• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus RT-AC66W(RT-AC66u) locked Firmware resolution

System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Asrock Z590 Extreme wifi 6E
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Corsair RGB fancy boi 5000
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Reference
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb + Samsung 970 Evo 500Gb
Display(s) Dell - 27" LED QHD G-SYNC x2
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 1000 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores the MLGeesiest
Hello,
I was under the impression that this wss an fcc related block, but as ive stated im no expert, im just trying to offer up a solutuion to a problem i encountered, sorry if my wording or assumptions bother anyone,

I recently purchased a new Asus RT AC66W (aka RT-AC66u in white). I , like many logged into my new routers Web UI to set the sucker up, and noticed it had a pending Firmware(FW from now on) Update. I did the update, and then, decided I would try the "merlin" ddwrt FW I have heard SO much about. NOPE!!!. That FW update I did upon entering MY new Routers Web UI, was the FCC compliant update that locks you out of flashing DDWRT , and frankly caused me several other issues, not limited to dropped wireless, missing functions in the UI, and more.

Now I do NOT claim to be a professional in regards to networking/routers, but I searched , and the only guide i found to resolve this BS, was a POORLY worded step by step, that was very clearly written by someone who did not speak English as theyre primary language. Although i am grateful for that step by step, it didnt work,