• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Ati 4850 Problem

Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey, im new, first post and i have a problem

ok, my rig is in the below sig.

now i have a gainward 4850, its been flashed with a asus bios by the previous owner and as far as im aware the card works ok, i ran ati tool and furmark and no artefacts found.


i had a Zotac 8800GT 512mb before this but the 4850 is performing worse than the 8800GT.

I have been playing games like counterstrike and have been getting lags with everything on max. Before i would get over 100FPS with everything maxed, now its only about 80 with lag. Also on Crysis, on the 8800GT i would get 25FPS on everything V.H but with the 4850 its 22 and lower in some cases. GTA4 i would get 30FPS on high settings now its only 22 with the 4850.

here are some screen shots

GPU-Z



CPU-z stuff












also my 3dmark06 score, which is rubbish, right click on image and view







finally my 3dmark vantage score, the below score is mine







i came across this link which someone having a Q6600 and a 4850 at stock, here are his scores



http://www.soonet.ca/showthread.php?t=19754






as you can see, my 3dmark vantage GPU scores are worse than the random above users.



what could be the problem???
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.34/day)
Likes
305
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
#3
Yeah you might have some residual display driver settings hindering you.
As above.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
218 (0.07/day)
Likes
39
System Name WTF?!.... Oh u bastard!
Processor I5 2500k
Motherboard Asus p8p67 pro
Cooling Water
Memory 8GB Ripjawx
Video Card(s) MSI 5870
Storage 60gb vertex 2e 2*1gb samsung f3 IN RAID 0, 1TB WD Caviar Black, 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Case Cooler Master ATCS 840
Power Supply 650W Be Quiet Dark Power PRO
Software 7 64bit
#4
watch out with driversweeper and ati, screwed me up and i needed to system restore to get my 4870 working again.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
i have run driver sweeper to remove all nvidia drivers yet this problem occurs. should i remove all ati drivers, run driver sweaper and reinstall 9.3???
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
the bastard gainward twats said they don't support second hand cards.

so i will flash the card with the above bios.


so whats the easiest and safest way of flashing the bios?? i have never done such a thing mind you
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.92/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#10
I always just use ATIWinflash and flash it though Windows but some people get errors in Vista then they do that.

If you download Winflash you can use the command line to force the flash.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.92/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#12
Well

a) download winflash.. and extract it to a folder.

b) open Winflash

c) load BIOS image

d) click "Program" to flash the BIOS.

e) PRAY it works and your system doesnt crash while it's flashing.

If Winflash gives an error saying something like "BIOS mismatch" you can try forcing the flash via the command prompt. I've always had success with the windows based flasing but other haven't.

http://www.overclock.net/ati/300584-unlocking-3870-bios-2.html#post3480713 said:
1. Download Atiwinflash 2.0.0.2
2. Download a bios that is compatible with your card (mvktech.net or techpowerup.com/bios)
3. Open the command prompt (Start->Run->cmd) *
4. Navigate to the directory where both ATiwinflash and the bios file exist.
4. Backup your original bios by typing atiwinflash -b oldbios.bin
5. Now flash with the new bios by typing atiwinflash -f -p 0 biosname.bin

It will sit for about 5 minutes, and appear to do nothing. Suddenly a dialog box will appear saying that it is successful and windows must restart. WARNING: your drivers will most likely not work after the flash. It is recommended to restart, use driver cleaner, then restart again and install drivers.
* In Vista you will need to do this (Start->Run->Type CMD and press Shift + Enter to run CMD as Administrator. Or you can make a shortcut CMD and right click to "run as admin" but this is faster.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#13
im struggling to get to the directory of winflash and the bios. its in a folder on the desktop, i typed the path in command promt and it says not recognised
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#19
no the "??" was me questioning the fact that this didnt work for you when it should :eek:


does "cd Desktop" work?
yes, so does cd biosflash, its just when i try to select the file it doesn't work

also, do you know what the stock voltage of the 4850 is??
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.92/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#20
the voltage varies depending on the power state. 1.28v is the highest you can get from the stock 4850 I believe.

did you try the windows based flash before trying though cmd?
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#21
i tried flashing the card using RBE, there is a option in there to select a bios, tweak it and use winflash to flash. i did so and left the cmputer on for 1H and 15M and it still didn't finish flashing. i switched the computer off and restarted, checked GPU-Z and not flashed. seems to have caused no issues.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#23
nope, kept getting the mismatch error, i couldn't figure how to use command prompt either.

any other easy way to flash?
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#25
lol, i posted my graphics card to someone in the U.K a few weeks back, cost me £11/$20.

the U.K laws changed so its now the price if judges via weight rather than size