• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Ati 8.11 driver released

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#26
what do you mean by quality? most benchmarkers use default settings in PRESET i think....

btw did you flash your ATi 4870 through the DOS?
IT all depends on what you are flashing.....IMO

Yes you should do it in dos, but I have flashed lots of times in windows.....

If you want say more voltage. Then you need to do that in dos with -newbios

That will force the card to take more voltage. Say you just wanted to change the speed of the fan or clocks you can do that in windows.

What he is really telling you is that more can go wrong flashing in windows than in dos. There are more languages the machine has to talk down to before it can even flash your video card in windows, than there would be in dos mode.
 
Last edited:

Lester-

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name PRECRIPLED COMPUTER
Processor Q6700 2.66GHZ STOCK
Motherboard FACTORY HP
Cooling =[
Memory 6gb of factory HP
Video Card(s) 1 x Ati 4850 STOCK CLOCKS
Storage 700GB OF IDK
Display(s) 19inch HP LCD
Case HP...
Audio Device(s) REALTEK
Power Supply 550W BFG
Software =]
Benchmark Scores P7100+ VANTAGE
#27
No flash, I dont know how. Would it help? Point me in the direction to do it plz :)... And i meant the CCC controls. Not 3dmark controls.

haha I WISH I KNEW HOW TO FLASH THE BIOS!
i tried using this program called RADEON BIOS EDITOR but i heard it can kill the 4870's ..... not sure how but i read it on the page.. let me try to find that link bro
 

Lester-

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name PRECRIPLED COMPUTER
Processor Q6700 2.66GHZ STOCK
Motherboard FACTORY HP
Cooling =[
Memory 6gb of factory HP
Video Card(s) 1 x Ati 4850 STOCK CLOCKS
Storage 700GB OF IDK
Display(s) 19inch HP LCD
Case HP...
Audio Device(s) REALTEK
Power Supply 550W BFG
Software =]
Benchmark Scores P7100+ VANTAGE
#28
IT all depends on what you are flashing.....IMO

Yes you should do it in does, but I have flashed lots of times in windows.....

If you want say more voltage. Then you need to do that in dos with -newbios

That will force the card to take more voltage. Say you just wanted to change the speed of the fan or clocks you can do that in windows.

What he is really telling you is that more can go wrong flashing in windows than in dos. There are more languages the machine has to talk down to before it can even flash your video card in windows, than there would be in dos mode.

i have an ATI 4850 512mb visiontek but i dont know how to flash it through the DOS because im not sure if my motherboard allows me to have that kind of access because my computer is HP and all i did was have someone replace the videocard/power supply :( and it was done in BEST BUY :twitch:
 

Lester-

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name PRECRIPLED COMPUTER
Processor Q6700 2.66GHZ STOCK
Motherboard FACTORY HP
Cooling =[
Memory 6gb of factory HP
Video Card(s) 1 x Ati 4850 STOCK CLOCKS
Storage 700GB OF IDK
Display(s) 19inch HP LCD
Case HP...
Audio Device(s) REALTEK
Power Supply 550W BFG
Software =]
Benchmark Scores P7100+ VANTAGE
#29

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#30
Anyone can boot into dos.

Do you have a floppy drive?

If so go to my computer, right click on A:/ Format system disk

Then add the bios, and the flash program.

Boot the machine off the floppy drive.


You can also do this with a USB flash drive.
 

Lester-

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name PRECRIPLED COMPUTER
Processor Q6700 2.66GHZ STOCK
Motherboard FACTORY HP
Cooling =[
Memory 6gb of factory HP
Video Card(s) 1 x Ati 4850 STOCK CLOCKS
Storage 700GB OF IDK
Display(s) 19inch HP LCD
Case HP...
Audio Device(s) REALTEK
Power Supply 550W BFG
Software =]
Benchmark Scores P7100+ VANTAGE
#31
Anyone can boot into dos.

Do you have a floppy drive?

If so go to my computer, right click on A:/ Format system disk

Then add the bios, and the flash program.

Boot the machine off the floppy drive.


