• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus P8Z68-v lx + i5 2500k voltage can't be manually set

Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.63/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#1
Well lads!

I can't seem to manually set the cpu voltage at all! When I change it to any setting, it just ignores my input and uses what ever it feels like!!

I'm a bit confused! Why would this be happening??
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3 ~ 3.6GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#2
Well lads!

I can't seem to manually set the cpu voltage at all! When I change it to any setting, it just ignores my input and uses what ever it feels like!!

I'm a bit confused! Why would this be happening??
Hi

Is Ai Overclock Tuner set to [Auto] If yes; set to [Manual] Allows you to individually set overclocking parameters.

hope this helps

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.63/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#3
Cheers. I'll have a look and see if it changes anything!
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#4
just out of curiosity what settings are you trying to achieve?
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.63/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#5
Ahh it's already set to manual! flip it anyway!

I'm trying to stay away from auto as it ups the volts to 1.36 @ 4.2Ghz. I want to be able to get the volts as low as possible!
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3 ~ 3.6GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#6
Ahh it's already set to manual! flip it anyway!

I'm trying to stay away from auto as it ups the volts to 1.36 @ 4.2Ghz. I want to be able to get the volts as low as possible!
Hi

Try this:-
CPU Voltage [Offset Mode]
[Manual Mode] Allows you to set a fixed CPU voltage.

Edit: eidairaman1 spotted that "Offset Mode" may not be available for your model, thanks

Irish_PXzyan; have you disabled intel speed step and turbo mode?

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,704 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,116
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
seems to be a lower end model board, trade it in
 

Cratzky

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
296 (0.10/day)
Likes
41
System Name The Terminator.
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k 3.3ghz @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) B3
Cooling 2x Zalman zm-f3 120mm, 2x Xilence red wing 80mm, Xigmatek Achilles s1284 120mm CPU Cooler
Memory 8GB G.Skill Ares 1866mhz CL9 1.5v
Video Card(s) Zotac Geforce GTX 470 @ 675/1340/3402
Storage OCZ Agility3 60gb | WD Green 500gb, 7200rpm, 64mb cache
Display(s) Samsung SA300 22" LED
Case Asus shit plastic.
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme gamer
Power Supply Corsair vx550w
Software Windows 7 professional x64
Benchmark Scores Coming
#8
Yup, this is normal, this board is not ment for overclocking, at all.
Im sorry OP; but u should have researched this before u bought it
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.63/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#9
No I didn't disable speedstep technology or turbo mode! I'd rather not have the PC running at 4.2Ghz constantly!

I done some research on it and everyone is able to overclock using this board.
It's usually most stable at 4.5Ghz and it can be pushed if lucky.

I guess this board just doesn't like manual CPU voltage control! argh!
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2011
Messages
283 (0.12/day)
Likes
64
Location
Portugal
System Name MSIGameRig
Processor Intel 4670k @ 4.2 [1.21v]
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Cooling EK XTX 360+240 Rad´s
Memory Corsair 16GB Dominator Plat.2800C11 DDR3 @ 2400Mhz CL11
Video Card(s) 2_WaySLI MSI Gaming_OC GTX770
Storage [RAID0] Corsair Neutron SSD 240GB / WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Dual Samsung HS24" 1920x1080 [2ms]
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 HD
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I dont care about bench, just want the max fps possible @ DX11 with extreme AA/AF
#10

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#11

Necrofire

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
585 (0.16/day)
Likes
43
System Name Chuck
Processor Core i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard msi P67A-C43
Cooling hyper 212, 2 120mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 6870
Storage 60GB sata3 sandforce ssd, 1TB samsung hdd
Display(s) Yamakazi Catleap
Case Possibly Antec, not sure
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W
#12
Friend has same setup, really stupid mobo.

In UEFI, go to Ai Tweaker > CPU Power Management
Change Additional Turbo Voltage up a notch from Auto to 0.004V

That prevented my friend's mobo from auto-choosing 1.45V at 4.2 (I mean, jesus, 1.45, it was gonna die as temps hit 80C in like 10 seconds on load)

EDIT: Also, 4.5GHz worked for him, but he doesn't have the cooling to deal with the additional voltage the mobo is adding.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.63/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#13
I'll be sure to save up more for a higher end mobo when it's time to upgrade again!
I just didn't have the extra cash needed to spend on a higher end model!

Thanks for the tip. I'll try changing it and see if that helps!
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2005
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
20
Processor 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Stock
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D/US 4x4 1866@99927 1.41v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 280x
Display(s) crossover
Case junk
Audio Device(s) usbstick
Power Supply enermax 82+pro 5years+ still good
#14
-lx suffix doesnt sound right..
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#15
any luck??
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.63/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#16
No luck at all!
I'm unable to find the Additional Turbo Voltage setting to change it.

In most cases my computer is stable. But when I play Empire total war it constantly crashes my computer so I've given up on it for now!
I'm left with no choice but to buy a PSU :/
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#17
PSU won't do anything...change Mobo if anything

this was posted on another site:

first selected the XMP profile for the RAM and then manually changed the voltage to 1.5V. For you, I would set it to the XMP profile and not change the voltage first off to ensure you're isolating any blue screen to the CPU only.

Change the multiplier to x44 first with LLC enabled (not auto) and is it, PLL overvoltage(?) enabled as well. Then offset the voltage by +0.005 and boot in. See what happens and run prime or IBT for 30 minutes to see if it's OK. You'll need to test for stability for a longer period later on but 30 minutes is fine for now.

The huge spike in vcore while the CPU is under a smallish amount of load is due to vdroop I believe. Enabling LLC should counter-act this.

Do you have C1E, speedstep, etc enabled? You should do if you don't.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.63/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#18
Why wouldn't a new PSU do anything??
I have an Asrock Z68 board coming in a week or two. I suppose I could replace my asus board with that and see if it is my board or not?

I'll check out my settings and make changes! I'll let you know!

Edit:
I'm after running Prime95 for an hour and it's passed without any errors.

Ok I'm after getting another restart :/ I checked my event log and found an event ID 6008 error:
The previous system shutdown at 22:11:03 on ‎26/‎04/‎2012 was unexpected.

Any ideas what this means??
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,704 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,116
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#19
ok FYI any Asus board that has L* in it its a budget board mainly used by OEMs