• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS RX 480 STRIX OC 8 GB

Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,838 (1.28/day)
Location
New York
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.8Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW 2150/2240
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
after seeing this I kinda wish I just went out and bought a reference 480 instead of waiting for AIB if they will overclock the same, I might just do that if I can get a 4GB card and flash it to 8GB.
 

Mtom

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
after seeing this I kinda wish I just went out and bought a reference 480 instead of waiting for AIB if they will overclock the same, I might just do that if I can get a 4GB card and flash it to 8GB.
In all fairness, in the reviews the OC numbers are all much lower what you can pull off at home. On the 390/390X cards they usually listed 50-80MHZ OC, when in reality you could easily OC them a good 150MHZ.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,872 (3.02/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
its tsrange...No DX12/Vulcan titles
So, which widely used mainstream DX12 titles do you want him to use? Hitman, which is as far as I've read, full of DX12 problems. The backwards patched RotTR? That's not terribly well-optimized either, is it? Maybe AoTS?

On the Vulkan side, up until a couple weeks ago the only title available under that was The Talos Principle. A great game, but surely not appealing to the masses. We have Doom now, and I'm sure at some point W1z will be including that.

Really, we do not have an abundance of titles in either API, a year after release. That's the reality. Reviews should reflect that, don't you think?
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
1,125 (0.82/day)
System Name Team Crimson
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory DDR3 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB RAM
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB / Crucial MX300 275GB
Display(s) AOC 2752H 27" 1080p
Case NZXT Source 220 Windowed
Power Supply Antec Earthworks 650W
Mouse Logitech M510/ AGPTEK T-90 Zelotes
Keyboard Logitech K360/ iBUYPOWER TTC RED Switch Mechanical
Software Windows 8.1 64 Bit
No Vulkan and DX12 tests again?
I call Bravo Sierra!
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
1,125 (0.82/day)
System Name Team Crimson
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory DDR3 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB RAM
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB / Crucial MX300 275GB
Display(s) AOC 2752H 27" 1080p
Case NZXT Source 220 Windowed
Power Supply Antec Earthworks 650W
Mouse Logitech M510/ AGPTEK T-90 Zelotes
Keyboard Logitech K360/ iBUYPOWER TTC RED Switch Mechanical
Software Windows 8.1 64 Bit
Default mode out of the box, which is gaming
Please not again.
The "Gaming" Mode is not showing the performance that anyone would want to buy this card, show the OC preset benchmarks and stop making this look so bad.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,199 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Please not again.
The "Gaming" Mode is not showing the performance that anyone would want to buy this card, show the OC preset benchmarks and stop making this look so bad.
Troll has been banned. You seem to be only here to post negative comments, so post them somewhere else. Constructive criticism is welcome.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
I had to remove the World of Warcraft benchmarks, they prepatched to the next expansion which changes a lot of graphics settings related stuff, so new benchmark data is invalid.
But without WoD the gap between the 1060 and 480 should be smaller and not bigger. There is definitely something wrong with the performance summary.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,199 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
The relative OC is smaller because the ASUS card is overclocked out of the box.

Ref at 1335 / 2250 gets 77.0 FPS.
ASUS at 1355 / 2250 gets 79.0 FPS.

Looks right to me.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,199 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
But without WoD the gap between the 1060 and 480 should be smaller and not bigger. There is definitely something wrong with the performance summary.
Yup, looking into that right now
 

Malabooga

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
I had to remove the World of Warcraft benchmarks, they prepatched to the next expansion which changes a lot of graphics settings related stuff, so new benchmark data is invalid.
But WoW was game that greatly favors NVidia cards but performance for reference 1060 vs reference 480 has grown from 7,5% to 14,4% without WoW?

edit

Yup, looking into that right now
ah yes, thanks
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
324 (0.12/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name masina
Processor Ryzen R5 1600 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard GigaByte AB350-Gaming 3
Cooling Scythe Kabuto 3 + Arctic BioniX P120 fan
Memory 16GB (2x8) DDR4-3000 Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) Sapphire PULSE RX 5600XT OC 6GB
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500, 640GB WD Black
Display(s) AOC C24G1
Case Zalman Z9 Neo /Black/
Power Supply be Quiet! Pure Power L8 430W CM
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys L PBT
Software Win 10 Pro
So, AiB cards are not a magic bullet for burning GloFo chips. Darn.
No AIB board design will do wonders for a GPU's power draw. The only thing that might keep power usage down is a custom cooler with much better higher cooling capacity, and only if said GPU is built on a crap node with lots of thermal leakage.
 

the54thvoid

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,594 (2.02/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Overclocking should give you a lot more performance. I guess you didn't change the max power consumption in the BIOS right?
No it shouldn't. Overclocking is not a magic wand that makes all cards go twice as fast. Remember Fury X? What about the Pascal clock ceiling common to all GTX1080's? The 'nm' sizes are having an impact on headroom as both AMD and Nvidia seek to control voltage.

