1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Packs a Load Onto Mini-ITX for AMD Users

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,268 (9.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASUS is ready with a feature-packed socket AM3 motherboard in the mini-ITX form-factor, based on the AMD 880G + SB710 chipset. The ASUS M4A88T-I Deluxe, as it is called, supports AM3 processors, probably with a TDP limited at 95W or 125W, and supports up to 8 GB of dual-channel DDR3 memory using SODIMMs (laptop memory). It far from stops here. The 880G chipset packs a DirectX 10.1 compliant ATI Radeon HD 4290 graphics, complete with SidePort memory and HD video acceleration features. The SB710 gives out five SATA 3 Gb/s ports on this board, of which three are internal, and two eSATA. The lone expansion slot is a PCI-Express 2.0 x16.

    Connectivity includes 6-channel HD audio with optical and coaxial SPDIF output, WiFi b/g/n, gigabit Ethernet, Bluetooth, USB 3.0 and USB 2.0, and display connectivity which includes DVI and HDMI (with 7.1 channel HDMI audio). The SB710 comes with the unintended functionality of unlocking disabled cores on some processors.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: PCGH
     
    TheLaughingMan and MKmods say thanks.
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,369 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,598
    Location:
    London,UK
    AHH!!!!

    it runs off laptop ram Dimms. good stuff - though ram latancy is pretty piss poor with laptop dimms
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,849 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    DDR3 timing suck anyway atm hehe
    you can find DDR2 SO-DIMMs at 5-5-5-25 now
    you just need to wait a year or two for DDR3 SO-DIMM to go that low :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    352 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Well its about time somebody made some AMD based mini-ITX motherboards that are actually worth owning!
     
  5. xkche

    xkche

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    181 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    I like it!!! ...but, SO-DIMM... i don't know...
     
  6. ASharp

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    226 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Man, that's awesome. Was hoping something like this would finally come along. There aren't too many mini-ITX boards for AMD. Too bad, as mentioned, it's SODIMM. :(
     
  7. Imsochobo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    559 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Okey, you can put on 6 core 3.2 ghz 8 gig ram and 5970!
    On a mini ITX!!!! :D
     
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,268 (9.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    What's wrong with DDR3 SODIMM? They have the same timings as desktop parts for any given frequency.
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,369 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,598
    Location:
    London,UK

    I was about to say their expensive but just googling some prices....they are actually not bad at all!!

    a (1Gbx2)2Gb OCZ value kit is £42 ish. & a 4gb kit costs around £100
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,349 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    Location:
    Home
    Compatibility. Its hard to sell the parts once your ITX build reaches retirement.
     
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,268 (9.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    There are millions out there who use notebooks, and DDR3 SODIMM is new. So that's a non-issue.

    DDR3 SODIMM is also easily available, and prices are nearly identical to regular DIMMs.
     
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,349 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    Location:
    Home
    Market for notebook memories is much smaller than normal sized sticks. But I should have phrased my comment on "harder" instead of "hard"
     
  13. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,649 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    Location:
    Blighty
    I would also rather see full size ram, theres plenty of intel itx boards with full size ram slots, yet all amd ones i've seen use laptop dimms, amd's huge socket/heatsink bracket maybe?

    Also, why do ALL these itx board have crappy sound chips, given that most people would want to use the single pci-e for a gpu, theres no way of upgrading this. Asus should stick one of their rebranded c-media chips on it..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,369 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,598
    Location:
    London,UK
    1. its to save space
    2. it really makes no difference if its laptop or desktop ram. there shouldnt be any negative performance impact or at least not extremely negative.


    because these ITX boards are mainly used for Media Pcs to stream music & movies. also Realteks HD codecs aint too bad. not as good as dedicated audio but its not so bad at all.

    there is a way to upgrade the audio & thats to use a USB audio card if thats what bugs you the most
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,706 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    looks like a good cruncher rig :D
     
  16. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,540 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,098
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    +1. Long wanted to build a iTX based machine but always something is missing. Finally Asus got it right.

    What is that gold connectors shown in the picture? Is it built in TV tuner?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. robn

    robn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Wifi RF connector I think. Says it has B, G and N.
     
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,268 (9.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    But availability is not harder, even if the market is smaller.
     
  19. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,349 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    Location:
    Home
    Nah, I was more concerned about selling, not buying. I understand your stance though.
     
  20. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,195 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,422
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    This was something I was looking for a while back. Every other board I found that fit what I needed was missing something like Wifi or decent GPU, which would have cost me any extra $35 to $50. This always put the package a little on the uncomfortable range.

    I think I am going to build that set top box now cause my HTPC is just overkill for what I use it for.

    I am starting to really like MSi.
     
  21. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,998 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    DDR3 already has lower actual latency than DDR2.
    You can't just look at the numbers alone.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Does SB710 support port multipliers?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Cuzza

    Cuzza

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,316 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yes please, I'll take one right now. How much?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)