• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus Z270 Maximus IX Hero USB 3.0 Header Problem

Joined
Feb 8, 2015
Messages
28 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#1
Hello, I just got brand new Maximus IX hero Asus z270 , everything works fine, but, when i connected the front USB 3.0 header to motherboard from my Case it does not work, seems like it's disabled , the case is thermaltake v51, does this motherboard somehow disables the 3.0 Header pin? should i change the some settings in bios to make it work ? I installed every driver that there should be, updated everything
going in device manager i do get two of this ( see picture attached )
3.PNG
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,413 (3.63/day)
Likes
4,036
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 3x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh
Case Phantec Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#2
Check the USB pins on the board, make sure none are bent.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
317 (0.20/day)
Likes
324
Location
Alabama
#4
It does seem the OS "Sees" the controller but can't figure out what to do with it.

Doublecheck the board's USB settings in the BIOS and for now make sure all USB controllers are enabled.
See if that helps or not.

If not......
Next thing is I'm assuming you're running Win 10, I'd do a complete removal and reinstall of the board's drivers because something during the install process could have gotten scrambled so it's best to redo it. I've had that happen with the "Install All" option and things didn't go as planned, when I did it as an individual install of each item is when it worked BUT had to completely reverse the install if doing it full auto.

This is solved sometimes by a complete remove and reinstall of ALL board related drivers. You also have to remember to uninstall the drivers, restart the system after the uninstall is done but do the restart BEFORE you begin the reinstall of anything.

It's uninstall all, restart the system, make sure it's still working, do one more restart then start installing stuff.
I do an extra restart before the install process begins to give the OS time and chance to update the registry properly...... But that's just me.
I've ran into problems before with such and now I just do it - No biggie to do at all you know.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2015
Messages
28 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#5
It does seem the OS "Sees" the controller but can't figure out what to do with it.

Doublecheck the board's USB settings in the BIOS and for now make sure all USB controllers are enabled.
See if that helps or not.

If not......
Next thing is I'm assuming you're running Win 10, I'd do a complete removal and reinstall of the board's drivers because something during the install process could have gotten scrambled so it's best to redo it. I've had that happen with the "Install All" option and things didn't go as planned, when I did it as an individual install of each item is when it worked BUT had to completely reverse the install if doing it full auto.

This is solved sometimes by a complete remove and reinstall of ALL board related drivers. You also have to remember to uninstall the drivers, restart the system after the uninstall is done but do the restart BEFORE you begin the reinstall of anything.

It's uninstall all, restart the system, make sure it's still working, do one more restart then start installing stuff.
I do an extra restart before the install process begins to give the OS time and chance to update the registry properly...... But that's just me.
I've ran into problems before with such and now I just do it - No biggie to do at all you know.
I did everything u said , still nothing , when i did those all, and didnt help i did windows clean install still does not work
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,259 (4.09/day)
Likes
10,480
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#6
i googled the issue, and a foudn a thread with a very similar issue on a similar board, where the OP blew out the plug on the board, and it worked afterward. try giving it a blast of air, see if it helps?
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2015
Messages
28 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#7
i googled the issue, and a foudn a thread with a very similar issue on a similar board, where the OP blew out the plug on the board, and it worked afterward. try giving it a blast of air, see if it helps?
that did not work either
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
317 (0.20/day)
Likes
324
Location
Alabama
#11
Sounds likely.

I have the same board myself and the HD Audio header on it seems wonky in the same basic way but I believe I know why.

This was a board I bought as "For parts or repair" from fleabay with some bent pins and one that was broken off, good thing is the board came with everything and apparently was someone's botched build that was never powered on - The board itself looked brandnew except for the pins in the socket.
All the little packages for accesories and such were still sealed, even the driver DVD was unopened and from the looks of it that's why I believe the original owner never got the chance to power it up. I got it, fixed it and it's working fine except for the HD Audio header itself.

I think the broken pin has something to do with that but the audio from the rear jacks is fine, luckily I have an extension for my headphones and I just plug up what I want to use to the extension cable, all else is working.

I'm saying all this because it's possible a pin could have gotten bent somehow during the install of the CPU, if all else fails you may want to just do a quick check and see if that isn't the case.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2015
Messages
28 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#12
Sounds likely.

I have the same board myself and the HD Audio header on it seems wonky in the same basic way but I believe I know why.

This was a board I bought as "For parts or repair" from fleabay with some bent pins and one that was broken off, good thing is the board came with everything and apparently was someone's botched build that was never powered on - The board itself looked brandnew except for the pins in the socket.
All the little packages for accesories and such were still sealed, even the driver DVD was unopened and from the looks of it that's why I believe the original owner never got the chance to power it up. I got it, fixed it and it's working fine except for the HD Audio header itself.

I think the broken pin has something to do with that but the audio from the rear jacks is fine, luckily I have an extension for my headphones and I just plug up what I want to use to the extension cable, all else is working.

I'm saying all this because it's possible a pin could have gotten bent somehow during the install of the CPU, if all else fails you may want to just do a quick check and see if that isn't the case.
what CPU pin have to do with the USB 3.0 header?