• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus R7 265 BIOS Problem

Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
32 (3.56/day)
I have a problem with my Asus R7 265 graphics card. I downloaded the BIOS version from techpowerup and installed it on my card.
f16t5646p98329n2_NzORKyMk.png
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
657 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
And the problem is what exactly, please?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,584 (1.41/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.05GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW Gaming
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
What's the problem? It shows as HD 7800 series?

It's perfectly normal since R7 265 is a rebranded HD 7850.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
32 (3.56/day)
My card does not show a Boot screen (Motherboard logo, Windows boot screen) I can get an image when Windows opens. My card is normally called "Asus r7 265 series" and the memory size should be "2048".

12414.PNG
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
657 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Why did you flash with this BIOS?
What was wrong with the original BIOS that led you to need any flashing?
Can this be a fake card you purchased?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,584 (1.41/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.05GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW Gaming
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
When I had a R9 280 (Radeon HD 7950 Boost rebrand) it showed sometimes as HD 7900 series and sometimes as R9 200 series. That's not anything special.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
32 (3.56/day)
This card was working normally before, then suddenly stopped and I installed the BIOS, but nothing happened, I had this problem before installing the BIOS. When I reboot the computer on some days, "Asus R7 265 Series" and 2048 MB appear, but when I turn off the computer and turn it back on, the old problems happen again.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
657 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
If your card is broken, trying to flash it with a new BIOS is not likely to fix anything, it does not work this way.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
32 (3.56/day)
I didn't do anything to this card! This problem has already occurred before installing the BIOS. I'm just wondering if this issue is related to the BIOS.
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,795 (1.06/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
I didn't do anything to this card! This problem has already occurred before installing the BIOS. I'm just wondering if this issue is related to the BIOS.
it’s not and never was. BIOS‘s aren’t drivers and don’t need to be changed...
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,584 (1.41/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.05GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW Gaming
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
My first three things would be

a) try different drivers (clean the old ones before doing so)
b) try it in a different PCIE slot if possible
c) try it in an another PC if possible

e: ah, damn, didn't read it. Exactly, if it works, don't fix it. And let me guess, you don't have the original bios-file saved as a backup?
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
32 (3.56/day)
My first three things would be

a) try different drivers (clean the old ones before doing so)
b) try it in a different PCIE slot if possible
c) try it in an another PC if possible

e: ah, damn, didn't read it. Exactly, if it works, don't fix it. And let me guess, you don't have the original bios-file saved as a backup?
When I switched to the new system it did not cause any problems, but then it started to happen again. I could not back up the BIOS file because the GPU-Z card was not visible.
Nobody uses this card in the forum? Can he send me his own BIOS?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,584 (1.41/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.05GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW Gaming
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
When I switched to the new system it did not cause any problems, but then it started to happen again. I could not back up the BIOS file because the GPU-Z card was not visible.
Nobody uses this card in the forum? Can he send me his own BIOS?
Is your card this model?

 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
657 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
* What was the original issue, or issues?

* IF the card is damaged, the worst thing to try is to flash BIOS again. You may brick your card irreversibly if you try it!
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
32 (3.56/day)
* What was the original issue, or issues?

* IF the card is damaged, the worst thing to try is to flash BIOS again. You may brick your card irreversibly if you try it!
I already downloaded and copied the BIOS file from Techpowerup. Sometimes the card returns to its original state, and sometimes the states in the photo appear.
12414.PNG


Original;
3.PNG



The current situation;
Ekran Alıntısı.PNG
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,584 (1.41/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.05GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW Gaming
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
That's interesting, I don't think I've read about a similar issue before. What bothers me, is that in your lower picture it doesn't show the bios version and it has different, probably some OC clocks.

Though you have different versions of your drivers and GPU-Z between those pics, it's still interesting. Do any 3d apps (games etc.) work?
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
32 (3.56/day)
That's interesting, I don't think I've read about a similar issue before. What bothers me, is that in your lower picture it doesn't show the bios version and it has different, probably some OC clocks.

Though you have different versions of your drivers and GPU-Z between those pics, it's still interesting. Do any 3d apps (games etc.) work?
Programs and games are running, but VRAM is low, so performance may decrease.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,584 (1.41/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.05GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW Gaming
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
Programs and games are running, but VRAM is low, so performance may decrease.
Is it only Windows which reports 1280MB? At least GPU-Z sees the whole 2GB
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,584 (1.41/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.05GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW Gaming
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
1280 MB appears in the games.
Very interesting, so I guess that it also has a narrower effective memory bus, 160-bit which also has a hit on performance.

What software did you use to flash that bios which led us to the situation we're dealing now?

edit: I suppose it doesn't have dual bios?
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
32 (3.56/day)
Very interesting, so I guess that it also has a narrower effective memory bus, 160-bit which also has a hit on performance.

What software did you use to flash that bios which led us to the situation we're dealing now?

edit: I suppose it doesn't have dual bios?
In fact, I used a program to change the motherboard logo on my previous system, then loaded the stock logo to undo the transactions and this problem started. The motherboard brand was GIGABYTE and my graphics card does not have dual BIOS.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,584 (1.41/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.05GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW Gaming
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
So it's like a little bios modding for the motherboard, remember doing similar when I had an Asus board and Pentium D..

But can you flash that R7 265 bios what I posted to the card?
 
Top