have.

Yea, I've read too. Its a common issue but I havent found the solution yet. Although Ive read that if you can set the timings manually in the bios it would skip the memok check or something. If you still have the board can I ask for a copy of your bios with manually set timings? Because I cant even get into bios. Sadly I dont have GSkill rams to try that out. I have a few DDR3 memories and a few CPUs, just gonna try out every possible combination.

The only other issue I had with an x58 board was a recent one that involved the PC/board refusing to POST. I bought a used RIIIE that had been sitting around for somewhere between 8 to 10 years. The board refused to POST until I cleaned the 8-pin EPS/CPU power terminals on the board.

The main board that Im using right now is an R3E. It used to be faulty, getting stuck in American Megatrends screen with XXXX memory OK as last message. Turns out it was caused by a faulty sound chip ALC889. Had a couple of restarts until with luck was able to get into bios and disabled the hd audio. No problems since then. Just had to use an external sound card.
Also just wondering, does the CPU get hot before you cleaned the EPS terminals?
 
Last edited:

Stretch

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2022
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I have exactly the same board with exactly the same problem. Everything you say happens on mine.

The difference for me is I put it away a year ago with this fault. Pulled it out a few days ago and it worked.. MemOK worked as it should and it booted. Ran for about 30-40 mins before it froze completely, no mouse or keyboard movement. Screen was still on but no response.

Restarted and it is back to the same old issue, has not worked since. Multiple restarts, RAM swaps (even though I know it all works), left it without power and CMOS battery for a day, nothing will get it past the solid DRAM LED.

It has to be a faulty component on the board.
 
Last edited:

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
5,127 (3.21/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R7 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140 White
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x Intel 545S 256GB, 1TB Toshiba spinner
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA G+ 750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
A couple times when I got into the BIOS, I noticed the Baseclock was set to 500.
My R3F did this when it was extra cranky. It does that when it hates your ram. If you are using the most up to date bios.. don't. Go back to about mid life or so, that's what I did at it solved all of my problems. To the point where I could mix 3 sets of ram and fill all 6 dimms and overclock 16GB of ram which for me was impossible up until the last few months I spent with the board.

:(
 

Kissamies

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
9,289 (2.51/day)
Location
Central Finland
System Name Meow
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 + 5 case fans
Memory 32GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 3466
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 6700 XT
Storage ~3TB of SSDs + 7TB HDDs
Display(s) 32" 4K IPS & 24" 1080p VA
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Corsair HS35
Power Supply Seasonic 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary
Keyboard NOS C450 Mini Pro RGB
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 10 Pro EN
Sorry, too lazy to read the whole thread, but are the socket pins ok?
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
92 (0.06/day)
Location
Seattle area, Wa
System Name We call it 'x79', aka The x79 system
Processor E5 1680 v2
Motherboard Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Soft tube loop w/ Black Ice GTX 360 and EK Supremacy Evo
Memory 32gb (4x8gb) 2400mhz cl11 Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) Radeon VII, XFX with Samsung HBM dies
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 1tb
Display(s) old 27" Viewsonic 1080p, Asus 1080p, Viewsonic 4k
Case Thermaltake Core x9
Power Supply Corsair HX1200
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r15, w/ 1680v2 @ 4.6ghz and XMP enabled, 1648 1680v2 @ 4.7ghz RAM @ stock 1333mhz, 1696
My R3F did this when it was extra cranky. It does that when it hates your ram. If you are using the most up to date bios.. don't. Go back to about mid life or so, that's what I did at it solved all of my problems. To the point where I could mix 3 sets of ram and fill all 6 dimms and overclock 16GB of ram which for me was impossible up until the last few months I spent with the board.

:(
Bummer.... because I sold that board & an i7-950 a couple weeks ago for $30usd. I would have tried that if I still had it.
 
Top