• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI 4850 Overclock Results

SpookyWillow

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
378 (0.08/day)
Location
UK
Processor 3570-K @ 4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-DH3
Cooling cosair H100
Memory 8gb samsung green
Video Card(s) Inno3d 580GTX
Storage 240gb Vertex 3 +500gb samsung F1 + 640gb samsung F(something)
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case CoolerMaster CMStacker
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750w
Software Windows 7
so i take it your using winflash to get the bios and editing it with RBE then reflashing it with winflash?

what versions are you using?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
405 (0.10/day)
Location
US
System Name Main Rig/Wife/Spare/Spare2/Server
Processor FX8350/i73770k/i72600k/i7 920/q9550
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD3/Asrock Extreme/Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling XSPC/CM Seidon 250/Corsair H50/Sunbeam/OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory 16gb/16gb/8gb/6gb ddr3/8gb ddr2
Video Card(s) R9 290/GTX 670/GTX 570/HD6970/HD4350
Storage 2x840 1xvelociraptor/2xS511 1xwd black/2xC300 1xwd black/1x OCZ Vertex 1xspinpoint/1xOCZ Vertex
Display(s) 2x24in/2x 24in/2x 22in/1x 24in
Case Raven/CM690/CM690/Antec/Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Xi-Fi Titanium/Xi-Fi Fatality/Audigy 2/Realtek Onboard/Realtek Onboard
Power Supply Corsair/Corsair/Antec/Antec/CM
Software Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit
RBE v1.11 and WinFlash v2012, I've had winflash corrupt the bios a cpl times so now I use it in windows through the command prompt and haven't had a single problem since doing it this way and it seems to flash faster as well.
 

SpookyWillow

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
378 (0.08/day)
Location
UK
Processor 3570-K @ 4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-DH3
Cooling cosair H100
Memory 8gb samsung green
Video Card(s) Inno3d 580GTX
Storage 240gb Vertex 3 +500gb samsung F1 + 640gb samsung F(something)
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case CoolerMaster CMStacker
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750w
Software Windows 7
yeah last time i used it on my 3870 i did it in windows and it worked fine, might give it a shot in a minute actually :D
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
Well I have two 4850s arriving between Mon-Wed and I'll have them on water.....so we'll see :D
Anyone get over 900 MHz stable yet? What sort of (over)voltage are you guys running on these?
How about memory OCing? I have some good Swiftech BGA RAMsinks that should allow for decent memory clocks....along with 120mm fans down there.

How hot do the VRMs get on these? My 2900XT got REALLY hot with overvoltage.....
 

Majikka

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
:cry: omg, i OC my card and flashed it through windows. went all good but i cant get the flash to work in VGA mode or safe mode. How can i get my card flashed back to normal???
 

Majikka

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
well, found out the hard way. first boot in vga mode, then uninstall all your ati drivers and programs. reboot in normal. run atiwinflash and flash it.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
:cry: omg, i OC my card and flashed it through windows. went all good but i cant get the flash to work in VGA mode or safe mode. How can i get my card flashed back to normal???
I would advise against flashing in Windows.....use ATIFLash....much smaller chance of a bad flash. ATIflash can run on a small flash drive or CD.
 

ViciousXUSMC

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
117 (0.03/day)
System Name Vicious's Rig
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6ghz @ 1.4v (Windows)
Motherboard Asus P5Q Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extrme with S-Scyth fan
Memory 2x2gb Mushkin DDR2 800
Video Card(s) 2x Visiontek 4850 @ 675/1000
Storage 2x 640gb Western Digital
Display(s) 37" Westinghouse LVM37-W3
Case Antec P182 Special Edition
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Silencer
Software Windows Vista x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18,582
If you guys did not see my warning in the RBE 1.11 thread, DO NOT USE the 8.7 beta drivers and flash your bios. Its broken and after the flash many people could not get into windows Vista, we all thought it was a bad flash or bad clocks in RBE but in the long run after some dective work I found it was the drivers, I did the same flash after I re-installed windows to find it worked.

I have no idea whats wrong with those drivers but I would stay away.

Use the 8.6 Hotfix drivers.

As for winflash it works for me just fine. I have to use 2.007 tho as the newest version will not work. I also like how it lets me choose what card to flash since I have 2 cards in crossfire.
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,358 (0.51/day)
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 2x8GB GSkill Trident Z RGB 3600MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 250GB Samsung 840 EVO - 1TB Intel 660p
Display(s) Samsung 27" 144hz Curved 1440P - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case InWin A1+
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Steinburg UR44
Power Supply InWin 650w
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB LUX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Well I have two 4850s arriving between Mon-Wed and I'll have them on water.....so we'll see :D
Anyone get over 900 MHz stable yet? What sort of (over)voltage are you guys running on these?
How about memory OCing? I have some good Swiftech BGA RAMsinks that should allow for decent memory clocks....along with 120mm fans down there.

How hot do the VRMs get on these? My 2900XT got REALLY hot with overvoltage.....
900MHz stable is fine, as long as you got the cooling, which you do:p....You will need about 1.35v to get that, and the VRM's will get very toasty, use big heatsinks, and a fan mounted/pointed at them. I don't know about the memory, people are getting between 1050MHz, and 1200MHz....all depends on your chips.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,189 (0.71/day)
Location
CA, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel 8086K
Motherboard Gigabyte z390m
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 AMP for now
Storage 280GB Optane 900P U.2 SSD + 4TB PCIe NVMe SSD
Display(s) BenQ 32" 4K monitor + Nixeus 27" IPS 1440p 144Hz
Case Silverstone Temjin TJ08B-E
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- Presonus Eris E5 w/ 2x JL Audio 10w0v3 Sealed --- JBL 4412
Power Supply EVGA 850W plat
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard Gigabyte K83
Software Win 10 Pro x64
would I be able to hit 750 on 1.2v?
 

ViciousXUSMC

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
117 (0.03/day)
System Name Vicious's Rig
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6ghz @ 1.4v (Windows)
Motherboard Asus P5Q Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extrme with S-Scyth fan
Memory 2x2gb Mushkin DDR2 800
Video Card(s) 2x Visiontek 4850 @ 675/1000
Storage 2x 640gb Western Digital
Display(s) 37" Westinghouse LVM37-W3
Case Antec P182 Special Edition
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Silencer
Software Windows Vista x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18,582
would I be able to hit 750 on 1.2v?
Maybe but I somewhat doubt it. 750 seems to be the max but I doubt that its 100% stable unless your increbily lucky. I went from 675 stable stock to 710 stable at 1.2v and it looks like 720mhz is probably stable but I did crash out of Crysis with 720.... but that could have been a crysis issue. For now I backed it down to 710, and when I get my new s-flex fans here in the next couple of days to cool the VRM's I will bump it back up to 720 and higher to test on other games & programs to see where my final stable level is.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
Well I have the cards installed, but I haven't benched them yet or anything...I just installed them and installed the drivers after removing my 2900XTs along with the water blocks and all the RAMsinks.....
Tonight I'll test them for air cooled temps, then install the waterblocks and start benching.
I don't know if I'll start flashing the BIOS yet for more voltage or not.....I'm going straight for the max BIOS allowed voltage right at first though (what is it, 1.21V or so?)
 

ViciousXUSMC

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
117 (0.03/day)
System Name Vicious's Rig
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6ghz @ 1.4v (Windows)
Motherboard Asus P5Q Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extrme with S-Scyth fan
Memory 2x2gb Mushkin DDR2 800
Video Card(s) 2x Visiontek 4850 @ 675/1000
Storage 2x 640gb Western Digital
Display(s) 37" Westinghouse LVM37-W3
Case Antec P182 Special Edition
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Silencer
Software Windows Vista x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18,582
1.2v is the max somebody read like 1.21v but thats within margin for error. You can put 1.8v if you want it will just give you the max of 1.2
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,358 (0.51/day)
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 2x8GB GSkill Trident Z RGB 3600MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 250GB Samsung 840 EVO - 1TB Intel 660p
Display(s) Samsung 27" 144hz Curved 1440P - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case InWin A1+
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Steinburg UR44
Power Supply InWin 650w
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB LUX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
would I be able to hit 750 on 1.2v?
You may, depends on if you have a great card or not. The best ones will do 750 on 1.2v, the rest will settle at around 710-725MHz. Mine will boot at 750 on 1.2v, but artifacts after about 2-3 minutes.

