1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Athlon 3400+ 88 Degrees Celcius

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mikel33, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey,

    My Asus Probe keeps giving me warnings that my CPU temp is high. It's hit up to 88 degrees.. Is she dying?

    My fan speed is about 3100 RPM, and I have an Asus A8V Deluxe motherboard.
     
  2. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Shut that thing off.!!!!! :eek:

    88*C is dangerous!
     
  3. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    thats just around the fry point of the chip. i would shut down the computer, and make sure that the cooler is properly latched on, do a finger test, touch the very bottom of the hsf and see if you can keep your finger on it. it should be slightly warm, not very hot, and not cold. reseat the cooler, make sure there is good contact, it might be a faulty temperature probe or software if the cpu is fine
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,645 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,145
    Yeah, you shouldn't be running it! Take the heatsink off, clean both heatsink and cpu with alchohol, reapply new thermal paste.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,944 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,737
    Location:
    Ohio
    88C... the CPU would probably shut itself off at 88C.
    But yeah, re-seat heatsink, and see if ASUS probe gives you any more issues. If it does, uninstall it, it's wrong. Unless you're giving your CPU like 1.5v... is this stock settings? Check your BIOS to make sure your voltage is manually set at factory spec. Sometimes, setting things to AUTO doesn't = correct.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,337 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Miami
    Did this just start??? my e4300 (which is watercooled) has been hitting in the 80's for about a year now (according to the sensors), it runs almost 24/7 and its still fine. If ur temps used to be fine, and ur rig just started doing this without you changing anything, then you have a problem. Might be time for a new system or at least some new thermal paste.

    EDIT: also, have u tried using speedfan or any other software?
     
  7. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,944 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,737
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh, wait a minute. This is on a 3400+ (single core).

    Yeah, I'm pretty sure that chip would be physically destroyed at 88C. AMD doesn't take heat as well as Intel.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
  9. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm sorry guys I meant 80 Degrees.. not 88.. but I will re-apply thermal paste.
     
  10. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Mine never worked... 80 degrees i think your mobo could be cooked to...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Has this only started happening?
    Or has this temp issue been like this since you built the PC.
     
  12. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,798 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    227
    Location:
    US
    it might be a wrong reading
     
  13. vega22

    vega22

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    i would guess its a misread as amds shutdown well before 80c, are you sure its not 80f?

    80f would put you around 27/28c which is about right.
     
  14. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    It has just started.

    And It's not a misread, I checked it in BIOS also, and it was at 77C

    Maybe the sensor itself is bad? Because I haven't had any performance problems..
     
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,337 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Miami
    Change thermal paste... immediately! Almost guarantee its the paste - or heatsink came loose, which will also be fixed as u have to remount it to change paste. :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)