• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus ROG Crosshair VII memory confusion

Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Having asked / read a lot here, I am still confused / not sure on what the best combination will be.

I have decided on:

Asus ROG Crosshair VII (wi-fi) motherboard
Ryzen 7 2700X Gen 2
Dark base Pro 900 Rev 2 case
Corsair RMx 750W PSU OR be quiet! - Straight Power 11 750 W 80+ Gold
Sapphire - Radeon RX 570 8 GB NITRO+ Video Card

I am confused on memory selection, having read various views on type/speed etc.

My broad needs are 8Gb x 2 3000Mhz (mainly for home video editing work). I am tempted to break the bank and go for 32Gb now to future proof. For 32Gb, should it be 2 x 16Gb?

Views and advise will be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
749 (1.18/day)
Location
Haswell, USA
System Name Matrexx 55 | Clevo P770ZM
Processor i7 8700K 5GHZ 1.35v | 4790K 4.6ghz 1.3V |
Motherboard Z390 Gaming X | Z97 Clevo |
Cooling Macho Rev B | Laptop heatsinks
Memory 64GB | 32GB 2400MHZ SODIMM
Video Card(s) Vega 56 | GTX 980M
Storage 512GB MX100 + 1.5TB Spinpoint HDD | 256GB MX300 + 1TB HDD|
Display(s) 1080P 144HZ/1200 66HZ (2)/ 1440P 60HZ | 1080P 75HZ 15.4 |
Case Matrexx 55 | Laptop shells
Audio Device(s) Various sound cards
Power Supply 750W | 330W |
Mouse too many
Keyboard K552 | Acer and Dell OEM KB's |
Software Windows 8.1/Windows 10/OSX "Mojave"
4x8GB/2x16GB doesn't have a real difference afaik. Just make sure you go for highly clocked RAM, as Ryzen suffers with low clocked single channel RAM
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
5,073 (0.90/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
With Ryzen, try to stick with two modules, it's much easier to run two modules at higher speeds than four modules.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,222 (1.97/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Having asked / read a lot here, I am still confused / not sure on what the best combination will be.

I have decided on:

Asus ROG Crosshair VII (wi-fi) motherboard
Ryzen 7 2700X Gen 2
Dark base Pro 900 Rev 2 case
Corsair RMx 750W PSU OR be quiet! - Straight Power 11 750 W 80+ Gold
Sapphire - Radeon RX 570 8 GB NITRO+ Video Card

I am confused on memory selection, having read various views on type/speed etc.

My broad needs are 8Gb x 2 3000Mhz (mainly for home video editing work). I am tempted to break the bank and go for 32Gb now to future proof. For 32Gb, should it be 2 x 16Gb?

Views and advise will be greatly appreciated.
Personally I would hold off a few weeks since ram prices are dipping.
I would get 32 straight away if you likely will eventually.
I say this because they come with timings set for two sticks , adding another set later Will require you to figure out your own memory timings through slow and careful set and test scenarios, not easy or convenient.

Plus four sticks is Way more strain on the Cpu integrated memory controller than two are, this limits speed too.

I can vouch for gigabyte's aurus memory working ,and i think any Samsung bdie memory would work fine.

Beyond that i wouldn't worry too much about what brand to get anything non b die can usually be made to work ,they can sometimes take manual configuration to get it working though.

Usually this is just setting the primary timing and letting the board auto train all others and with tricky memory you just up/ loosen the timings until it boots then work them back down one at a time from there.

As for the board ,since release it's had frequently released bios updates ,on 2008 now and memory tuneability and stability has improved , i can't comment on compatability since im on the same stick's.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,134 (2.17/day)
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D15, 6x 140mm + 1 120mm controlled by Corsair commander pro
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1070 8GB
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data+1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD 75hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D 6 x 140mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 with Topping VX2 digital amp and Teac small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX550M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Get ram that has Samsung B die chips on it.
 
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Newbie question but is there a way to identify the b Die? Websites generally do not show it.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,222 (1.97/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Newbie question but is there a way to identify the b Die? Websites generally do not show it.
The price is going to be your best indicator, its the dearer type, ie dearer then the dear ones typically lol.
I mentioned the gigabyte because i know it has b die but its easy for them to change memory chips without changing the packaging , and that's why not many say what chips are fitted.
you really have to check the sku number against the manufacturers specs per kit , since they do normally note on their spec sheets what they use , just not the shops( corsair vengeance for example has been around ages and has various kits that look the same but have different chips ,even at the same speeds)

some do advertise B die like the gigabytes(why i bought them) but they will charge more too, sorry not much help.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
661 (0.54/day)
System Name Unimatrix
Processor Intel i9-9900K @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard ASRock x390 Taichi Ultimate
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32GB GSkill TridentZ RGB DDR4 @ 3400MHz 14-14-14-32
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080 with Heatkiller Water Block
Storage 2x Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 SSD in RAID 0, 1x WD Blue 1TB M.2 SSD
Display(s) Alienware 34" Ultrawide 3440x1440
Case CoolerMaster P500M Mesh
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
Keyboard Corsair K75
Benchmark Scores Really Really High
2x 16GB is better than 4x 8GB for Ryzen.

You can guess Samsung B-die if the timings are low. DDR4 3000 B-die timings are most likely 14-14-14-34
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,134 (2.17/day)
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D15, 6x 140mm + 1 120mm controlled by Corsair commander pro
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1070 8GB
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data+1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD 75hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D 6 x 140mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 with Topping VX2 digital amp and Teac small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX550M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,149 (0.23/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900x @4.2-4.46
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3466mhz
Video Card(s) Titan V HBM2 12GB
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/120gbKingston ssd
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
I dont know whats going on with Asus. their bios at the minute are sh@t.....

I just spent nearly 4hours trying to get 3133mhz to run on 2 sticks when ive had 3466mhz running for the past 2yrs or since I got the crosshair vi hero.

the latest two bios destroyed two water cooling units and even stops the air cooling units from running.

enough messing around and ive been able to get it to work but its took me 4hrs and the timings are terrible the volts high and the speed low.... in the description it said the bios improved memory stability!!!! What by making everyone run with much slower settings....

im so frustrated right now.... I will of kept the naighbours awake with all the beeping noises. im so pissed. it should of been a basic procedure.... but no, as usual our community are the unpaid f@cked over beta testers....

call me grumpy Asus im slapping your face with my d1ck right now!!!!!! :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

I'm so looking forward to spending another bunch of hrs just to get things back to where they were...:nutkick:
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
272 (0.73/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming (BIOS 5406 - AGESA 1.0.0.4B)
Cooling Scythe Ninja 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB (2 x 8GB) (F4-3600C16D-16GVKC) @ 3733 MHz 16-19-19-19-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC 8GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 EVO 500GB / 3x Crucial MX500 / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Rise Glow
Power Supply CORSAIR RM650
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
@ purecain,
I have had the opposite experience with my Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming MB.
I have a Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4 GHz and am running G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) F4-3200C16D-16GTZR @ 3400 MHz using BIOS version 1201 and was running them @ 3200 MHz on BIOS 1103.
I haven't had any issues at all with this Ryzen/Asus/G.Skill combo.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,222 (1.97/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
I dont know whats going on with Asus. their bios at the minute are sh@t.....

I just spent nearly 4hours trying to get 3133mhz to run on 2 sticks when ive had 3466mhz running for the past 2yrs or since I got the crosshair vi hero.

the latest two bios destroyed two water cooling units and even stops the air cooling units from running.

enough messing around and ive been able to get it to work but its took me 4hrs and the timings are terrible the volts high and the speed low.... in the description it said the bios improved memory stability!!!! What by making everyone run with much slower settings....

im so frustrated right now.... I will of kept the naighbours awake with all the beeping noises. im so pissed. it should of been a basic procedure.... but no, as usual our community are the unpaid f@cked over beta testers....

call me grumpy Asus im slapping your face with my d1ck right now!!!!!! :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

I'm so looking forward to spending another bunch of hrs just to get things back to where they were...:nutkick:
You should really have made your own thread if you have issues you need help with.

Or attacked asus direct in one instead of this thread crapping.

Oh and it's not the same board a crosshair vII has a different memory layout ,in series, yours is T-topology on a VI, so even less relevant, start a thread.
 
Last edited:
Top