• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Black Edition Hits 510MHz FSB on AMD RD790 on Air

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#1
Regardless of theoretical performance, the upcoming AMD RD790 and Athlon 64 Black Edition line of processors certainly are overclockable and feature-laden. On nothing but air cooling, MSI testers were able to get an RD790 chipset to a remarkable 510MHz FSB speed. Once the RD790 is released with PCI Express 2, CrossFire X, and support for goodies such as Phenom, we will see one seriously good platform.

Show full news post
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
1,003 (0.24/day)
Likes
156
System Name [Primary Workstation]
Processor Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield @ 3.8GHz/4.55GHz [24-7/Bench]
Motherboard EVGA X58 E758-A1 [Tweaked right!]
Cooling Cooler Master V8 [stock fan + two 133CFM ULTRA KAZE fans]
Memory 12GB [Kingston HyperX]
Video Card(s) constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer nVidia]
Storage constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer Hitachi/Samsung]
Display(s) Triple LCD [40 inch primary + 32 & 28 inch auxiliary displays]
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000 [Mesh Mod, CFM Overload]
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 + onboard Realtek ALC889A [Logitech Z-5300 Spk., Niko 650-HP 5.1 Hp., X-Bass Hp.]
Power Supply Corsair TX950W [aka Reactor]
Software This and that... [All software 100% legit and paid for, 0% pirated]
Benchmark Scores Ridiculously good scores!!!
#2
Impressive.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#3
Thats great, but what was the clock speed on the chip? 510 is ok, but if your CPU can't go that high, it's worthless(Unless you lower the multiplier and then the only benifit is the RAM speed).
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
378 (0.09/day)
Likes
20
Location
UK
Processor 3570-K @ 4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-DH3
Cooling cosair H100
Memory 8gb samsung green
Video Card(s) Inno3d 580GTX
Storage 240gb Vertex 3 +500gb samsung F1 + 640gb samsung F(something)
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case CoolerMaster CMStacker
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750w
Software Windows 7
#4
i think it was just a test to see how how the fsb can go.

 
Joined
Aug 10, 2006
Messages
4,413 (1.07/day)
Likes
147
Location
England
Processor Intel Core i7-7700K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z270E Gaming
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 4x 8GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX @ 2133MHz
Video Card(s) 2x NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti FEs
Storage 512GB SSD, 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) AOC U2879VF, AOC G2260VWQ6
Case Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850G
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#5
So they effectivly lowered the speed of the chip to get a higher FSB. Smart. :wtf:
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#6
So they effectivly lowered the speed of the chip to get a higher FSB. Smart. :wtf:
Sometimes it can be, I've heard -- not by as much as they did in this test, of course. Getting 510mhz here was merely a Proof of Concept.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.12/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#7
correct mdm, this is simply to show there is no significant FSB wall at least up to 510FSB which is awesome and means that the new phenoms should have a ton of potential on RD790!
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#8
Looks like they are showing the limits of both the Phenom and the RD790 by dropping the multiplier.

The Phenom shown in that screenshot has a ~25% overclock.

Unfortunately, the screenshot above (from the link) looks seriously photo-shopped.
 
Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
3,480 (0.76/day)
Likes
537
#9
Looks like they are showing the limits of both the Phenom and the RD790 by dropping the multiplier.

The Phenom shown in that screenshot has a ~25% overclock.

Unfortunately, the screenshot above (from the link) looks seriously photo-shopped.
What do you look for when deciding if it is shopped or not?
Just curious.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#10
CPU-Z screen added, I'm sorry I forgot about it earlier :banghead:.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,252 (0.79/day)
Likes
146
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I7 7700k De-lid @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero IX
Cooling Custom dual 360 rad loops. Cpu monoblock, 295x2 full cover waterblock. Custom R9290x waterblock.
Memory 16Gb Team Xtream DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) 295X2 + R9290X
Storage SSD RAID array, dozen TB HDD's in RAID
Display(s) 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p, QNIX 144p @ 100Hz overclocked
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.5Kw
Mouse RAT 7
Keyboard Ryos II MK Pro Mechanical
Software Windows 10 LTSB
#11
shouldnt it be bus speed and HT link on that cpuz screeny, not FSB and bus? It is AMD after all....

however, it may just be a bug, who knows. I would like to think it could handle that high an bus speed as it will be sweet for hi end RAM modules

like this:

 
Last edited:

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#12
Amazing potential. When I first looked at it, I was like the poster above who said, 510mhz and a multi of 5 and not much for speed. But when I thought about it, the Phenom has amazing potential to clock to 4ghz or more. Sweet score for AMD
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,947 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#13
Shouldnt the lettering be blue, and the text in the box?
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#14
Shouldnt the lettering be blue, and the text in the box?
I get the lettering as black when use the Windows Classic theme.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.67/day)
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#15
if its photoshopped, why does the validation number work?

 

Sovereign

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
789 (0.20/day)
Likes
65
Location
Midwest USA
System Name "The Gateway Donation"
Processor Mobile AMD Turion 64 ML-34, 1975 MHz (9 x 218) (1MB L2)
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo3-FSR (3 PCI, 1 PCI-E x16, 1 AGR, 2 DDR DIMM)
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 PRO + Various 80mm Case Fans
Memory 1024 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM, Hynix & Nanya Chips)
Video Card(s) MSI HD2600XT 256MB GDDR4 Diamond OC Edition PCI-E x16
Storage Maxtor 6E040L0 (40 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
Display(s) Princeton LCD1950 19" 8ms Digital LCD (1280x1024 @ 75Hz)
Case Gateway (2000) Beige P150 ATX MidTower Case
Audio Device(s) Aureal Vortex 2 SQ2500 "SuperQuad" Audio
Power Supply HEC Orion 500 watt ATX Power Supply
Software Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 w/ SP2
Benchmark Scores SuperPi 1M @ You don't even want to know! ;)
#16
shouldnt it be bus speed and HT link on that cpuz screeny, not FSB and bus? It is AMD after all....
You get it reported as Bus Speed when you look at the pic provided on validation links. With CPU-Z 1.41, my Santa Ana 1216 Opteron is shown as a Santa Rosa so things like this are to be expected.

