1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus p8z68 e.t.c 4xRAM problem like p45?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by sy5tem, May 16, 2011.

  1. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    hello!

    im about to receive my p8z68 and i was wondering, is this new h67/p67/z68 have problem with 4 ram slot populated ? anybody know? because my super stable q9400 with 2x2GB was really hard to get stable with 4x2gb (needed voltage and timing slacking)

    thank you
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,647 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    994
    To some extent, yes. It's more difficult to run 4 sticks at 2133 than 2 sticks on 1155 chipsets. However I haven't seen anything about 4 sticks effecting the cpu's max overclock this generation.
     
    sy5tem says thanks.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,772 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Only had issues with CAS6 sticks(no board I've touched will do CAS6 with 4 sticks, 2, no problem), and @ 2133 MHz.
     
    sy5tem says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    cool

    i don't intend to overclock bus much as multiplier is unlocked on the 2600k so il be fine with my 4x4 gb (corsair vangence DDR3-1866 CL9-9-9-24 ) i plan on running it at ~1600mhz
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,772 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    very good chance that vengence will work as it should. If they were two seperate kits, there is no guarantee on the 1866 clocks, but 1600 should be a cakewalk.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    cool to know ! thats why i went 1866 .. thinking it would almost guarantee 1600mhz stable glad some1 else also think so!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,772 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Sometimes two separate kits won't work together...I've had it happen.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)