• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Splendid HD1 Video Enhance Card Upgrades Generic VGA to True HDMI

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (0.95/day)
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
Catering to the new era in multimedia technology, ASUS, producer of high quality audio and visual solutions, has announced the new ASUS Splendid HD1 video enhance card. This astounding piece of hardware is able to increase picture quality for HD content to deliver sharper, more vividly colored visual outputs. It can even enhance lower resolution inputs by recovering image clarity when viewing legacy content for viewing on LCD TV or monitors; as well as provide true HDMI with audio and HDCP.




Splendid HD Engine Upgrades Generic VGA to True HDMI
With the implementation of ASUS' exclusive Splendid technology into a video add-on card, users will be able to enjoy full 1080P entertainment on their monitors. Able to provide an authentic ASUS LCDTV video solution to any PC, this card helps fill in the gap between viewing content on the PC and traditional Consumer Electronic devices. It is also able to provide HDMI upgrades with true Audio & HDCP certified protection - allowing users to enjoy enhanced PC video and audio quality to easily change your generic PCs into true HTPCs for an outstanding multimedia experience.

Splendid HD1 Automatic Display Mode for Ultimate Viewing
The Splendid HD1 is able to automatically select the best possible display modes to deliver exceptional quality visuals, and includes the following:

Photo Mode
Tailored for photo viewing or daily computing, the Splendid HD1 increases color performance and dynamic contrasting, so images of the weather are always clearer, colors of the flowers are more vibrant, and photos will look much better.

Video Mode
Fine tuned to deliver action movies in the best possible way, the Splendid HD1 focuses on image edge enhancing to minimize blurring caused by today's LCD monitors, so that users can see clear bullet trails even in the most chaotic scenes. For drama movies, the increased color depth and contrast allows the smallest details hidden in the darkest corners to be seen.

Game Mode
For FPS gamers, enemies will seem to jump out from the blurry background in the most adrenaline rushing FPS games. For RPG/Action gamers, true cinematic gaming with a Demo mode* is also provided so that users can compare the impact of the processing in several configurations.

* An ASUS graphics card is required to enable this function

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 

MrW

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
188 (0.04/day)
Location
Toronto, Canada
Processor Opteron 1212 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard DFI Infinity N-Force Ultra M2
Cooling Custom
Memory 4GB Ballistix DDR2-1000
Video Card(s) Ati Radeon X1900-AIW
Storage WD Caviar 640GB
Display(s) 21" Trinitron
Case Lian-Li PC-65
Power Supply Seasonic S12-500W
Software Vista & openSUSE
Marketing overload! *Brain explodes*

Interesting product though. If the price is right...
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,813 (2.11/day)
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Pandemic 2020
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 "Gen 2" 2600X
Motherboard AsRock X470 Killer Promontory
Cooling CoolerMaster 240 RGB Master Cooler (Newegg Eggxpert)
Memory 32 GB Geil EVO Portenza DDR4 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon RX 580 DirectX 12 DUAL-RX580-O8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video C
Storage WD 250 M.2, Corsair P500 M.2, OCZ Trion 500, WD Black 1TB, Assorted others.
Display(s) ASUS MG24UQ Gaming Monitor - 23.6" 4K UHD (3840x2160) , IPS, Adaptive Sync, DisplayWidget
Case Fractal Define R6 C
Audio Device(s) Realtek 5.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RMX 850 Platinum PSU (Newegg Eggxpert)
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Corsair K95 Mechanical & Corsair K65 Wired, Wireless, Bluetooth)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Seems like something Id be interested, as was said, if the price is right.
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.60/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
Hmm I see this only useful to thse who use integrated graphics and miss HDMI. Although I only see two DVI ports so I don't quite get the hype. Even then there are very cheap GPUs with DVI & HDMI like HD3450 and if the motherboard already has a PCI-E 1x slot it will have a 16x too. So this has to be cheap to compete.

All those marketing hype modes are already available in video card driver setting :) But if it's like $30-40€ then I can see this selling.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 16, 2005
Messages
548 (0.10/day)
Location
Germany,Hannover
System Name ChaosMoes
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-3570K no OC yet
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Scythe Ninja 3 Rev. B
Memory 16GB 2xPatriot DIMM 8 GB DDR3-1866 Kit (PV38G186C9KRD, Viper 3 Venom Red)
Video Card(s) ASRock Radeon RX 590 Phantom Gaming X 8GB GDDR5 188€@13.07.19 Amazon Sale
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, + ST32000645NS Seagate Constellation 109€ reichelt.de 2012
Display(s) 27" Phillips PHL 276E9Q 189€ @ Saturn(Germany) 1.09.2018
Case Zaria A20 !!!THANK YOU TECHPOWERUP.COM!!!
Audio Device(s) onboard Sound
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750W
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Microsoft SideWinder X4 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
please make it for pci-express notebooks, there are enough of them out to get a market for it and cpu power isn't the question on them but built in VGA wich is weak and far away from HD Video.

I've noticed it when i bought a notebook where i was able to change the gpu as it was mxm type and now it's like a new one thanks to that :D
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
750 (0.16/day)
Location
RI, USA
Processor FX 8150 4.41Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws X 1600
Video Card(s) Diamond Multimedia HD7970 3GB
Storage 2x WD Black 640GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" LED
Case Cooler Master Cosmos (new version)
Audio Device(s) Platronics 777
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Geekbench: 10,136 3DMark 11: P7792
i doubt this will be $40... probably starting at $99 maybe $199.. depends on what exactly this thing is packing.. it seams like they are making a re-attempt at the Aegia Physix card..
 

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497 (0.11/day)
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
This is retarded. This is exactly what an HD TV would do anyway. If you plug in an analog signal, it has to convert it to send it to the screen. gay waste of money.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,985 (1.10/day)
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor i9-9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370XP SLI, BIOS 15a
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory XPG GAMMIX D30 2x16GB DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G400s Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
This is retarded. This is exactly what an HD TV would do anyway. If you plug in an analog signal, it has to convert it to send it to the screen. gay waste of money.
Your HDTV upconverts color settings?

It increases resolutions through an upconversion filter?

What HDTV has these capabilities?

If you say HDTV's already do it lets see some linkage. :wtf:

It does Dynamic filtering, no HDTV's fliter the signal and them upconvert the color and video.

But if its priced fairly is another thing. It should cost $40 as you guys said. :)
 

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497 (0.11/day)
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
All upconversion does, is stretch the lower resolution image to fit the screen, and use interpolation to fill in all of the pixels in between. If you plug in a 640x480 (or RCA composite cable from a shitty dvd player) source into a 1920x1080 screen, and it fills the screen and you don't see huge blocks, your TV has an upscaler.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,985 (1.10/day)
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor i9-9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370XP SLI, BIOS 15a
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory XPG GAMMIX D30 2x16GB DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G400s Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
All upconversion does, is stretch the lower resolution image to fit the screen, and use interpolation to fill in all of the pixels in between. If you plug in a 640x480 (or RCA composite cable from a shitty dvd player) source into a 1920x1080 screen, and it fills the screen and you don't see huge blocks, your TV has an upscaler.
Yes and no.

Your HDTV picks the closest resolution to it that it displays. 1080p televisions have different display modes in their software. They don't upconvert, they stretch.

Dynamic upconversion has to be done with a separate piece of hardware. Unless you have a special exotic HDTV that is super high end I haven't heard about. Its just not common.
 
Top