• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus PC Probe voltage issue

HD_Monkey

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor E8400 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus P5K-E
Cooling Zalman 9500A
Memory 2X 2GB OCZ Reaper @ 800mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 260 @ 680Mhz
Storage 5X 250GB 7200rpm Seagates in Raid 5
Display(s) 23" CRT Dell
Case Antec (not sure model but great case)
Audio Device(s) SB XFI
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software XP x64 SP2
#1
Hello sirs, I have 2 GB ocz Reaper @ 800 mhz. I noticed that clocks were at 5-5-5-15 and voltage {auto} in bios and cpuz (clock timings) as well, so I decided to go in and manually set timings to 4-4-4-12 (closer to rated specs) and voltage to 2.0v (rated for this set). I noticed an immediate and quite substantial improvement in the "snap" of my system, however, I got an annoying alarm from pc probe showing voltage as 3.3 volts. Is pc probe reliable at all. I am having my doubts. :(

Thanks
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
Your ram would fry at 3.3v's so I would say PCProbe is wrong. Try using Everest to see if it picks up the voltage readout correctly. Does the harware monitor in your bios give you any readings for your RAM v's?
 

HD_Monkey

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor E8400 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus P5K-E
Cooling Zalman 9500A
Memory 2X 2GB OCZ Reaper @ 800mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 260 @ 680Mhz
Storage 5X 250GB 7200rpm Seagates in Raid 5
Display(s) 23" CRT Dell
Case Antec (not sure model but great case)
Audio Device(s) SB XFI
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software XP x64 SP2
#3
Thanks for the reply erocker. No I have no readings in bios of actual voltage that I know of. I do not have everest, but will look to dl. Last time I checked they wanted $ for it unfortunately. By the way, just got a reading of 85 degress celsius on the cpu (panic shutdown wtf???) My system is now at 39C so I am not worried. Just wondering if anyone else has seen this. The only thing I changed was ram timings.

Thanks for the help
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#4
Are you using the newest version of PC Probe?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
Use realtemp for your cpu temp
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#6
Real Temp doesn't work with many AMD chips.
 

HD_Monkey

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor E8400 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus P5K-E
Cooling Zalman 9500A
Memory 2X 2GB OCZ Reaper @ 800mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 260 @ 680Mhz
Storage 5X 250GB 7200rpm Seagates in Raid 5
Display(s) 23" CRT Dell
Case Antec (not sure model but great case)
Audio Device(s) SB XFI
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software XP x64 SP2
#7
Are you using the newest version of PC Probe?

I updated in Feb. Bought the board in Jan. Haven't checked for a newer/different version as it has always agreed with the bios until now. The funny thing is, I was running a steady 44C until timings change. Now 5C lower on the cpu (according to pc probe). New to oc'ing and after seeing the difference a "minor" adjustment like this made I may be hooked. Still so many variables involved.

I appreciate the help :respect:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#8
5/25/2007 is the latest listed for your board. Give those a try.
 

HD_Monkey

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor E8400 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus P5K-E
Cooling Zalman 9500A
Memory 2X 2GB OCZ Reaper @ 800mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 260 @ 680Mhz
Storage 5X 250GB 7200rpm Seagates in Raid 5
Display(s) 23" CRT Dell
Case Antec (not sure model but great case)
Audio Device(s) SB XFI
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software XP x64 SP2
#9
5/25/2007 is the latest listed for your board. Give those a try.


I dl'ed and installed latest AI Suite. I have been running stress test (orthos) for 40 minutes and no problems. Will leave running overnight to make sure. Thanks for your help. Still can't get over the performance increase. :roll:

HD_Monkey :rockout: