• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ATI 4890 choppy gameplay despite high fps in win7

vlajko80

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#1
System is a custom built, with all new components.
CPU: Phenom II X4 955, Rev C3
MB: Asus m4a79xtd evo - 790x Chipset
RAM: 2 modules, Kingston KHX1600C9D3BK2/4G 4GB DDR3-1600Mhz
PSU: Lc-power 600 w
GPU: PowerC Ati radeon 4890 1gb ddr5

So the problem appeared when I installed win7 64bit. No problem what so ever on XP.

The games runes about (50-100) fps depends on the game, with apsolutly no lag but accompanied by some a kind of jerky motion. Some kind of frame problem. Relay i don't know how to describe it.I tried to reinstalled (formatted) the whole system. fresh drivers for the motherboard and graphics and still nothing.Updated my bios. Tried win7 32bit to. But when i downgrade to Xp, problem simply disappears. Does anyone know what the problem is and how to solve it? ...i don't want to return to Xp again :)

The strangest thing...when i play battlefield bad company 2 i have around 70-100fps and choppy gameplay. but when i run some background process like fraps ( movie capturing with f9 -function on ) that lower frame rate in game , problem disappear . How strange is that ??
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
205 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
System Name my pc
Processor i5 2500k 5.2ghz @ 1.47v
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling XSPC Rasa RS360. Adding an RX240 soon
Memory 8GB XMS 3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 580 SLI 1ghz
Storage Western Digital 320gb Blue Caviar Raid 0
Display(s) Acer 23 H233H
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard :(
Power Supply Antec TruePower Quattro 1200w
Software Windows Vista Business 64bit
Benchmark Scores 49.6k Vantage
#2
You in the 10.3 drivers? I have it and I noticed more FPS in games but more choppy
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#3
Mess with your Catalyst A.I., some claim turning it off or to Hi/Max helps out with that. And what drivers are you running? No such issues on 10.2's for me, I run very smooth in BC2 and all other games, but I am on a newer gpu. But at those frames you're running, could be a few different things. Could be superfetch or similar, but I generally leave those on because they seem to pay back in the long term, albiet a little annoying on a fresh install, I can't recall it causing hitching issues while gaming.

Have you tweaked with CCC? What settings are you running in your games, most notably BC2? Do you notice it worse with features like AA and AF cranked up? Have you tried vsync? I'm kind of curious to find out what the situation is for ya, and hopefully we can keep you on 7 x64, it's worth it imo. Also, welcome to TPU!

:toast:
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
381 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Location
Lost in space
System Name Geting old
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 Processor BE 3.8 Ghz
Motherboard MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL.. MS-7388 1.0
Cooling CORSAIR H50 water cooler
Memory 8 GB of Patriot Extreme Performance DDR2 4GB (2 x 2GB)PC2-6400 Enhanced Latency
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1 TB
Display(s) LG FLATRON W2361V 23"
Case RAIDMAX SMILODON
Audio Device(s) HD Realtek
Power Supply Two 1000W ULTRA X3 wired together
Mouse Logitech G9x Laser
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB
Software Windows 10 pro

TVman

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
308 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Processor E8400 3.6 ghz
Memory 4 GB
Video Card(s) HD4850 512 MB
Storage 250 GB
Software win 7 64bit
#5
turn on vsync and problem solved:rolleyes:
 

vlajko80

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#6
Mess with your Catalyst A.I., some claim turning it off or to Hi/Max helps out with that. And what drivers are you running? No such issues on 10.2's for me, I run very smooth in BC2 and all other games, but I am on a newer gpu. But at those frames you're running, could be a few different things. Could be superfetch or similar, but I generally leave those on because they seem to pay back in the long term, albiet a little annoying on a fresh install, I can't recall it causing hitching issues while gaming.

Have you tweaked with CCC? What settings are you running in your games, most notably BC2? Do you notice it worse with features like AA and AF cranked up? Have you tried vsync? I'm kind of curious to find out what the situation is for ya, and hopefully we can keep you on 7 x64, it's worth it imo. Also, welcome to TPU!

:toast:
Yes i tried all kind of combination in CCC. The most reasonable is to everything to Appctr.
I tried turning on/off AA AAA AF Vsync ..etc. On xp everything works normal. Man i so desperate. Tried tuning/flasing Mboard BIOS. Tried every possible catayist driver.New drivers for mother board. I even tried to instal win7 32 bit.
But, for example when i dissable ACPI 2.0 and ACPI APIC in BIOS i get lover frame rate in games, but no choppy movement. There is something with power management between ATi/ASSUS/WIN7 and i dont know what. I tried to set power scheme in win7 to performances. I tried disabling enabling cool'n'quiet in Bios.
But the weirdest thing to me is that in xp everything is ok. If not, i would say, ok the card is defective and i would have here replaced.

To be honest, when I use XP, games like Battlefield BC2 works normal (no choppy mvm) with the new Catalyst drivers (10.2)... But the games such as GTA4 lags horribly. I solved THAT problem in XP (with GTA4), by rolling back to older version of catalyst. And with that older version every game works just fine, with high frame rates and no lag ...and without this kind of problem that i have on win7. On the other hand in win7 i have new catalyst driver no lags in games, high frame rates but i have this strange motion problems like missing frames or something ( its like "teleport" effect, when you are going forward ), overlapping frames.. F-ING CHOPPY MOVEMENT.and all of that at frame rate of 80?:(
Its wherry weird and i cant determine the cause of that ?:(

I cant believe that any body on this wold don't have this problem.I wrote on:

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/283171-15-4890-strange-problem-win7#t2094506
http://www.sevenforums.com/graphic-cards/69354-4890-ati-strange-problem-win7.html
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=260&threadid=129326&enterthread=y
http://www.rage3d.com/BOARD/forumdisplay.php?f=69

......and many others.
Any way, thank you all for advices....and thank you for welcoming me :)

P.S some people think that my ps (lac power 600w) may be the problem ?
 
Last edited:

Saakki

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
301 (0.08/day)
Likes
24
Location
Finland
System Name JGG
Processor Q6600 @ 3,4ghz
Motherboard Rampage Formula
Cooling Xigmatek, Nexus
Memory 1100 mhz Pi
Video Card(s) 6950 + Accelero Xtreme Plus
Storage 1tb+1tb
Display(s) Acer 19" LCD 5ms + 17 " Hitachi
Case Fractal Design Define R2
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply XFX Core 650
Software Win 7 ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Q6600 @ 3.5 ghz + and 6950 @ 6970 +
#7
I had some problems with Crysis..FPS was up but had some chopping around ..dunno might be the shitty crysis also..didnt experience anything like that in Stalker 3 and WoW so i think its the Crysis only ( I havent patched it from 1.0 version..) Im running 10.2 ..im considering trying 10.3 with 4890..oh and your PSU should not be problem with as it has DC Output +3.3V @ 24A, +5V @ 24A, +12V @ 17A, +12V (2nd) @ 18A . Im running smooth on 500w Antec Earthwatts and my friend ran 4890 with 450 w psu..good advices in above posts.
 

Saakki

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
301 (0.08/day)
Likes
24
Location
Finland
System Name JGG
Processor Q6600 @ 3,4ghz
Motherboard Rampage Formula
Cooling Xigmatek, Nexus
Memory 1100 mhz Pi
Video Card(s) 6950 + Accelero Xtreme Plus
Storage 1tb+1tb
Display(s) Acer 19" LCD 5ms + 17 " Hitachi
Case Fractal Design Define R2
Audio Device(s) X-FI
Power Supply XFX Core 650
Software Win 7 ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Q6600 @ 3.5 ghz + and 6950 @ 6970 +
#9
According to me you dont have to have 700 w. I have 500 w Earthwatts and Im running smooth OCd Q6600, 4 gb ddr2, 4890 , DFI BloodIron , DVD-drive , 2 x HDD etc..so no ..its not your PSU..and those calculators have allways upscaled results imo.
 

vlajko80

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#10
According to me you dont have to have 700 w. I have 500 w Earthwatts and Im running smooth OCd Q6600, 4 gb ddr2, 4890 , DFI BloodIron , DVD-drive , 2 x HDD etc..so no ..its not your PSU..and those calculators have allways upscaled results imo.
my mitake sorry ...its 350w
 

vlajko80

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#11
But I dont understand ..if lower frame rate, everything is ok (usig fraps movie capturing with f9 -function on ). And with out it i have high frame rate and choppiness?
wtf dudes ?:\
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#12
But I dont understand ..if lower frame rate, everything is ok (usig fraps movie capturing with f9 -function on ). And with out it i have high frame rate and choppiness?
wtf dudes ?:\
It is simply because you monitor cannot keep up with the higher frame rates ;)
You are not running CF so I assume this is the case.
 

