• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus rx470 mining edition mines at 10mh/s after failed bios mod.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yashar J

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Hello every one. I never did any bios modding or overclocking, Now i'm in trouble and need your help. Appreciate any feedback.

I assembled the following rig to mine ethereum:
Asus b250 motherboard, Intel G4560, 1050watt PSU, 120gb SSD, 7 PCI-E risers and 4GB of memory to run 7 ASUS RX470 4GB MINING EDITION cards on win10 with claymore 14.6

The 1st RX470 came via post 2days ago and gave me 22-26 mh/s with Adrenalin 19.7.1 driver with some overclocking parameters on claymore. ( another ASUS RX470 MINING EDITION comes in tomorrow and others will come next week)
1.jpg


I wanted to mod the bios to reach 28-29 mg/s. so backed up the original bios via GPU-Z and used "one click what ever" with polaris 1.7.2 to change memory timings. and it didn't work. error 43 and a yellow triangle in deive manager appeared. since then i used the backed up bios to revert thing and it was ok. i got 22mh/s. and decided to give it another go. after several times of modding the bios and going back it was ok until the last time that i used the asder00's workaround and still failed. so I reverted to original bios but now I cant get more than 10mh/s.
I even reinstalled the window 10 and everything and no luck.
3.jpg


Thank you in advance for any second you spend on this mess i have created.

P.S english is not my first language, sorry for any inconvenience caused by that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.60/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
That is typically a symptom of massively unstable memory.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
222 (0.69/day)
System Name Temp SFF Rig :'(
Processor Q9550
Motherboard HP OEM
Cooling just about...
Memory 8GB DDR2 :rockout:
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 LP OC to 1850+ Boost!!!
Storage 120GB SSD & 160GB HDD :(
Display(s) Acer ED242QR - 24" Curved 1080p 75Hz Freesync
Case HP SFF Desktop
Power Supply HP SFF 260w
Software Windows 10 1903
Hello every one. I never did any bios modding or overclocking, Now i'm in trouble and need your help. Appreciate any feedback.

I assembled the following rig to mine ethereum:
Asus b250 motherboard, Intel G4560, 1050watt PSU, 120gb SSD, 7 PCI-E risers and 4GB of memory to run 7 ASUS RX470 4GB MINING EDITION cards on win10 with claymore 14.6

The 1st RX470 came via post 2days ago and gave me 22-26 mh/s with Adrenalin 19.7.1 driver with some overclocking parameters on claymore. ( another ASUS RX470 MINING EDITION comes in tomorrow and others will come next week)
View attachment 127255

I wanted to mod the bios to reach 28-29 mg/s. so backed up the original bios via GPU-Z and used "one click what ever" with polaris 1.7.2 to change memory timings. and it didn't work. error 43 and a yellow triangle in deive manager appeared. since then i used the backed up bios to revert thing and it was ok. i got 22mh/s. and decided to give it another go. after several times of modding the bios and going back it was ok until the last time that i used the asder00's workaround and still failed. so I reverted to original bios but now I cant get more than 10mh/s.
I even reinstalled the window 10 and everything and no luck.
View attachment 127256

Thank you in advance for any second you spend on this mess i have created.

P.S english is not my first language, sorry for any inconvenience caused by that.
Try this bios https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/197086/197086
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.60/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
I also forgot that the mining is gimped by the later drivers. Revert to 16.9 or something.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.60/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
Thanks for your advice but how can I make that memory stable again? I tried the 16.9 drivers and its the same
You'll have to flash back to another BIOS. I forget the exact ways as it has been over a year since I last mined, but when I pushed memory too hard, it would result in the exact same results.

To confirm my theory, lower memory clocks by 250 MHz and see if the result changes.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2014
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
System Name I could say remaining parts or something like that...
Processor i5 2500k @ 4,8 ghz/Xeon x5650
Motherboard Asus Z68 gene-z/G1 Assassin
Cooling 240mm radiator/212+
Memory 8gb ddr3-1333/16gb ddr3-1866
Video Card(s) Nitro RX460 4gb/2x RX570 Red Devil
Storage Many
Display(s) Samsung TV/Topsync 2560*1440
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic 620w/Corsair 860i
Software 10 64 bit ultimate
Did you:

-Use DDU in safe mode to remove all graphic drivers

Then

-Install the driver (blockchain or any other version)
-BEFORE restarting run the atikmdag patcher (mandatory for any modded bios on amd cards)

Then

-Restart

Then

-Go activate the compute mode in the AMD radeon settings/games/general/gpu load

?

Thats the way modded bios are meant to be used.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.44/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Dont expect miracles with a intel g series cpu...

Contact asus for help
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.60/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
The CPU has nothing to do with GPU mining...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.44/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It does when data has to be fed to it from the internet.

And a computer is only as fast as its slowest component

Regardless he screwed his card up an Asus might be able to help him get the right bios
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.60/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
Trust me... it does NOT matter. My miners ran with 775 chips. The amount of data is tiny.

The BIOS is definitely the issue here.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
692 (0.91/day)
Location
London, UK
The CPU has nothing to do with GPU mining...
Bottlenecks exist in very extreme cases but it depends, ethash does not require much cpu, each gpu will likely use 0.5% of a cpu time, so even if he has 50 gpus in one system that will use only around 25% of its cpu time, to this date maximum is 19 gpus in a system and that also needs many variables to worth properly, example, dedicated mining card. Some algorithms are cpu related but like I said extreme cases too, so cpu is out of the question here. That is related to bad ram module, bad timings, not properly modded or not properly voltage set, I could keep for hundreds of years saying probable cases, mining is too complex. OP needs to learn a lot, that is kind normal to happen, many ways to fix but without knowing exactly what is causing that is hard, need to troubleshoot many things. Mining is not easy.
 

Yashar J

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
You'll have to flash back to another BIOS. I forget the exact ways as it has been over a year since I last mined, but when I pushed memory too hard, it would result in the exact same results.

To confirm my theory, lower memory clocks by 250 MHz and see if the result changes.
Did you:

-Use DDU in safe mode to remove all graphic drivers

Then

-Install the driver (blockchain or any other version)
-BEFORE restarting run the atikmdag patcher (mandatory for any modded bios on amd cards)

Then

-Restart

Then

-Go activate the compute mode in the AMD radeon settings/games/general/gpu load

?

Thats the way modded bios are meant to be used.
Dont expect miracles with a intel g series cpu...

Contact asus for help
Bottlenecks exist in very extreme cases but it depends, ethash does not require much cpu, each gpu will likely use 0.5% of a cpu time, so even if he has 50 gpus in one system that will use only around 25% of its cpu time, to this date maximum is 19 gpus in a system and that also needs many variables to worth properly, example, dedicated mining card. Some algorithms are cpu related but like I said extreme cases too, so cpu is out of the question here. That is related to bad ram module, bad timings, not properly modded or not properly voltage set, I could keep for hundreds of years saying probable cases, mining is too complex. OP needs to learn a lot, that is kind normal to happen, many ways to fix but without knowing exactly what is causing that is hard, need to troubleshoot many things. Mining is not easy.
My GPU is working fine now. Thank you for all the time and effort you guys put into the issue.
I tried everything you guys said with no luck. And I really don't know what did i do (or didn't do) that fixed it. which is wired.
But the following is what happened if you are interested:
The 2nd gpu arrived and I removed the first one(The one that I messed up) to put the new one, in its riser. I modded the bios of the 2nd one (which was different than the 1st one) and It worked perfectly with 28.8 mg/s with no errors. Then I added a new riser and put the 1st one in to test it again and viola!!! it gave me 22mg/s. After bios mod (which was successful this time) now it gives me 28.2 with out errors. (or 29.1 with a couple errors every 10 seconds in HWiNFO64)
Why or how?? I don't know. But I'm happy and thanks again.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.44/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Wasnt plugged in correctly,
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.60/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
Nah, it wouldn't work if it wasn't in correctly. It wouldn't just give you degraded performance.

That's pretty odd...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.44/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Nah, it wouldn't work if it wasn't in correctly. It wouldn't just give you degraded performance.

That's pretty odd...
Data pins do get degraded performance if not inserted correctly.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.60/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
It’s only connecting 8 of them with a riser. Doubt you’re missing that much performance on an x1 connection...

Don’t want to be that guy, but I’ll assume you’ve never used risers, nor have you mined.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.44/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It’s only connecting 8 of them with a riser. Doubt you’re missing that much performance on an x1 connection...

Don’t want to be that guy, but I’ll assume you’ve never used risers, nor have you mined.
Used risers during AT era.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.60/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
Couldn’t tell you what risers are in the “AT” era. So fair enough.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
1,696 (0.56/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i7 9750h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2060
Storage x2 Intel 660p 2tb SSD nvme, Seagate FireCuda 2tb SSHD
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 180w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
It does when data has to be fed to it from the internet.

And a computer is only as fast as its slowest component

Regardless he screwed his card up an Asus might be able to help him get the right bios
When I was mining, I was using g3900 processors, 2 core celeron cpu.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top