• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus STRIX 1080 OC VBIOS compatibility

Nonac

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2022
Messages
6 (0.12/day)
I have artifacts out of my graphics card they are dots on the screen that move when typing and moving the mouse. There are also lines that appear vertical in browsers and in games angled. I have tried everything except flashing the vbios. Including different pc and OS. What are the differences between the different Asus 1080 ti cards and can I use a vbios from a different model?

Also, I have just noticed that the artifacts only occur in an active window not the desktop or the whole screen after locking the computer
 

Attachments

  • Card.PNG
    Card.PNG
    103.8 KB · Views: 58
  • PXL_20220816_152156542.jpg
    PXL_20220816_152156542.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 62
  • PXL_20220816_160657956.jpg
    PXL_20220816_160657956.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 60
  • PXL_20220816_160709990.jpg
    PXL_20220816_160709990.jpg
    6.1 MB · Views: 55
  • PXL_20220816_163849251.jpg
    PXL_20220816_163849251.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 49
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
138 (0.20/day)
Location
USA
System Name Testing lots of stuff always
Processor i9-10900x /i7-7820x ES/ i5-8600k/ i5-10300H
Motherboard Evga x299 Dark/ Evga x299 FTW-K / z370 ITX
Cooling EK-AIO 240 D-RGB / Noctua NH-D15S / Vetroo v5
Memory LPX 4x8 2666 / 2x16 Crucial 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Founders/GTX 1650
Storage 500 GB WD SN750/ 1TB WD Blue M.2/ 870 Evo 500 GB/ Kingston 480 GB SSD/ HDDs Everywhere
Display(s) Alienware 34 aw3418dw / ROG Swift pg27q
Case Phanteks 719 / NZXT 210/ Open air bench
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum 750w / Evga 600w Gold GD
Mouse Model O/ Logitech G203
Keyboard GMMK Pro w/ SP Magic Girls/Frozen Llama Ducky One 2 Mini MX Silvers / Ducky One 2 Mini MX Reds
Software WIndows 10 Pro/ Windows 11 Home
Signs of a failing card and a new BIOS will not help you. Best case is to reduce stress on the card until you can buy a new one, because it's about to fail completely.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,614 (0.86/day)
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair Hero VIII Wi-Fi
Cooling Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer 2 420mm
Memory 2x8GB Zadak Spark DDR4 4133MHz 19-21-21-42 Samsung B-die Running 3600MHz 14-14-14-28 1T
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6800 Fighter
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 256GB, Samsung 980 Pro 2TB
Display(s) LG 43" 4k UHD HDR
Case Fractal Meshify 2 XL
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TX 850w
Mouse Roccat Kova AIMO
Keyboard PNY Hyper X Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 11 x64
One thing I am noticing in the screen shot with GPU-Z, the card is running 8x 1.1, now I know at idle MBs/GPUs will drop link speed, but I've never known them to drop link width, IE going from 4.0 to 1.1, but not 16x down to 8x or 4x. So that is something to look into, though not sure that would be the cause of your issue. Not recommending a BIOS flash, but if you're hard set on it, this BIOS matches yours.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
46 (0.04/day)
Do 3dmark test and tell how it behave there.
As some1 said bios flash wont help u with that.
Maybe u need to use hot-air station to make better contact on memory chips.
Do it only if u have experience with stuff like thatk.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.71/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Try a different monitor first, even vid cable,

Do 3dmark test and tell how it behave there.
As some1 said bios flash wont help u with that.
Maybe u need to use hot-air station to make better contact on memory chips.
Do it only if u have experience with stuff like thatk.
No this is not good to do
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,537 (0.71/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 64Gb DDR3 Kingston/Mushkin 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-24-162-1T)
Video Card(s) 1)RX 5700***2)MATROX P690***3)MATROX M9120LP
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gbSSD +SSD Kinston 480Gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR) / Acer 24"(1080P) / Eizo 2336W(1080p) / 2x Eizo 19"(1280x1024)
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift DK2
Software Win 11
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3791.Passmark=20689,Geekbench4=32885
Signs of a failing card and a new BIOS will not help you. Best case is to reduce stress on the card until you can buy a new one, because it's about to fail completely.
I agree...most likely GPU memory failing.....OP you could try to underclock your memory and GPU clock and see if artifacts still appears....GL
 

Nonac

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2022
Messages
6 (0.12/day)
I have tried under-clocking, different monitors, HDMI and display port. No change. I have baked a motherboard with 50/50 success in the past but not a video card. I appreciate all the comments I will be looking into your ideas
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.71/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Using heat is for the experienced only, just like a bios flash should only be done after all other troubleshooting has been done.

Not the first or middle step. People have killed ICs with excessive heat.
ad friend with weird stuff we did used hot-air station problem gone.

I have tried under-clocking, different monitors, HDMI and display port. No change. I have baked a motherboard with 50/50 success in the past but not a video card. I appreciate all the comments I will be looking into your ideas
Temporary fix till it can be replaced
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
46 (0.04/day)
First thing to do is to remove card and put in other pc. Look how it behave there.
You did already those?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,741 (0.58/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
Fixing GPUs by applying heat is not something that works on cards released in the last half decade, because the problems with lead-free solder that could be solved with reflowing have long been solved.

Your card is dying, don't waste your time trying to fix something that's not fixable. Replace it.
 
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
1,705 (3.36/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Hyperx 212
Memory 32GB Fury Beast DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb plus some HDDs
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
That's the VRAM dying, there is nothing you can do to save it, it's on the way to a farm upstate.

Underclock/Undervolt the VRAM (the VRAM, not the gpu itself) in increments until the space invaders go away, it will not fix anything, but it may buy you some time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
46 (0.04/day)
In what country u live? In my country i repaired my current gpu(1080ti) for around 40 Euro.

