• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASUS Unveils Trio of PCI-Express 3.0 Motherboards Based on Intel Z68 Chipset

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
ASUS unveiled a trio of socket LGA1155 motherboards based on the Intel Z68 chipset, which feature PCI-Express 3.0 x16 slots (electrical x8/x8 when both are populated). The new motherboards are PCI-Express Gen 3.0 specifications compliant, complete with switches and electrical components. Leading the pack is the P8Z68 DELUXE/Gen3 in the $250-segement, followed by the P8Z68-V PRO/Gen3 in the $200-segment, and the P8Z68-V/Gen3 in the sub-$200 segment.

Show full news post
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,148 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,300
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#2
Virtu was never that useful anyway IMO. It sounded good and looked good on paper, then they seem to have got lost somewhere after that. Ive heard that Virtu is extremely buggy and only works albeit buggily with a few select cards. and now they've side stepped it by removing the DVi port like saying "Yeah! We ment to do that! what the fack is virtu??? Never heard of it!"

good idea let down my poor software support.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
776
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#3
Virtu was never that useful anyway IMO. It sounded good and looked good on paper, then they seem to have got lost somewhere after that. Ive heard that Virtu is extremely buggy and only works albeit buggily with a few select cards
Well, it kind of is useful. This is especially true if you have onboard graphics + discrete graphics, Virtu from what I understand will assign both GPU's accordingly and use the system as efficiently as possible. Going from onboard GPU whenever your doing light computer work to discrete GPU when gaming tests any PC. They have the hardware/software to get it done quite good, it's just not gonna get a huge sales volume. They need to step up their R&D the most and stun us with another innovating idea besides this.
However, on topic. I wonder if USB 3.0 AND SATA III will be the norm yet for making all newer types of hardware. Especially things like HDDs, flash drives, SSDs, etc. so that we can utilize our motherboard's functionality in order to support the usage of USB 3.0 devices :)
 
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,148 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,300
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#4
Well, it kind of is useful. This is especially true if you have onboard graphics + discrete graphics, Virtu from what I understand will assign both GPU's accordingly and use the system as efficiently as possible. Going from onboard GPU whenever your doing light computer work to discrete GPU when gaming tests any PC. They have the hardware/software to get it done quite good, it's just not gonna get a huge sales volume. They need to step up their R&D the most and stun us with another innovating idea besides this.
However, on topic. I wonder if USB 3.0 AND SATA III will be the norm yet for making all newer types of hardware. Especially things like HDDs, flash drives, SSDs, etc. so that we can utilize our motherboard's functionality in order to support the usage of USB 3.0 devices :)
Bit-tech Done a 3 page review on the Z68 chipset reviewing the new features over the old P67 chipset. and Virtu barely works, if it doesn it doesnt do it smoothly, they tried the GTX570 on it and it wouldnt even detect that card.

I could use virtu, I have a Z68 board. but i dont because currently, its more hassle then what its worth.

then they remove the VGA and DVI connections on the Deluxe mobo and replace it with a network card
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#5
Bit-tech Done a 3 page review on the Z68 chipset reviewing the new features over the old P67 chipset. and Virtu barely works, if it doesn it doesnt do it smoothly, they tried the GTX570 on it and it wouldnt even detect that card.

I could use virtu, I have a Z68 board. but i dont because currently, its more hassle then what its worth.

then they remove the VGA and DVI connections on the Deluxe mobo and replace it with a network card
Bit-tech did their article a long time ago, and Virtu software works MUCH better than before. Personally, i like it alot. Perhaps the Deluxe board has HDMI-out only?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
5,614 (1.90/day)
Likes
1,678
Location
San Diego, CA
System Name White Boy
Processor Core i7 3770k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB @ 2177
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 CLASSIEFIED @ 1250 Core
Storage 2 Samsung 830 256 GB (Raid 0) 1 Hitachi 4 TB
Display(s) 1 Dell 30U11 30"
Case BIT FENIX Prodigy
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W Modular
Software Windows Pro 7 64 bit || Ubuntu 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 2017 Unigine Heaven :: P37239 3D Mark Vantage
#6
They need more sata ports 8 is not enough let alone 6.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#7
Perhaps the Deluxe board has HDMI-out only?
Nope, according to the specs sheet, it has no display outputs, not even HDMI.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,148 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,300
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#8
Nope, according to the specs sheet, it has no display outputs, not even HDMI.
why have virtu, if there are no display ports other then the ones on your graphics card?

If you could SLI or crossfire it with your cards, that would be awesome
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#10
Could anyone enlighten me on "lack of DTS decode" on the Pro motherboard? And are these confirmed compatible with IvyB?
That is lack of DTS decode for the onboard audio's SPDIF outputs, not the HDMI audio wired to the iGPU.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#11
why have virtu, if there are no display ports other then the ones on your graphics card?

If you could SLI or crossfire it with your cards, that would be awesome
You can still use Virtu software to access the iGPU for compute tasks like encoding acceleration. i-GPU and D-GPU modes are quite different, and even the list of software that hasa profile inthe Virtu software changes dependant on the mode that is enabled. Looking at the list, it does say d-GPU mode only, the mode in which the encoding acceleration is available.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,740 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#12
eitherway seems asus has PCIE 3,0 boards dave now how long till they pop out the maximus forumla blah blah super mega ultra awesome Gen 3 lol
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,148 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,300
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#13
You can still use Virtu software to access the iGPU for compute tasks like encoding acceleration. i-GPU and D-GPU modes are quite different, and even the list of software that hasa profile inthe Virtu software changes dependant on the mode that is enabled. Looking at the list, it does say d-GPU mode only, the mode in which the encoding acceleration is available.
Cool beans.

but i have 6970s that can deal with all my direct compute tasks :laugh: and if i dont want them to do it i still have overclocked i5 cores.

I can see it that configuration being useful in a lower end performing system with something like a dual core.

but why buy a deluxe board and kit it up with such a slow, locked or dual core CPU? it just doesnt make sense.

Nvidia cards have CUDA so they can handle any encoding.

the only thing that springs to mind is if your GPUs, CPU or both are already encoding and you need to balance the workload out so set up Virtu to do it.

thats some serious encoding.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
I totally agree with your sentiment on where Virtu is actually intended to be used, 100%. At the same time, I'm sure ASUS considered the users of eahc product, and what features they'd like to see, but it does seem weird that the Deluxe kind of loses soem functionality compared to the "lower bin" models.

eitherway seems asus has PCIE 3,0 boards dave now how long till they pop out the maximus forumla blah blah super mega ultra awesome Gen 3 lol
No idea. I typically only get info as it relates to products I am working on, and ASUS has not sent me one of these...yet.;)

I've covered MSI and Gigabyte PCIe 3.0, so it only seems to make sense that I cover on of these as well.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,740 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#15
well keep me posted lol especially if you get there high end thats x8 x8 3.0 with crazy features no one needs lol
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
776
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#16
now how long till they pop out the maximus forumla blah blah super mega ultra awesome Gen 3 lol
They'll release the newer stuff after we're done buying their old stock :D