• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ATI 6950 to 6970 Driver Recovery issue

Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.38/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#1
Anyone been running into the ATI Driver recovery after a flash? Reinstalled the driver and ran DriverSweep to clear everything out. Tried both 10.12a and 10.12.

Mine seems to be only on some games. And doesn't fail when running Furmark or Heaven. But crash's on Sup Com 2/Trine, and a couple other games.

Standard 6970 Clocks at: 880/1375 and running at 12% Power.
Using TRIXX for the custom fan speeds.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,675 (0.36/day)
Likes
149
Location
Minneapolis, Mn
System Name Livingston
Processor i7-4960HQ
Motherboard macbook prp retina
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS Monsta (240mm x 120mm x 80mm)
Memory 16Gb
Video Card(s) Zotac Arctic Storm Nvidia 980ti
Display(s) 1x Acer XB270HU, 1x Catleap, 1x Oculus
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/770087
#2
What are you temps?
On first guess I would guess your card wan'ts more juice than average.

SonDoobious's needed better cooling.
nm, I raised my fan speed to 60% because I was crashing on auto, now it works fine, although a little noisy.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.38/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#3
Temps are average at about 70-80c depending on my room temp. Fan's set to increase as it goes, but this happens pretty much 2-3min of playing.

Yet other games work fine. Fallout 3 NV - Plays for hours on end, no issues.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,675 (0.36/day)
Likes
149
Location
Minneapolis, Mn
System Name Livingston
Processor i7-4960HQ
Motherboard macbook prp retina
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS Monsta (240mm x 120mm x 80mm)
Memory 16Gb
Video Card(s) Zotac Arctic Storm Nvidia 980ti
Display(s) 1x Acer XB270HU, 1x Catleap, 1x Oculus
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/770087
#4
Your temps sound good enough to me, I would try upping your voltage. That is my only suggestion, my 6950 does not get here for a few days (I ordered it last night) so I don't have much hands on experience with a flashed 6 series..

Good luck!
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.38/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#5
Your temps sound good enough to me, I would try upping your voltage. That is my only suggestion, my 6950 does not get here for a few days (I ordered it last night) so I don't have much hands on experience with a flashed 6 series..

Good luck!
Thats the one thing I can't do is up the volts. The bar isn't adjustable in TRIXX. Set at the default 1.175
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,675 (0.36/day)
Likes
149
Location
Minneapolis, Mn
System Name Livingston
Processor i7-4960HQ
Motherboard macbook prp retina
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS Monsta (240mm x 120mm x 80mm)
Memory 16Gb
Video Card(s) Zotac Arctic Storm Nvidia 980ti
Display(s) 1x Acer XB270HU, 1x Catleap, 1x Oculus
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/770087
#6
Thats the one thing I can't do is up the volts. The bar isn't adjustable in TRIXX. Set at the default 1.175
I believe you can modify the bios to do that.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
282 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 945
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
Memory 6gb DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6870
Storage Seagate 1tb
Display(s) Acer AL2216W
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Ultra LS-550
#7
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.38/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#8

lollyhayes

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Hi mate,
Same issues, unlocked 6950 to 6970. stable a +20% 930mhz and 1375mhz in furmark, Unigine, BFBC2... Crashes after about 1 hour of Supreme Commander2...
Running these under water, max temp after 1 hour of furmark 1920x1200 x8 aa gave a max temp of 50 Centigrade...
Sounds to me like driver issues... Seems unlikely due to voltage as Furmark gives these cards a much harder and constant ragging than any game would (esp sup commander) which is more CPU limited I was told...
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.38/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#10
Hi mate,
Same issues, unlocked 6950 to 6970. stable a +20% 930mhz and 1375mhz in furmark, Unigine, BFBC2... Crashes after about 1 hour of Supreme Commander2...
Running these under water, max temp after 1 hour of furmark 1920x1200 x8 aa gave a max temp of 50 Centigrade...
Sounds to me like driver issues... Seems unlikely due to voltage as Furmark gives these cards a much harder and constant ragging than any game would (esp sup commander) which is more CPU limited I was told...
I finally got mine stable. Unable to OC but stable at 10% and 880/1375. Anything more push's it to crash in Sup Com 2 and Trine and who knows what else. Theres some new drivers coming out soon, hopefully they have those things tweaked enough.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,741 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#11
well have the issues of crashing is probably due to trying to overclock the damn things seriously just unlock the shaders leave the clocks at stock 6950 memory is rated at 1250 so your basically pushing 125mhz higher and this isnt desktop memory where u can change timings 9/10 the ram just cant cut it at those speeds then again ram speeds probably wont give you any major performance gains AMDs gpus have been ROP starved since the 5800 series not bandwidth starved. get the core as high as you can stable and leave ram at stock 6950 speeds. the difference between 1250mhz and 1375 is probably going to be no more then 1% maybe 2% at best. Also with 2gb of ram drawing power you can probably eek out slightly better power consumption with the ram at lower speeds since at least in my experience with dual monitors the cards ram always runs at 1375 on my 6970s and never drops down so lowering the ram speed will affect idle and load power draw with load probably being 15w or more difference but thats just a rough estimate.
 

smakked

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
System Name SPAZZ
Processor 2500k @ 4.5gig
Motherboard Gigabyte P67A-UD4
Cooling Coolermaster 212+
Memory 2 x 4 Gig Gskill Ripjaws
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX570 900/2000
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 120gig
Display(s) Samsung 2333SW
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Creative Xfi Extreme
Power Supply Corsair TX750w
Software Windows 7
#12
you have to remember that the 6950 was not a 6970 for a reason they failed at 6970 speeds and shader count, it is luck of the draw.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
231 (0.09/day)
Likes
24
System Name Vika
Processor Intel Core i3 2100
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Gen 3
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ X Radeon HD 7970 @ 1100/1550
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2453MH-LED 23.6in LED
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Antec HCG 620W
Software Windows 7 Premium 64bit
#13
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
282 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 945
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
Memory 6gb DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6870
Storage Seagate 1tb
Display(s) Acer AL2216W
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Ultra LS-550
#14
you have to remember that the 6950 was not a 6970 for a reason they failed at 6970 speeds and shader count, it is luck of the draw.
That might be true for some but obviously not all or else so many cards wouldn't successfully unlock from a simple firmware flash. ATi did the same thing when demand for the Radeon 9500 Non-Pro cards exceeded the supply of defective 9700 chips, they started using fully functional cores disabled through firmware. When demand for the X800GTO exceeded supply, they put the later X850 cores on some of them and disabled them through firmware. Now that the word is out that the 6950 is unlockable, I expect they will start laser cutting the cores to preserve their profit margins on the higher end parts.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
282 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 945
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
Memory 6gb DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6870
Storage Seagate 1tb
Display(s) Acer AL2216W
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Ultra LS-550
#15
like crazyeyesreaper suggested, perhaps its a memory problem, where some 6950s can't handle 6970 timings

I think you could find a solution browsing through this thread (may need to look deeper)
How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 695...
Most likely some of the AMD partners are using less expensive memory chips that don't overclock as well on the 6950 cards. I remember when my 9500 unlocked to a 9700 I was never able to get the memory clocks quite up to even stock 9700 levels let alone 9700 Pro because they were lower speed chips. I had to be happy with the unlocked pipes and a mild core overclock.