• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ATi 5770 Overclocking?

Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.60/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
#1
I'm wondering what solution the guys who HAVE NOT flashed their bios have been using to overclock their card past the CCC limits (960/1445).

My card hit those limits without even flinching, and I know I can use AMD Gpu Tool to clock up, but then I lose fan speed control. I've installed Rivatuner 2.24c, but it appears my card is not supported because I can't do any tweaking in there like normal.

Is there a version that IS supporting the 5770's or not yet? If not, then without bios flashing what other options are there that will still allow for fan control?

Thanks :toast:

Kei
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.64/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#2
Mine won't go past 930/1440 without my drivers crashing.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
Have you tried MSI Afterburner? It works for both my cards, not sure if it will work with the 57xx series though.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#4
Afterburner won't let me go past 960/1440 either. Maybe a combo package for fan control?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.60/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
#5
Have you tried MSI Afterburner? It works for both my cards, not sure if it will work with the 57xx series though.
Yep, sadly it won't let me go any further than CCC will. So far I've tried AMD Gpu tool, MSI Afterburner, RivaTuner (no support yet it seems), and of course CCC. That's all I can remember so far so I'm not sure if there is anything left out there?

I'm not really interested in making a boot disk and flashing the bios at this time, just hoping there is something out there or at least in the pipeline that can help me out. I'm surprised that RivaTuner doesn't seem to support my card yet.

Kei
 

jimmyz

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
32
Location
Indiana
System Name Black ice
Processor QX 9650 @ 5ghz @ 1.55v
Motherboard DFI X-38 T2R
Cooling jinu ss in v-2000b+2
Memory crucial ballistix tracer ddr2 1066 asynch 4-4-4-5
Video Card(s) 2 x Radeon 4850 voltmodded watercooled
Storage 4x seagate 250gb in RAID 0
Display(s) 24" SOYO LCD 1920x1200
Case vapoli v2000b+2 (lian-li)
Audio Device(s) onboard karjan audio
Power Supply pc power & cooling silencer 750 Quad
Software windows mce 2005 (xp pro basically) dual boot w/ Vista Home premium.
#6
Yep, sadly it won't let me go any further than CCC will. So far I've tried AMD Gpu tool, MSI Afterburner, RivaTuner (no support yet it seems), and of course CCC. That's all I can remember so far so I'm not sure if there is anything left out there?

I'm not really interested in making a boot disk and flashing the bios at this time, just hoping there is something out there or at least in the pipeline that can help me out. I'm surprised that RivaTuner doesn't seem to support my card yet.

Kei
Use MSI afterburner and open the config file with notepad, in the config change Unofficial overclocking value from 0 to 1 then close and save. It will now overclock as high as needed.:rockout:
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.60/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
#7
jimmyz......i love you :D

Kei
 
T

TAViX

Guest
#8
To go over 960 for GPU, flash the ASUS bios. Then you have unlocked both the GPU and the voltage. I'm running now my Vapor-X 5770 with 1010Mhz for GPU@1237mV and 1300 RAM. I was curious if some other guys manage to push the GPU further and with what voltage. tnks.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.60/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
#9
You don't have to flash your card in order to get above those clocks, we have been using MSI Afterburner instead and just editing a simple line in the config file which allows us to unlock everything. :)

On my card the highest I got to before I stopped testing was 1025Mhz core @ 1.20v and 1445Mhz memory both stable tested with Furmark (30 mins), games (hours), and daily usage.

I didn't see much reason to go very high above those clocks since it would require more voltage likely and create needless heat so I settled down instead at the 1000Mhz 1.15v and 1400Mhz ram.

Kei
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
350 (0.12/day)
Likes
46
Location
Westminster, B.C
System Name Asus G60vx
Processor Intel P7450 @ 2.666 MHz (setfsb)
Motherboard Intel PM45 Rev 07 + ICH9-M Rev 03
Cooling Stock
Memory Hyundai DDR2 800 @ 1000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX260 1024MB 256-bit
Storage 250GB SATA 2 (5400rpm) *time to upgrade*
Display(s) 1366x768 @ 90hz
Case Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Stock
Software Windows 7 SP1 64-bit
#10
yeah you don't have to flash to use MSI afterburner but I still did anyway just incase one day down the road when Rivatuner will have native support (without editing) for 5770. So far I'm 1020mhz @ 1.275v on stock cooler

http://www.overclock.net/8034247-post90.html
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#11
I did 925/1330 stable with MSI afterburner but i didn't try higher , maybe i can reach the 1 ghz?

BTW: Got an Sapphire 5750 Vapor-x
 

Phatcap

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Hey! i just finished clocking my i7 920 2.66ghz. Found a good stable level 3.8ghz @ 1.25v didnt know it was that clockable :) but i didnt manage to get my ddr3 running in 2000mhz, only 1523mhz.
So now im about to get my XFX 5770 clocked. I have scanned forums for hours now and realized that using msi afterburner and edit the config is the way to go if you want to be able to manage the clocking with one program.

My XFX 5770 has an idle temp of 33c and i find that pretty nice, i have been trying to clock and i think i could use a little more voltage because i se small blips/glitches in the graphic benchmark before it goes black :) any ideas?

It would be nice to find some good results and settings from others. Also im trying to find the highest voltages the cards can handle.

Ill post any success finding info or with my own clocking
 

Phatcap

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
Ok ive done some testing today on my single XFX 5770 LITE, and here it goes!

Hardware
Binary: Windows 32bit Visual C++ 1500 Release Oct 22 2009
Operating system: Windows 7 (build 7600) 64bit
CPU model: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
CPU flags: 3799MHz MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE41 SSE42 HTT
GPU model: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series 8.681.0.0 1024Mb
RAM: 6GB DDR3 PC16000 2000mhz running at 1523mhz
Benchmark program
Unigine
Heaven Demo v1.0

Settings
Render: direct3d11
Mode: 1680x1050 windowed
Shaders: high
Textures: high
Filter: trilinear
Anisotropy: 4x
Occlusion: enabled
Refraction: enabled
Volumetric: enabled

TEST Before
1125mV
gpu clock 850mhz
mem clock 1200mhz

Result
FPS: 25.6
Scores: 645

TEST After i think its stable, no errors yet :toast:

1274mV
gpu clock 1030
mem clock 1300
fan auto

Result
FPS: 29.8
Scores: 751

Gpu on max load - 72 degrees celsius with a fan rate of 45%


I wanted to push it more but MSI Afterburner didnt let me set the voltages to 1280mV, it auto lowered it to 1274mV when i tried? maybe a good thing :wtf:
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.64/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#14
Someone teach me how to edit the config file... :( I can tweak the voltage using MSI Afterburner but can't go past CCC with my XFX card.

Edit: Never mind, I got it. :D
 

Phatcap

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
In the msi afterburner folder you will find MSIAfterburner.cfg, open it and change the value EnableUnofficialOverclocking = 1

save as and save it over the old file, that worked for me and then your ready to go :)