• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Athlon X4 760K Overheating

Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,149 (2.10/day)
Likes
2,068
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#51
View attachment 105828 View attachment 105829 View attachment 105830 View attachment 105831 View attachment 105832 View attachment 105833 View attachment 105834 View attachment 105835

Yo bro, sorry I wasn't able to get back soon enough, busy with real life lol. Anyways here is multiple pages of your manual, page 21 has the voltage setting you need. Automatic locks any adjustments out, you need to set to normal and then enter the numbers manually and save them.
I understand life bro

Been in the hospital with my wife the past 5 days. Been messing with the PC up here to keep me occupied

But how did you find that out. I looked through the whole manual but never came across that
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,527 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,699
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#52
I understand life bro

Been in the hospital with my wife the past 5 days. Been messing with the PC up here to keep me occupied

But how did you find that out. I looked through the whole manual but never came across that
Well i looked up your board and it did not come up as what you said it was, the letters were reversed.

I pray your Wife is healed in Jesus' name
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,149 (2.10/day)
Likes
2,068
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#53
Well i looked up your board and it did not come up as what you said it was, the letters were reversed.

I pray your Wife is healed in Jesus' name
Even in the pictures you posted I still don’t see it :roll:

I gave you the right name though GA-F2A68MH-H

And thank you
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,153 (2.46/day)
Likes
3,304
Location
USA
#54
I updated the BIOs earlier and it’s running even higher volts at stock 1.476v
Ok, that voltage is way high for that CPU. Drop it down to 1.3625 or 1.375. Then run a few benchmark to see the resulting temps. I'm betting that is the problem.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,934 (8.88/day)
Likes
14,666
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#55
Cant believe no ones asked... what thermal paste did you use? How much?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,149 (2.10/day)
Likes
2,068
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#56
Ok, that voltage is way high for that CPU. Drop it down to 1.3625 or 1.375. Then run a few benchmark to see the resulting temps. I'm betting that is the problem.
If you read through the problem has become determining how to lower it

Cant believe no ones asked... what thermal paste did you use? How much?
MX-4 pea size in the middle of IHS. Even tried the spreading with a card method. Coverage looks perfect so I don’t think that’s the issue. I believe the temp problem is caused by the insane voltages

I remember having a A10-6800K some time ago and it did 5GHz @1.35v with the same cooler and it never ran this hot under full load

This cpu stock is suppose to be 1.2-1.3v with the boost hitting upto 1.35v. Mine is dang near hitting 1.5v which is the max for this CPU
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,780 (1.26/day)
Likes
2,311
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ rgb 3200mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
#57
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,934 (8.88/day)
Likes
14,666
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#58
can you take some pics of the CPU with paste on it, and the cooler? we might spot something

honestly it sounds like its not on correctly for some reason
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,149 (2.10/day)
Likes
2,068
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#59
can you take some pics of the CPU with paste on it, and the cooler? we might spot something

honestly it sounds like its not on correctly for some reason
Even with the stock cooler and preapplied paste it ran just as hot

But I’m preoccupied atm. Once we get everything together and I’m back home I’ll take some pictures
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,153 (2.46/day)
Likes
3,304
Location
USA
#60
If you read through the problem has become determining how to lower it
I am sorry, seems I missed that somewhere. You might just have a bad mobo and/or CPU. If you can return them I would, if not you may wish to try a different board or CPU to see if the problem persist, if that's possible.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,527 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,699
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#61
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,780 (1.26/day)
Likes
2,311
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ rgb 3200mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,149 (2.10/day)
Likes
2,068
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#63

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,527 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,699
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#64
My bad I kept accidentally swapping the M&H. You get a little off when you haven’t slept :twitch:

But I read the manual again and still didn’t see it. Manual I read is from the Gigabyte website for Rev 1.1
It's probably hidden very deeply.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,011 (5.34/day)
Likes
12,446
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#65
That's not an APU. The Athlons were not APUs for that socket.
The term APU is just semantics, the x4 760K is still an richland APU with the iGPU disabled, and it still used the same shit thermal paste under the IHS. I've had a lot of these just start to overheat recently for no other reason than the thermal paste has gone bad.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,753 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,932
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) XFX RS RX 480 GPU @ 1288 MHz - 1.045 mV from 1.175 | GDDR5 @ 2075 MHz
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 (dead)
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire FPS
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#66
But I read the manual again and still didn’t see it. Manual I read is from the Gigabyte website for Rev 1.1
I didn't see anything either or than "advance voltage control" under the M.I.T section of the manual.
Untitled.png
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,527 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,699
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#67
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,149 (2.10/day)
Likes
2,068
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#68
So I've been playing around with the PC and the lowest I could get the voltage to was 1.39v in the BIOs with Normal vcore setting and low LLC