Also - standard to all of his reviews, @W1zzard does not over volt or alter bios settings to overclock - just the simplest slider approach to keep it all even, for Nvidia and AMD.
 

marios15

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
I had to remove the World of Warcraft benchmarks, they prepatched to the next expansion which changes a lot of graphics settings related stuff, so new benchmark data is invalid.
In WoW the rx480 was WAAAY slower than 1060, so by removing that game, it would have brought them closer
If performance summary is average of all games and unless they're weighted differently, then you have something off, for example:

Sample 1(1060)

Game X: 10 fps
Game Y: 8 fps
Game Z: 12 fps
10 +8 + 12 = 30
30 / 3 = 10fps average

Sample 2(480)

Game X: 7 fps
Game Y: 12 fps
Game Z: 8 fps
7 + 12 + 8 = 27fps
27 / 3 = 9fps average

Sample 1 is 100%, so sample 2 is 90%

Removing Game X from both:

Sample 1(1060)
Game Y: 8 fps
Game Z: 12 fps
8 + 12 = 20
20 / 2 = 10fps average

Sample 2(480)
Game Y: 12 fps
Game Z: 8 fps
12 + 8 = 20
20 / 2 = 10fps average

Sample 1 is 100%, so sample 2 is 100% too
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,637 (0.70/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor i5 - 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 180GB m.2 SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) FHD 15" Gsync IPS + Acer H243H
Mouse Rival 300 with Omron main switches.
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)
I had to remove the World of Warcraft benchmarks, they prepatched to the next expansion which changes a lot of graphics settings related stuff, so new benchmark data is invalid.
WoW was always a highly NV favoring game. 1060 has 22% more fps @ 1080p. If you remove it, that should favor AMD card at the performance summary, and thus have a deficit of less than 7%

EDIT

I see that its being look into. Thanks


On a side note. I cannot believe 3 fans cant keep this thing cool and quiet. I'm guessing Asus fucked up somewhere. If its good enough for 1080 than it should be good enough for this.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,199 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
In WoW the rx480 was WAAAY slower than 1060, so by removing that game, it would have brought them closer
If performance summary is average of all games and unless they're weighted differently, then you have something off
Looking into that right now
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
89 (0.02/day)
Processor Xeon E3 1230 V2
Motherboard ASRock B75M-ITX
Cooling Corsair H40
Memory 2X8GB 1600MHZ DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX960 4GB
Storage Sandisk 480GB SSD plus a few HDDs
Display(s) Dell UP2516D
Case Cubitek Mini-Cube
Power Supply Corsair SF 450
Mouse Logitech G15
Keyboard Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
I added up the FPS at 1080P for both cards and came up with the following:
1.)Asus RX480 1110.6 FPS
2.)FE GTX1060 1173.3 FPS

That would make the FE GTX1060 5.65% faster.

Also if you look at the TPU and computerbase.de images of the cooler,it looks the same as the GTX1080 one Asus use and it only really two heatpipes make decent contact out of the 5. The other two make periphery contact,so it looks a bit of a bodge job by Asus! :p
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,637 (0.70/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor i5 - 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 180GB m.2 SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) FHD 15" Gsync IPS + Acer H243H
Mouse Rival 300 with Omron main switches.
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)
Also if you look at the TPU and computerbase.de images of the cooler,it looks the same as the GTX1080 one Asus use and it only really two heatpipes make decent contact out of the 5. The other two make periphery contact,so it looks a bit of a bodge job by Asus! :p
Nice find

So the Nitro it is :D

And unlike other Asus BS, this cant be fixed with a bios/driver update.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
32 (0.02/day)
System Name main rig
Processor 1600X @4.05ghz
Motherboard ASUS B350 Prime PLUS
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair 16 GB (dual ch.)
Video Card(s) Pitcairn XT
Storage 500 GB SSD, 12 TB RAID0
Display(s) UltraGear 27GL850-B w/ Freesync
Case Antec P193
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar
Power Supply Corsair 650W
Mouse MX518
Keyboard daskeyboard s /w cherry red switches
Software Fedora Rawhide
is this with stable clocks out of the box? or did you have to increase the power level for stable stock clocks?
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,872 (3.02/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Also if you look at the TPU and computerbase.de images of the cooler,it looks the same as the GTX1080 one Asus use and it only really two heatpipes make decent contact out of the 5. The other two make periphery contact,so it looks a bit of a bodge job by Asus!
I'm waiting to see what magic Saphire and XFX can work. Surely they can do a better job. :)
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,637 (0.70/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor i5 - 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 180GB m.2 SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) FHD 15" Gsync IPS + Acer H243H
Mouse Rival 300 with Omron main switches.
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)
I'm waiting to see what magic Saphire and XFX can work. Surely they can do a better job. :)
The two of us could do a better job.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
123 (0.06/day)
No it shouldn't.
Yes it should....

Clock frequentie is dynamic, 1120 MHz is the base clock of this card and 1310MHz is the max boost clock. But it only stays at 1310MHz if power consumption doesn't passes the maximum set in the BIOS. The same applies with overclocking, if you push the card to 1400MHz but the power limiter doesn't allow more current you don't get more performance because the GPU frequentie just goes down when you put a heavy load on the card.

That's what you see here, W1zzard didn't change the power limiter in the BIOS so the performance gain with overclocking is rather small.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,199 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Top