• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Athlon X2 7750 BE Unlocked to Quad-Core

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
38,269 (8.39/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
Earlier this year, a Korean source had pointed out an easy method to enable a fourth core on the Phenom II X3. This was made possible by the way AMD has been designing its triple-core and dual-core processors based on the K10 "Stars" architecture: by disabling one or two cores on the quad-core die. "Sloppy" BIOS coding lead to the Phenom II X3 anomaly. It looks like a somewhat similar mod enables not one, but two cores on the sub-$100 Athlon X2 7750 Black Edition. A Korean technology website GiggleHD.com has reported a successful unlock of two cores.

The method is similar to that of the Phenom II X3 unlock: using flaws in BIOS code to enable cores, by enabling the "Advanced Clock Calibration" feature in the BIOS setup. The OS, Windows XP SP3, was able to see the processor as a "AMD Phenom(tm) FX-7750", while CPU-Z reads the name string correctly and lists the core count as 4. The motherboard in use is an ASRock A790GX/128M.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Last edited:

AlCabone

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
78 (0.02/day)
Location
Europe
That explains the high power consumption of the chip. It's a native quad. Seems like AMD designed only two CPUs: Phenom and Phenom II, and they disable parts of them to get a complete market coverage.
I would rather like to see more efficient native dual- and tricores in the future.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
392 (0.08/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name Lil'Lighty
Processor Intel Core i3 530 @ Stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D
Cooling Artic Cooling Freezer Pro Rev.2
Memory Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX650 OC 1GB
Storage WD Blue 500GB AAKS
Display(s) ASUS 20'
Case Aerocool Aeroengine II // Two 120mm Blue Fans
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster LE // Logitech X-230
Power Supply Corsair VX450W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Oh no, not again ;). Why do they keep doing this? To save on material?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
705 (0.16/day)
System Name Chaos
Processor Ryzen 1600 X
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling 6x 140mm + 240mm AIO
Memory Adata ddr4 3000mhz XPG
Video Card(s) Powercolor RX Vega 56 Red Dragon
Storage ADATA SX8200 + kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2 + 1tb toshiba 7200
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Game Max Silent Black
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 750W gold
Mouse corsair harpoon gaming mouse
Keyboard MS 600 wired keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64
i wonder what mobo they used lol
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.03/day)
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I knew I should have picked up a 7750BE when I had the chance...
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
530 (0.13/day)
Location
Romania
System Name umm...no
Processor Intel i5 8600k 4.8 Ghz OC
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / 2x NF-S12A-PWM Chromax
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CL15 3000mhz 32gb
Video Card(s) AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition
Storage Samsung M.2 SSD 960 Evo 250GB / Crucial SSD MX500 1TB & 2TB / Seagate 2TB Hdd / Toshiba 2Tb Hdd
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG279Q, Acer XF270HU
Case Cooler Master H500M
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 / Logitech Z533
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Can't wait to see more :D
 

Atom_Anti

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
176 (0.04/day)
Location
Captiva Isaland, Florida USA
System Name 3dfx High End PC
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.06GHz@3.7GHz
Motherboard Abit SA7
Cooling AC Freezer 4
Memory 512MB Patriot DDR600 TCCD
Video Card(s) 3dfx Voodoo 5 5500 AGP 193/193MHz
Storage 80GB 7200RPM Pata
Display(s) 19" LG Wide TFT-LCD
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply 400W
Software Windows Millenium Edition
Benchmark Scores 3DMark2000: 7100 3DMark2001: 4100
AMD always so cool:)! I am waiting for the new Phenom II X2 and hopfully will get X4 mod too...
 

X-TeNDeR

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
110 (0.02/day)
Location
Sharpening The Underdog's Teeth
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 Propus C2 (2.8GHz) 95w
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 (AMD 890GX/SB850)
Cooling Scythe Yasya+MX-3, 3x140mm+1x120mm case fans
Memory Mushkin 2x2gb DDR3 1600MHz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) Club3D Radeon HD 4850 512mb (Stock Fan+MX-3)
Storage WD 1TB SATA3 + WD MyBook 1TB ext+Toshiba 160gb ext
Display(s) LG W2486L '24 FHD Led 1920x1080
Case Lancool Dragonlord K62R1 (AMD Edition)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX+Microlab X16 2.1+Senn 448 'Phones
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-620 80+ Bronze Modular
Software Micro$oft Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Me suspects a plot by AMD to rule the (CPU) world :wtf:

Seriously, think about it: AMD use all native-quads for their different lineups, and one day, slips a bios or some patch that unlocks dormant cores... if its true, AMD are w1zzards lol.
This gives their processors so much value, alot of heads (and wallets) will turn.
 

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.09/day)
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
Nice cheap quad !!
 

npp

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
I enjoyed that about the world supremacy, sounds cool :)) The only cath is that selling quad-cores for the price of dual-cores amid tough economical climate isn't exaclty what AMD needs right now. I would enjoy a crippled Phenom sold as a single-core Sempron, however. Now THAT would be a bargain :)))
 

haffey

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2009
Messages
59 (0.01/day)
Location
CT, USA
System Name Kevin's Desktop
Processor Q9550 @ 3.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E (Rampage Formula BIOS 0803)
Cooling TRUE 120 (lapped to 10 micron)
Memory 2x2 GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4870 1GB (830/1000 with T-Rad2)
Storage 160 GB WD (SATA) | 2 x 250 GB Seagate (IDE) | 1 TB WD (SATA)
Display(s) Acer AL2216W 22" LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Asus SupremeFX II
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
that's AWESOME. i might just have to build a whole entire computer because this is just a sick deal.
 

X-TeNDeR

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
110 (0.02/day)
Location
Sharpening The Underdog's Teeth
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 Propus C2 (2.8GHz) 95w
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 (AMD 890GX/SB850)
Cooling Scythe Yasya+MX-3, 3x140mm+1x120mm case fans
Memory Mushkin 2x2gb DDR3 1600MHz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) Club3D Radeon HD 4850 512mb (Stock Fan+MX-3)
Storage WD 1TB SATA3 + WD MyBook 1TB ext+Toshiba 160gb ext
Display(s) LG W2486L '24 FHD Led 1920x1080
Case Lancool Dragonlord K62R1 (AMD Edition)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX+Microlab X16 2.1+Senn 448 'Phones
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-620 80+ Bronze Modular
Software Micro$oft Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
^ Dont forget this isn't 100% sure and there is no guarantee whatsoever.
About what npp said: its all about volume. sell thousands of cheap parts, instead of hundreds of more expensive ones. if the average joe see the potential in buying a dual-core which is dirt-cheap, and unlocking it to tri or quad, he will sure be happy and buy loads of these chips. this has a good profit potential for AMD.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,202 (1.15/day)
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450i Gaming Plus AC
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Phantek Evo Evolv Shift
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair SFX 750W
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
Looks like I'm gonna have to pull the 7750 back out and into my board on Monday to try this out.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,268 (0.73/day)
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Phanteks Shift ITX
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
Ima feels AMD did this on purpose so as to not trigger any suspicion of uncompetitiveness. Selling quads for a measly price disguised as a "fluke".
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,419 (2.52/day)
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
That explains the high power consumption of the chip. It's a native quad. Seems like AMD designed only two CPUs: Phenom and Phenom II, and they disable parts of them to get a complete market coverage.
I would rather like to see more efficient native dual- and tricores in the future.
Oh no, not again ;). Why do they keep doing this? To save on material?
It's been known from the get go the 7750 was pretty much half a 9950. I had a 9850 and it clocked for crap, I managed to squeeze 3.2ghz bench stable out of it on the stock cooler, and 3.1ghz 24/7 clocks, but that was hard as hell to do.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago when I got my gf a 7750, I bumped the voltage up a few ticks, uped the multi to 3.3ghz and bam, no one issue. Thats on a stock cooler. I lined some 120mm's up to blow on the HS and now it runs at 39c under load, gonna go for 3.4ghz or more 24/7 clocks, that would have been very difficult to pull off in the 9850 or 9950. So they strategy in my mind is working fantastically!
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,813 (2.15/day)
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Auburn Fast
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 "Gen 2" 2600X
Motherboard AsRock X470 Killer Promontory
Cooling CoolerMaster 240 RGB Master Cooler (Newegg Eggxpert)
Memory 16 GB (2x8GB) ADATA XPG GAMMIX D10 DDR 2666
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon RX 580 DirectX 12 DUAL-RX580-O8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video C
Storage WD 250 M.2 (Newegg Eggxpert), Samsung EVO 840 SSD, OCZ Trion 250 GB SSD (Newegg Egg), WD 1 TB Black
Display(s) LG 29" 2560 x 1440 IPS AMD FreeSync Monitor (Newegg Eggxpert)
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox K500 RGB w/ Full Tempered Glass Window (Newegg Eggxpert)
Audio Device(s) Realtek 5.1 Onboard w/ DJ Urko Modded Drivers
Power Supply Corsair RMX 850 Platinum PSU (Newegg Eggxpert)
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB (Newegg Eggxpert)
Keyboard Corsair K95 Mechanical & Corsair K65 Wired, Wireless, Bluetooth)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
lOOKS LIKE I NEED TO get me a sb750 board :_
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
530 (0.13/day)
Location
Romania
System Name umm...no
Processor Intel i5 8600k 4.8 Ghz OC
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / 2x NF-S12A-PWM Chromax
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CL15 3000mhz 32gb
Video Card(s) AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition
Storage Samsung M.2 SSD 960 Evo 250GB / Crucial SSD MX500 1TB & 2TB / Seagate 2TB Hdd / Toshiba 2Tb Hdd
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG279Q, Acer XF270HU
Case Cooler Master H500M
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 / Logitech Z533
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,419 (2.52/day)
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
I already did a bit of testing, it's been set on Auto since I got it, that didn't do it. And setting all cores to 0% or -2% didn't unlock mine. But I got bored testing and bumped it up to 3.4ghz and 1.312v and stressing the crap out of it now, just passed wPrime 1024, such a nice little proc!
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
530 (0.13/day)
Location
Romania
System Name umm...no
Processor Intel i5 8600k 4.8 Ghz OC
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / 2x NF-S12A-PWM Chromax
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CL15 3000mhz 32gb
Video Card(s) AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition
Storage Samsung M.2 SSD 960 Evo 250GB / Crucial SSD MX500 1TB & 2TB / Seagate 2TB Hdd / Toshiba 2Tb Hdd
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG279Q, Acer XF270HU
Case Cooler Master H500M
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 / Logitech Z533
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I already did a bit of testing, it's been set on Auto since I got it, that didn't do it. And setting all cores to 0% or -2% didn't unlock mine. But I got bored testing and bumped it up to 3.4ghz and 1.312v and stressing the crap out of it now, just passed wPrime 1024, such a nice little proc!
What mobo if I may ask, I need to change mine anyways since I can't get past 3 ghz
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.03/day)
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I already did a bit of testing, it's been set on Auto since I got it, that didn't do it. And setting all cores to 0% or -2% didn't unlock mine. But I got bored testing and bumped it up to 3.4ghz and 1.312v and stressing the crap out of it now, just passed wPrime 1024, such a nice little proc!
What you might need to do is reflash your BIOS with the very first Phenom II supporting version. That seems to be the one with the poor coding that allows the unlocking of CPUs.