But something strange still; Speecy & HWinfo64 still read very high voltages above 60*C but the Gigabyte Hardware Monitor software I found reads 22-37*C

I was even able to play 2 Full matches of BF4 with no shutdowns, stuttering, lag, or throttling

760K Monitor.PNG
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,527 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,699
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#69
So I've been playing around with the PC and the lowest I could get the voltage to was 1.39v in the BIOs with Normal vcore setting and low LLC

But something strange still; Speecy & HWinfo64 still read very high voltages above 60*C but the Gigabyte Hardware Monitor software I found reads 22-37*C

I was even able to play 2 Full matches of BF4 with no shutdowns, stuttering, lag, or throttling

View attachment 105900
Get an ir thermometer shoot hsf and cpu edge.

Remove those 2 apps and reinstall them. I suspect they're not reading your sensors right but of course that's gigabyte for you low end garbage
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,149 (2.10/day)
Likes
2,068
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#70
Get an ir thermometer shoot hsf and cpu edge.

Remove those 2 apps and reinstall them. I suspect they're not reading your sensors right but of course that's gigabyte for you low end garbage
That means i'd have to buy one

and I reinstalled both
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,011 (5.34/day)
Likes
12,446
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#71
Get an ir thermometer shoot hsf and cpu edge.

Remove those 2 apps and reinstall them. I suspect they're not reading your sensors right but of course that's gigabyte for you low end garbage
They are reading the sensors right, they are just reading different sensors.

The highlighted temp in HWiNFO is the package temperate, read from a sensor on the actual processor. The Gigabyte software is reading a sensor located somewhere on the motherboard, probably in the CPU socket. HWiNFO is also reading this sensor it is lost lower in the list. It is reading a degree different between HWiNFO and the Gigabyte software, but that it probably due to a slight difference in the polling time between the two programs.

The sensor on the motherboard is almost always going to read lower, because it is further away from the heat source.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,527 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,699
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#72
They are reading the sensors right, they are just reading different sensors.

The highlighted temp in HWiNFO is the package temperate, read from a sensor on the actual processor. The Gigabyte software is reading a sensor located somewhere on the motherboard, probably in the CPU socket. HWiNFO is also reading this sensor it is lost lower in the list. It is reading a degree different between HWiNFO and the Gigabyte software, but that it probably due to a slight difference in the polling time between the two programs.

The sensor on the motherboard is almost always going to read lower, because it is further away from the heat source.
I wonder if this holds true with hardware monitor or open hardware monitor.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,011 (5.34/day)
Likes
12,446
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#73
I wonder if this holds true with hardware monitor or open hardware monitor.
I'd bet they do. Hardware Monitor and Open Hardware Monitor both handle things very similar to how HWiNFO does. They read every sensor is possible can, and groups sensors based on what piece of hardware it is located.

The Gigabyte hardware only reads the sensors on the Gigabyte motherboard, which kind of makes sense, but also leads to misleading results. Because it makes the CPU temperature seem a lot lower than it really is.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,527 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,699
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#74
I'd bet they do. Hardware Monitor and Open Hardware Monitor both handle things very similar to how HWiNFO does. They read every sensor is possible can, and groups sensors based on what piece of hardware it is located.

The Gigabyte hardware only reads the sensors on the Gigabyte motherboard, which kind of makes sense, but also leads to misleading results. Because it makes the CPU temperature seem a lot lower than it really is.
Yeah HW and OHW work correctly on mine, Id have 1 running during a Ryzen Blender test to see how hot my cpu was getting. Worst case was 75-80, no biggie as gaming it was around 55 and idle of 43.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,149 (2.10/day)
Likes
2,068
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#75
So I don't quite understand wtf this PC is on :roll:

I've been able to game on it all night with no issues but for the life of me I don't even know what temp to trust anymore

PC settings

Athlon X4 760K @4ghz
EVGA GTX 960 SSCC @1500MHz/1800MHz

Crysis 3 (4480x1080) High Settings - 40-60 FPS
BF4 (4480x1080) High Settings - 50-85 FPS
BF Hardline (4480x1080) High Settings - 59-110 FPS
BF1 Runs like ass and will not break 30 FPS

Still playing around with it but this Gigabyte BIOs is definitely confusing as fck. The last Gigabyte board I had wasn't this confusing which was a A88X-UP4
 
Top