My CPU-Z 1.41 Validation screenie :
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#18
so, who's getting AMD for their next PC :)
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,101 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,255
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#19
count me in, though I have to say my upgrades are going to get farther and farther apart. married and bout to have kids.

and if they could get that result on phase with an 8x mult, I'd buy both easily.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#20
Looks like they are showing the limits of both the Phenom and the RD790 by dropping the multiplier.

The Phenom shown in that screenshot has a ~25% overclock.

Unfortunately, the screenshot above (from the link) looks seriously photo-shopped.
It's not a Phenom. It's a 6400+, and it's actually 22% underclocked.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,252 (0.79/day)
Likes
146
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I7 7700k De-lid @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero IX
Cooling Custom dual 360 rad loops. Cpu monoblock, 295x2 full cover waterblock. Custom R9290x waterblock.
Memory 16Gb Team Xtream DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) 295X2 + R9290X
Storage SSD RAID array, dozen TB HDD's in RAID
Display(s) 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p, QNIX 144p @ 100Hz overclocked
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.5Kw
Mouse RAT 7
Keyboard Ryos II MK Pro Mechanical
Software Windows 10 LTSB
#21
You get it reported as Bus Speed when you look at the pic provided on validation links. With CPU-Z 1.41, my Santa Ana 1216 Opteron is shown as a Santa Rosa so things like this are to be expected.

My CPU-Z 1.41 Validation screenie :
ahhh good to know then! :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
923 (0.20/day)
Likes
32
Location
Grantham UK, Lincs
System Name Lazy boh
Processor AMD X6 1090T @ 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling TT FRIO
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) HD4870
Storage 60gb Ocz vertex 2 2x2TB 2x1TB 1x500GB
Display(s) 25.5" hanns G
Case Antec 1200 V1
Audio Device(s) onboard :P FTW
Power Supply Corsair TX750W v1
Software W7 64Bit
#22
that is pretty sick but class :D well done
 

Gzero

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
718 (0.15/day)
Likes
52
Location
Scotland
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4x2gb G.Skill DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 1t
Video Card(s) HIS 4870 512mb - powerplay modded
Storage Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung LE40F86/Viewsonic vx2260wm
Case ThermalTake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 889
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
#23
Right... so AMD prove they can do 500fsb and some you think thats a great reason to buy AMD cpus again... I fail to see the logic...

Having a high fsb might allow more memory bandwidth but if it isn't actually filled and used by the cpu then isn't it overkill, like giving a mini a Ferrari engine?

For example: Pentium 4 (prescott + D models) look at all the good quad pumping the fsb did for intel when they finally realised that 5ghz wasn't really a viable consumer option. :/

And AMD aren't using DDR3 so this is a bit premature :p
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,252 (0.79/day)
Likes
146
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I7 7700k De-lid @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero IX
Cooling Custom dual 360 rad loops. Cpu monoblock, 295x2 full cover waterblock. Custom R9290x waterblock.
Memory 16Gb Team Xtream DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) 295X2 + R9290X
Storage SSD RAID array, dozen TB HDD's in RAID
Display(s) 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p, QNIX 144p @ 100Hz overclocked
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.5Kw
Mouse RAT 7
Keyboard Ryos II MK Pro Mechanical
Software Windows 10 LTSB
#24
Right... so AMD prove they can do 500fsb and some you think thats a great reason to buy AMD cpus again... I fail to see the logic...

Having a high fsb might allow more memory bandwidth but if it isn't actually filled and used by the cpu then isn't it overkill, like giving a mini a Ferrari engine?
lol....
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
1,003 (0.24/day)
Likes
156
System Name [Primary Workstation]
Processor Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield @ 3.8GHz/4.55GHz [24-7/Bench]
Motherboard EVGA X58 E758-A1 [Tweaked right!]
Cooling Cooler Master V8 [stock fan + two 133CFM ULTRA KAZE fans]
Memory 12GB [Kingston HyperX]
Video Card(s) constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer nVidia]
Storage constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer Hitachi/Samsung]
Display(s) Triple LCD [40 inch primary + 32 & 28 inch auxiliary displays]
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000 [Mesh Mod, CFM Overload]
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 + onboard Realtek ALC889A [Logitech Z-5300 Spk., Niko 650-HP 5.1 Hp., X-Bass Hp.]
Power Supply Corsair TX950W [aka Reactor]
Software This and that... [All software 100% legit and paid for, 0% pirated]
Benchmark Scores Ridiculously good scores!!!
#25
so, who's getting AMD for their next PC
Me, as I have for the past six years. And the one after that, and the one AFTER that, and the...well you get the idea. Unless AMD goes completely out of business, and even then there would be a steady supply of AMD parts for years on eBay and such. I'm done with Intel. I kicked that bit*h out, threw her sh*t on the street and blocked her phone number. As for VIA? I don't play with toys anymore.