• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASUS Releases KGPE-D16 Socket G34 Motherboard for 12-core AMD Opteron Processors

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,320 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
ASUS today introduced the new ASUS KGPE-D16 motherboard featuring the AMD G34 socket for 8- and 12-Core AMD Opteron 6100 Series processors. Equipped with an AMD SR5690/SP5100 chipset as well as supporting 4-channels of DDR3 memory per processor, ASUS' unique PIKE upgrade kit, and ASUS ASMB4-iKVM module for remote management, the KGPE-D16 is a reliable platform that runs heavy server operations while achieving exceptionally low power consumption.

Show full news post
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#2
Those CPU were dirt cheap when announced, if these are as cheap as the entry level dual 1366 boards it might be one hell of a platform.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#3
Not bad. Can go dual GPU, Pike (1068E for $80), and an MIO audio card.

An EATX Tyan 2P G34 recently popped up on Newegg for $459.
 

Kitkat

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
768 (0.25/day)
Likes
75
#4
now make that dual socket fx again lol cant they do it with the 6 cores phenoms or no?
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#5
I'm trying to imagine i can render with 24 cores...:wtf::eek::twitch:
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
6,823 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,901
Location
Viking Land
System Name Ivy Biatch
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard ASSRockzz z77TOTHEEXTREME!!!!
Cooling bleh
Memory 2x4gb crucial 1866
Video Card(s) HD7770, yes it does BF3
Storage 120gb Vertex
Display(s) 226BW
Case whats that, oh my table
Audio Device(s) stock onboard thing
Power Supply HX850W
Software 7
#6
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.49/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#7
they should add more pci-e slots like EVGA do with them intel mobo to make multi talent mobo
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
now make that dual socket fx again lol cant they do it with the 6 cores phenoms or no?
SKT 1207 was a 2 Way setup just like this unit here, Phenoms are 1 way Units, You would need an arbiter to run 2 way anymore. The Last Time you could use Desktop Parts in a Server board was the AMD SKT A CPUs, as they have a certain bridging on them that determined whether they were Desktop, Mobile or Server.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#9
Finally! Now time to start saving up!
These could make great servers and folding rigs
 

fatguy1992

New Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
419 (0.12/day)
Likes
46
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Processor W3570 - W3540 - Q6600 - Celeron 360
Motherboard EVGA X58 Classified - MSI X58 Eclipse - ASUS Commando
Cooling Kayl Custom Built Dual Stage Cascade - IFX-14
Memory Corsair DDR3 Dominator GT 6GB 1866MHz - Cellshock DDR2 4GB 1066MHz
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX275 - 9400GT - 7600GT
Storage Samsung 750GB HDD
Display(s) Samsung 21.6' 2253LW
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply TT 750watt - Coolermaster Real Power Pro 1000watt
Software Windows XP - Windows 7 - what else should I put here?
Benchmark Scores Too many to list :P
#10
Looks good, but most importantly will it have any overclocking features?
 

Kitkat

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
768 (0.25/day)
Likes
75
#11
you cannot throw in the phenoms, they run on AM3 socket.
you can ONLY use the Opterons http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...010340727 50001028 1652756958&name=Socket G34
2 * socket G34 (LGA 1944)
8/12 Core AMD Opteron™ 6000 series
HyperTransport™ Technology 3.0, 6.4 GT/s per link (triple link)
lol i understand that much. Not what i was refering too realy ;)


SKT 1207 was a 2 Way setup just like this unit here, Phenoms are 1 way Units, You would need an arbiter to run 2 way anymore. The Last Time you could use Desktop Parts in a Server board was the AMD SKT A CPUs, as they have a certain bridging on them that determined whether they were Desktop, Mobile or Server.
yeah i figured :( i wish ASUS and AMD would team up to do it again i missed the boat the first time, here it is for those who havent seen it b4