I know I can unlock my 720BE on the BIOS version before this one, which was the first to support PII, and now I can't on the newer one (the older version was so buggy it made overclocking a chore).
 

EarlZ

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
339 (0.07/day)
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 Rev1.1
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 4GB G.Skill 9-10-9-27-1T 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX580 1.5Gb
Storage 2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung T220
Case Lian Li PC-P80
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Gold 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
wait till they release a dualcore that is a native octa core :toast:
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,652 (1.21/day)
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
What you might need to do is reflash your BIOS with the very first Phenom II supporting version. That seems to be the one with the poor coding that allows the unlocking of CPUs.

I know I can unlock my 720BE on the BIOS version before this one, which was the first to support PII, and now I can't on the newer one (the older version was so buggy it made overclocking a chore).
why can't some one hack the bios and see which parameter opens these hidden cores? We will have a secret section available for logged in members only:D

And oh make sure that hack is set for NV boards too;)

But still PII rules:rockout:
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
530 (0.13/day)
Location
Romania
System Name umm...no
Processor Intel i5 8600k 4.8 Ghz OC
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / 2x NF-S12A-PWM Chromax
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CL15 3000mhz 32gb
Video Card(s) AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition
Storage Samsung M.2 SSD 960 Evo 250GB / Crucial SSD MX500 1TB & 2TB / Seagate 2TB Hdd / Toshiba 2Tb Hdd
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG279Q, Acer XF270HU
Case Cooler Master H500M
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 / Logitech Z533
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Top