1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI 5850 Bad BIOS Flash (ATIflash no adapter found)

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by unknown26man, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    pdf page 2 pin outs compare to picture in first post pdf see if you get it :twitch:
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. unknown26man New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    you mean you hook up vcc to ce#

    So it works the exact same way

    When ATIFlash detects it when I've soldered them together do i then rip off the solder cable and the proceed with flash command or do i just keep the solder wire all the way through until bios is back up and running
     
  3. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    :toast: pretty easy :) now how good are you with a iron?? too much hear will :wtf: the chip
    if you have some dead boards around pratice
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    "Before starting the flashing process I wiggled on
    the cable and the pin 8 connection did come off and the chip could be accessed by the flashing program."
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. unknown26man New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Dw i know someone really good at the soldering iron. Before I touch the card myself ill pratice on a old USB
     
  6. unknown26man New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok im ready to go then. It's 1.14am in my country right now so ill prob get about around 10am and start ironing. Ill let you know how it turns out thanks a lot for your help
     
  7. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    I use wire from an old IDE cable that has the ends per tinned with soder a good 5-10 watt iron all is needed is a touch to get it to hold to the pins & will pull off easy GOOD lick
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. unknown26man New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I Fixed it bro

    I didnt even solder at all. I grabbed my 0.1mm 15m solder which i got for $1 on ebay. Then i put it through the pin leg then wrapped it round and i spun both sides together making sure it sticks up and doesnt touch any other parts. I then put it in my pc. ATI Flash found it. So I simply typed in the force flash command and then ripped my weakly wrapped cable off the bios chip and then flashed it via atitool dos. And guess what it worked like a charm.

    Thankyou so much for your help i couldnt of done it without you. Thankyou for all of your support. Within 2 days my video card is back up and running from a bricked state.
     
  9. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    :slap::slap:

    GLAD YOU GOT IT Next time :slap: don't be a NOB:D:laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. unknown26man New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I sent you a pm about a SSD Vertex 2 OCZ which is bricked because of a firmware bug from windows going to sleep
     
  11. unknown26man New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    would you know how to flash a ssd thanks
     
  12. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    IF that's a big IF it's the eeprom you can try to reprogram it with the same method ,But prob won't work, you really need to remove the chip & use a programer.
    with those ssd,s it could also be the sandforce chip =SOL
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. unknown26man New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  14. unknown26man New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is just a bug that happened when windows woke up from sleep so maybe you could do a hard reset on the chip by wiring it somehow giving the SSD into a function state. Never know until you test it.


    Temperature Chip information
    P04SH
    Y8Z8
    F9910
     
  15. unknown26man New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  16. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. unknown26man New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah i gave that a go about a month ago but it still didnt work. cause bios cant even detect
     
  18. anush3070 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hey I Cant get it working HELP.

    Hey I tried the same steps My SPI is Pm25LV512.
    Graphic Card is POWERCOLOR RADEON HD 5450 1GB DDR3 Graphics Card.
    It does not boot with it, so I am using Integrated Graphics.
    But When I tried that technique of connecting 1 and 8 point of the SPI, it still does not get detected in the ATIFLASH UTILITY. I tried atiflash utility from Dos and from Windows 7 DOS (BOTH) still cant get it working. Please HELP.
     
  19. Corgo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What am I doing wrong

    Hello!

    Could you please help me with flashing a Force3D 5850 please.
    1. I could link the two legs of the PM25LV010.
    2. Booting to DOS with uSB stick
    3. Atiflash can see the card (see attached pic)
    4. breaking the link
    5. atiflash is not seeing the card anymore... flashing does not even start...


    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    From the looks of your pic you have the card in your primary vid slot, yes??
    you need to have it in vid slot 2
    you will need to boot the rig from another card as the main output. then run atiflash _ai if it can 'see' the card {without the pin mod} you might be able to flash it with the -f -p command , but most likely not you will prob have to do the mod
    AS you can see from the pic[ins] your bios on the card is missing lots of data ie SSID, it also has the wrong romsize ect.
    I will try to help if you need more

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Corgo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks Frogger!

    So I am using an old S3 trio card in the PCI slot.

    I have the bricked 5850 in PCIe Slot No. 2!
    If I do not do the mod, atiflash does not see the card.
    If I link the Pin1 and Pin8 of the chip, It can see the card... obvious with a bad rom flashed into it.
    So now, how to move on? Because when I break the link , atiflash will stop recognising the card.

    should I link PIn 3 to Pin8 instead?
     
  22. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    you might be right with the pin 3 Write protect
    "Separate write enable and write disable instructions are provided for additional
    data protection. Hardware data protection is provided via the WP pin to protect against inadvertent write attemptsto the status register."

    if you connect 8&3 can aitflash 'see' the card to flash it?
    If so I would leave the mod in place & try the flash if the reprogram is good you could remove the mod after the flash

    if with the 8&3 mod you can't see the card you might have to do it three way 8+1+3 if you can then see the card you can try to:
    1 break the soder at the pin 1 & see if you can still access the card to flash
    OR
    2 leave all 3 pins connected and try to flash
    myself I would try 1 first
    can you fill in your system specs [CP user] top of page .So I can sse your whole rig
    Welcome to TECHPOWERUP!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Corgo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Pin3-8 were doing the job!

    Thanks! My card works again ...

    A friend of mine were happy to see my success, and Gave me his Powercolor 5850 pcs+ to repair.

    I checked the bios is OK, but the card does not POST... any idea?
     
  24. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    glad to help :toast:
    re: powercolor any info on how it went bad?
    ie: overclocked to high , got dropped:eek: ect.....or just stopped working LMK
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Corgo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It was simply being used, but one day it did not start .. NO POST, no beep, nothing...
    it is doing the same in my pc too...


    No overclocking, but it is an OC card by the manufacturer you know...
    Powercolor 5850 pcs+

    One interesting thing I saw... there are white dots on the backside of the card...is it sign of overheat ... unfortunately it is over the 2 years of warranty period... no rma possible
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)