vlajko80

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#13
It is simply because you monitor cannot keep up with the higher frame rates ;)
You are not running CF so I assume this is the case.
so what do you suggest, that i should buy a new monitor ? l:/
how come that in xp i dont have these problems ?
man, this problem is overcoming me!
btw, i have samsung syncmaster 2043nw
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#14
so what do you suggest, that i should buy a new monitor ? l:/
how come that in xp i dont have these problems ?
man, this problem is overcoming me!
btw, i have samsung syncmaster 2043nw
Because games like BF: BC2 has broken vsync in DX10 and 11 mode :shadedshu
It works fine under DX9 mode which is the only thing XP can do.

The tearing in BF:BC2 is at worst when you fire fully automatic, the flash just goes all over the place.
 

vlajko80

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#15
Because games like BF: BC2 has broken vsync in DX10 and 11 mode :shadedshu
It works fine under DX9 mode which is the only thing XP can do.

The tearing in BF:BC2 is at worst when you fire fully automatic, the flash just goes all over the place.
Yeah, but i have this prob. in every game i install :(
but i dont sea that other people have this kind of problem using ati graphics and win7os?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#16
Yeah, but i have this prob. in every game i install :(
but i dont sea that other people have this kind of problem using ati graphics and win7os?
In the other games you need to turn on vsync.
Screen tearing with high FPS don't really have much to do drivers, it is just a natural thing.

You really can't see anything more than 60FPS on your monitor,
so when the game runs at 100FPS you get a picture that is a few frames mixed together.
This is the "normal" reason that it looks like shit.
Turning on Vertical Sync locks the FPS to the monitors refresh rate (60Hz), therefore solves this problem.

Edit: To make it simple, if vsync works turn it on. (quite a few games have buggy vsync in DX10)
If it doesn't work then you must some how lower the FPS. ex. Turn on 8x AA or something.
 
Last edited:

vlajko80

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#17
It is simply because you monitor cannot keep up with the higher frame rates ;)
You are not running CF so I assume this is the case.
thank you for the advice. i will look into it:)
but i still dont understand. When i am in xp, and when playing bf bc2 , i have about 90fps
and no problem with it ?
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.55/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#18
1. Try a different video driver version.

2. Play with these settings:

 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#19
thank you for the advice. i will look into it:)
but i still dont understand. When i am in xp, and when playing bf bc2 , i have about 90fps
and no problem with it ?
Not sure on that, DX9 uses a different code path vs DX10/11.
So you can say they are pretty much 2 different games in terms of that. :twitch:
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.55/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#22
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#23
Make sure you grab the DX web update also.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...38-DB71-4C1B-BC6A-9B6652CD92A3&displaylang=en

omg, it looks like i am going back to xp :banghead:
For BF:BC2 you can go to the settings.ini in My Doc. and force the game to run in DX9 if you wish also.

Code:
[WindowSettings]
Width=1920
Height=1080
Fullscreen=true
RefreshRate=60
VSync=true
[Sound]
Quality=medium
VoipEnable=true
SpeakerCount=0
[Graphics]
Effects=high
Soldiers=high
Vehicles=high
Overgrowth=high
Undergrowth=high
StaticObjects=high
Terrain=high
Shadows=high
Bloom=true
HSAO=true
MSAA=3
Water=high
MainQuality=custom
Texture=high
DxVersion=auto [B]<= change this to 9[/B]
Aniso=4
Detail=high
RenderAheadLimit=2
Fov=55
Edit: Have you try updating / using older drivers?
You can also uninstall the drivers and use the 10.2 Hotfix drivers
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#24
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#25
Thing is I use Win7 and had a 4890 and it was smooth as butter.
+1
The Vista / Win 7 drivers are by far better than the XP drivers.
My brother with his 4850 is good because his rig can't push out 70+ FPS (and he has a 75Hz monitor) :laugh: