• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS ROG GTX 1060 O6g STRIX - performance differ on GPU with different BIOS

jinkazama82it

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Yesterday I've received the new GPU in substitution to my current GTX 1060 o6g, I,ve noticed the difference on a cryptocurrency miner, the graphic card are the same (ASUS ROG GTX 1060 O6g STRIX) but first model (the one that i need to return for a faulty fan) have the bios version 86.06.13.00.28 and reach 16,5Mh/s the second model have the bios version 86.06.63.00.A6 and reach 13,4Mh/s.

How is possible that a bios change the performace of a GPU? the hardware is the same is really possible? 3,1Mh/s isn't a little difference.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,001 (3.91/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit

jinkazama82it

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
I have the old one, can I put it on PC and backup the BIOS with gpu-z, but I never flashed a gpu BIOS, is safe to do with gpu-z? I need to know something before flash it? (like change the name of the BIOS backup or something else).
You know some original BIOS that have the best performance for this GPU (not directly related to cryptomining) or were i can ask?

one more thing, this not related to this post, I haven't seen a section for presentation where I can open a topic and write an hi to all the community?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,027 (4.26/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
You can use nvflash to flash the BIOS. Just make sure you have the correct card targeted with the flash command if you have both cards installed at once. I'm not sure what the commands are anymore... should be in the readme though. Just make sure you back that BIOS up in case something goes awry.
 

jinkazama82it

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
You can use nvflash to flash the BIOS. Just make sure you have the correct card targeted with the flash command if you have both cards installed at once. I'm not sure what the commands are anymore... should be in the readme though. Just make sure you back that BIOS up in case something goes awry.
Yes, I tried but seems that the firmware of my first 1060 isn't accepted from the second one and stop to work but after the flash of the original it turned up again.
i don't know if the 10xx series need something of different for a correct flashing of a new and different vBIOS.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,027 (4.26/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
It could mean it has different memory chips or something... not sure.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,414 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
I have the old one, can I put it on PC and backup the BIOS with gpu-z, but I never flashed a gpu BIOS, is safe to do with gpu-z? I need to know something before flash it? (like change the name of the BIOS backup or something else).
You know some original BIOS that have the best performance for this GPU (not directly related to cryptomining) or were i can ask?

one more thing, this not related to this post, I haven't seen a section for presentation where I can open a topic and write an hi to all the community?
Saving the bios with gpuz is perfectly save and behind the scenes it does what nvflash from command line would do
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,027 (4.26/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
I think I remember reading reports from some members that memory type can change even in the same SKU. One might have Micron memory, the next might have Samsung memory...

@cdawall ?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
1,689 (0.56/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i7 9750h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2060
Storage x2 Intel 660p 2tb SSD nvme, Seagate FireCuda 2tb SSHD
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 180w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
i once mined with 1060 3gb that had samsung memory, a few failed, the ones that I got had hynix memory that mined much slower.

OP check the memory type of that gpu.
 

jinkazama82it

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
ok my memory fail sometimes, no the difference are gigantic size my first 1060 mount Ram by Micron the second 1060 mount Ram by Hynix, so simply i can't do anything...

why a different ram impact so much on performance? so in the first 1060 the best ram for this product and into the second 1060 the worst
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
1,689 (0.56/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i7 9750h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2060
Storage x2 Intel 660p 2tb SSD nvme, Seagate FireCuda 2tb SSHD
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 180w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
ok my memory fail sometimes, no the difference are gigantic size my first 1060 mount Ram by Micron the second 1060 mount Ram by Hynix, so simply i can't do anything...

why a different ram impact so much on performance? so in the first 1060 the best ram for this product and into the second 1060 the worst
It is the memory timings from the different companies. Hynix seems to have the worst memory timings for mining.
 
Top