In my country Poland i just send my gpu to:

Its working fine like 2 years now after repair. There was problem with power delivery on that card.
It suffered from water leak from my loop.

Its easy to say "your card is dying u cant do anything to save it" or "buy a new one"

U CAN REPAIR IT.

So just find some1 who can diagnose your card and repair it.
It will be cheaper then buying new one.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,741 (0.58/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
In what country u live? In my country i repaired my current gpu(1080ti) for around 40 Euro.

In my country Poland i just send my gpu to:

Its working fine like 2 years now after repair. There was problem with power delivery on that card.
It suffered from water leak from my loop.

Its easy to say "your card is dying u cant do anything to save it" or "buy a new one"

U CAN REPAIR IT.

So just find some1 who can diagnose your card and repair it.
It will be cheaper then buying new one.
Congratulations on having a completely different problem then claiming that it's OP's problem too.
 
Low quality post by rafik2019
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
46 (0.04/day)
If u cant read its not my problem, All i wanted to say is :

Its easy to say "your card is dying u cant do anything to save it" or "buy a new one" or some other bullshit.
And most of idiots says this on this forum.

U CAN REPAIR IT.
 
Low quality post by Bomby569
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
1,705 (3.36/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Hyperx 212
Memory 32GB Fury Beast DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb plus some HDDs
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
If u cant read its not my problem, All i wanted to say is :

Its easy to say "your card is dying u cant do anything to save it" or "buy a new one" or some other bullshit.
And most of idiots says this on this forum.

U CAN REPAIR IT.

ignoring the shouting and the name calling, not all GPU's can be saved, that is simply a fact, period. This is a very specific and well know issue. Grow up
 
Low quality post by rafik2019
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
46 (0.04/day)
so whats the couse mr technician?

when my gpu failed, all that cool "tech forums" like this one said to me to "buy new one, your gpu is dead"
and i repaired it for 40 euros(witch is like nothing comparing to new gtx1080ti), so what u will say about this?

@Bomby569 Grow up kid.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,787 (1.27/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270 Maximus IX Hero
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu and gpu
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.Aorus Xtreme RTX2080 Waterforce 2. MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 3. 1060 3gb.
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50" UHD , oculus rift S.2 MSI Optix MAG342C UWHD. SONY bravia 1080p, . 3.17" 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. Thermaltake P3
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. seasonic gx 750w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
VR HMD rift and rift S and Quest 2.
Software 1. win10 pro 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
im afraid to say but unless you are prepaired to find the faulty mem chip and replace it your cards a gonna. a undervolt may help for a while but mem chips only get worse over time as for hot oven method dont waste your time bud.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
46 (0.04/day)
im afraid to say but unless you are prepaired to find the faulty mem chip and replace it your cards a gonna. a undervolt may help for a while but mem chips only get worse over time as for hot oven method dont waste your time bud.omg
See how that "helps" ?

Memory chips are cheap u can get them from aliexpress for example :D
And u can use memory chips from other card, because many cards use same memory.
Maybe u are lucky and people at repair center will have a card with dead gpu chip and working memory that your card use.
 
Low quality post by xtreemchaos
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,787 (1.27/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270 Maximus IX Hero
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu and gpu
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.Aorus Xtreme RTX2080 Waterforce 2. MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 3. 1060 3gb.
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50" UHD , oculus rift S.2 MSI Optix MAG342C UWHD. SONY bravia 1080p, . 3.17" 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. Thermaltake P3
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. seasonic gx 750w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
VR HMD rift and rift S and Quest 2.
Software 1. win10 pro 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
dont bring me in to it i was talking to the OP, you got issues bud.
 
Last edited:
Low quality post by rafik2019
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,787 (1.27/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270 Maximus IX Hero
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu and gpu
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.Aorus Xtreme RTX2080 Waterforce 2. MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 3. 1060 3gb.
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50" UHD , oculus rift S.2 MSI Optix MAG342C UWHD. SONY bravia 1080p, . 3.17" 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. Thermaltake P3
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. seasonic gx 750w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
VR HMD rift and rift S and Quest 2.
Software 1. win10 pro 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
its not as easy as buying a chip bud, the op needs the kit to do it too and even cheap stuff adds up, if he looks for a replacement gpu he could get a gpu for £300ish maybe £100 to 150 ish back on his old gpu for a parts card. you was lucky but luck only gos so far. petty arguements dont help the op ranting at people for having a different view is wasted energy and have you thought the forum could be right and may be you are in the wrong place.
 

Nonac

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2022
Messages
6 (0.12/day)
I wanted to fill you all in on the outcome. I decided to try a reflow since I have a backup 1070 and could get by with it for a while. I did four attempts. The first attempt was at 195 C = 383 degrees Fahrenheit for 12.5 minutes. ( Following a youtube video) The results were the 2D artifacts were gone however the games still had artifacts. I also found in the process with my temperature gun that my oven was about 5 degrees low. On the second attempt, I raised my oven temp to 197 C =388 degrees F. The results were no change, games were no different. 2D artifacts were still gone. On the third attempt, I raised the temp to 203 C =398 F, with no change in results.

The final and working results were after reading the specs for lead-free solder and it needs to be above 235 C and not to exceed 260 C which is 455 F and 500 F and the time limit at temp is short about a minute so I reduced my time in the oven to 8 minutes. Also rather than removing it from the oven, I turned the oven off and opened the door to allow the board to cool more slowly and avoid solder crystallization.

The results are that the card is now fully functional and I will run it and let you all know if the issue comes back.

Thank you all for your ideas and great discussion.
 
Top