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131146

Thanx for explanation btw ;) PS: i just read and this thing still kicks ass lol... X years later
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#12
now make that dual socket fx again lol cant they do it with the 6 cores phenoms or no?
Well, the Quad FX platform was a little bit of a dud if I recall correctly. An Intel quad-core could outperform, or at the very least, keep up with it, and the Quad FX drank power, compared to the Intel quad. Not only that, but the motherboard was super-expensive, although it used regular DDR2 if you used an Athlon FX processor rather than an Opteron, so that saved a fair amount.
I think AMD's learned their lesson there, and will more than likely release a Phenom 12-core before they release another Quad FX, unless they can deliver the goods this time around. That's just my two-cents though, so could be I'm so completely mistaken that they're just about to announce Octo FX or Duodecim FX platform or sumat.
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.56/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#13
now make that dual socket fx again lol cant they do it with the 6 cores phenoms or no?
hehe... I got a Dual Socket F board with an RS780 NB and SB750. :) Currently running 2x Istanbuls. 12 cores of crunchy goodness... BUT its due to be replaced soon by a G34 board and 2x 12 core Magnys if I meet the criteria for them. :laugh:
 

Kitkat

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
768 (0.25/day)
Likes
75
#14
hehe... I got a Dual Socket F board with an RS780 NB and SB750. :) Currently running 2x Istanbuls. 12 cores of crunchy goodness... BUT its due to be replaced soon by a G34 board and 2x 12 core Magnys if I meet the criteria for them. :laugh:
i hope they get together and make another badass board id go for it fast. especialy with wot they got today but yours sounds RARwsome!

Well, the Quad FX platform was a little bit of a dud if I recall correctly.
you recalled incorectly.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
471 (0.16/day)
Likes
128
Location
Houston
System Name Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard eVGA P55 FTW
Cooling Coolit Eco ALC with Yate Loon 1700RPM fans
Memory 8 GB Patriot Viper @ DDR3-2000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX280
Storage 2x 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Case Thermaltake Element V
Power Supply Seasonic X760
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
#15
flyordie, what motherboard are you using?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
6,823 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,901
Location
Viking Land
System Name Ivy Biatch
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard ASSRockzz z77TOTHEEXTREME!!!!
Cooling bleh
Memory 2x4gb crucial 1866
Video Card(s) HD7770, yes it does BF3
Storage 120gb Vertex
Display(s) 226BW
Case whats that, oh my table
Audio Device(s) stock onboard thing
Power Supply HX850W
Software 7
#17
Total PCI/PCI-X/PCI-E Slots: 6
Slot Location 1: 1 * PCI 32bit/33 MHz
Slot Location 2: 1 * PCI-E x16 (Gen2 X8 Link)
Slot Location 3: 1 * PCI-E x16 (Gen2 X16 Link) (Auto switch to x8 Link if slot 2 is occupied)
Slot Location 4: 1 * PCI-E x8 (Gen2 X4 Link)
Slot Location 5: 1 * PCI-E x16 (Gen2 X 16 Link)
Slot Location 6: 1 * PCI-E x16 (Gen2 x16 Link for 1U FH/FL Card) (Auto turn off if slot 5 is occupied, MIO supported)
Additional Slot 1: 1* PIKE Slot for Stroage expansion

taken from ASUS' homepage http://asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=4AUqWniKqYByIAxw
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#18
@Kitkat:
TechReport's conclusion: better off with Intel
Anandtech conclusion: better off with Intel
Just two of the reviews of the many that say it's not as good as a single Intel Quad-core of its time. I wanted to find something more conclusive on TPU, but I couldn't find a result for Spider or Quad FX, so I guess W1zzard didn't get a review for it, unless I'm mistaken.
Don't get me wrong, Quad FX still seems awesome (and I was about to hit Buy It Now when I saw a cheap one on Ebay until I read up on power consumption), just seems like Intel had the upper hand, although buying a pair of AMD's finest for Quad FX cost you less than buying on Intel QX6800, but it was an expensive-ish platform.
I still maintain that if AMD's going to release another set of enthusiast grade of dual-CPU hardware, they'll do it when it's far better, rather than as a knee-jerk response to Intel's products.