Also, most people read 1.21v after the bios flash...Just all depends on your card.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
Well looks like I'm stable at 750/1125 @ 1.20V. I tried 775 and it was a no go.
When I get my RAMsinks on Monday I'll try for higher memory clocks.
 

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850 512MB

Core clock - 850MHz - 1392mV
Mem clock - 1200MHz - 2011mV

It's cooled with AC Accelero S1 and AC AF12025 fan. With ATITool it hits 59 °C and is rock stable :)

 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,189 (0.71/day)
Location
CA, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel 8086K
Motherboard Gigabyte z390m
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 AMP for now
Storage 280GB Optane 900P U.2 SSD + 4TB PCIe NVMe SSD
Display(s) BenQ 32" 4K monitor + Nixeus 27" IPS 1440p 144Hz
Case Silverstone Temjin TJ08B-E
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- Presonus Eris E5 w/ 2x JL Audio 10w0v3 Sealed --- JBL 4412
Power Supply EVGA 850W plat
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard Gigabyte K83
Software Win 10 Pro x64
900+ soon!

 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,109 (0.27/day)
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
I feel lame compared to you guys. I'm running stock.

Card: VisionTek 4850
Clock: 690
Mem: 1178
Fan: %100

I got tried of it overheating so I'm going performance over quietness. I got 4 fans in the case so it ain't much louder. I'm not sure about the pencil mods and stuff you guys do, but how much of a difference is in how I'm OC'ed and how you modded guys are set?
 
Last edited:

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1

LifeOnMars

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.61/day)
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
I have mine at 740/1150 stable(3hrs of Crysis and 4 hours of Call Of Duty 4)which is nice considering its only at 1.2v and only cost me 117 quid on ebuyer. As I'm new to all this computing malarkey, would I be able to crossfire this with a hd4870 and how would that work out performance wise...ie what resolution with games at the max would that allow me? Thanks for the advice.
 

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
I have mine at 740/1150 stable(3hrs of Crysis and 4 hours of Call Of Duty 4)which is nice considering its only at 1.2v and only cost me 117 quid on ebuyer. As I'm new to all this computing malarkey, would I be able to crossfire this with a hd4870 and how would that work out performance wise...ie what resolution with games at the max would that allow me? Thanks for the advice.
Yes, it is possible to CrossFire HD4850 with HD4870. Performance should be a bit higher than two HD4850s in CrossFire.
 

Jansku07

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
171 (0.04/day)
Location
Finland
Processor 4000X2 @ 2,1Ghz w/ AC Freezer
Motherboard MSI K9AGM3-FD
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 3650 w/ 256MB GDDR3
Storage WD 320GB - 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL m991 /1024x768/ 85hz
Case resonating metal case
Power Supply FSP 350W -> 16A@12V
Software Vista Home Premium x86 SP2 FIN
Benchmark Scores oh noeees.
@ Champ: Visiontek's HD4850s are bad core overclockers, but they usually have good memory (source: xtremesystems forum users). So you're not lame, but the card's manufacturer kinda is. :)
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,189 (0.71/day)
Location
CA, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel 8086K
Motherboard Gigabyte z390m
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 AMP for now
Storage 280GB Optane 900P U.2 SSD + 4TB PCIe NVMe SSD
Display(s) BenQ 32" 4K monitor + Nixeus 27" IPS 1440p 144Hz
Case Silverstone Temjin TJ08B-E
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- Presonus Eris E5 w/ 2x JL Audio 10w0v3 Sealed --- JBL 4412
Power Supply EVGA 850W plat
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard Gigabyte K83
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Last edited:

LifeOnMars

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.61/day)
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
hoorray, now at 790/1180 with the pencil mod and am now more than happy with that at my low 1280x1024 res, gaming is a breeze :)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,109 (0.27/day)
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
@ Champ: Visiontek's HD4850s are bad core overclockers, but they usually have good memory (source: xtremesystems forum users). So you're not lame, but the card's manufacturer kinda is. :)
I feel that much better:shadedshu I guess this it how Visiontek wanted it.
 
Top