You can also do this with a USB flash drive.
dangit my comp doesnt have a floppy drive :banghead::banghead:
guess im gonna have to go to FRYS and pick one up lol
 

Lester-

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name PRECRIPLED COMPUTER
Processor Q6700 2.66GHZ STOCK
Motherboard FACTORY HP
Cooling =[
Memory 6gb of factory HP
Video Card(s) 1 x Ati 4850 STOCK CLOCKS
Storage 700GB OF IDK
Display(s) 19inch HP LCD
Case HP...
Audio Device(s) REALTEK
Power Supply 550W BFG
Software =]
Benchmark Scores P7100+ VANTAGE
#32
ok i think im gonna go to try flash it through USB drive tomorrow =]
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
895 (0.21/day)
Likes
299
Location
Canada
System Name MurderBox #17
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k - 4.5Ghz 1.275v - Bitspower Summit EF
Motherboard Asus X99-E WS - Bitspower THOR AIX99 Full Full Board Block
Cooling SR-1 480, 8x Corsair ML120 , MCP350, I&H Res 250, PETG hard pipe, Mayhems Pastel White
Memory 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition - EK Fullcover waterblock with Backplate
Storage 3x Samsung SM951 256GB, Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Samsung PM961 512GB, WD Black 2.0TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" UN40HU7000 3840X2160, 2X ASUS PB278 2560x1440
Case MurderMod TJ07 With Illuminated mid-plate
Audio Device(s) Onboard Crystal Sound 2, Optical out to Pioneer VSX-1017TXV 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i With custom MDPC Sleeve and Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 64bit
#33
PFFFTTT... I can't get crossfire to work at all on this set of drivers. Maybe it is because both of my 4850s look totally different. One is a reference design and one is green. I was so mad when I popped open the box to find that it was green, since when are ATI cards green? Oh well I hope my two 4870s are the same when they arrive and work in crossfire with this driver.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#34
Would it be safer to do a windows flash if it was in safe mode? Also did they ever get a driver fix for the 2d/3d mode detection on the 4850/70? So you can play games at full speed when not full screening the app or game.
 

paulo7

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2008
Messages
243 (0.07/day)
Likes
16
Location
UK
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-750 Processor
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling standard atm
Video Card(s) 4870
Storage Samsung F1
Display(s) 24 inch ocuk value (ace4price)
Case Antec 900
Power Supply SilverStone Zeus ST65ZF 650w
#35
Lester have u tried overclocking your 4850 just through catalyst or rivatuner as you said earlier its still on stock clocks. Easier and safer then flashing it and you may be happy with the results.

Flashing tends to be better when u want to raise volts permanently to achieve a very high oc.
 

paulo7

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2008
Messages
243 (0.07/day)
Likes
16
Location
UK
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-750 Processor
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling standard atm
Video Card(s) 4870
Storage Samsung F1
Display(s) 24 inch ocuk value (ace4price)
Case Antec 900
Power Supply SilverStone Zeus ST65ZF 650w
#36
ps anyone noticed any improvement in fallout?
 

Lester-

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name PRECRIPLED COMPUTER
Processor Q6700 2.66GHZ STOCK
Motherboard FACTORY HP
Cooling =[
Memory 6gb of factory HP
Video Card(s) 1 x Ati 4850 STOCK CLOCKS
Storage 700GB OF IDK
Display(s) 19inch HP LCD
Case HP...
Audio Device(s) REALTEK
Power Supply 550W BFG
Software =]
Benchmark Scores P7100+ VANTAGE
#37
Lester have u tried overclocking your 4850 just through catalyst or rivatuner as you said earlier its still on stock clocks. Easier and safer then flashing it and you may be happy with the results.

Flashing tends to be better when u want to raise volts permanently to achieve a very high oc.
hey paulo
i actually tried oc my core + mem over CCC and after i tested it and passed my screen suddenly turns GREY :confused: and i have cannot click on anything or do ALT-CONTROL-DEL
im not sure if its a BSOD or something but ya... i really want to raise my voltage on my card because i always get black screens not bsod.. :banghead::banghead: i dont know what to do lol
what do you think i should overclock the ati 4850 at with stock cooler :cool:
thanks man!
 

Lester-

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name PRECRIPLED COMPUTER
Processor Q6700 2.66GHZ STOCK
Motherboard FACTORY HP
Cooling =[
Memory 6gb of factory HP
Video Card(s) 1 x Ati 4850 STOCK CLOCKS
Storage 700GB OF IDK
Display(s) 19inch HP LCD
Case HP...
Audio Device(s) REALTEK
Power Supply 550W BFG
Software =]
Benchmark Scores P7100+ VANTAGE
#38
ps. when i oc it on CCC like 5-10 sec later my screen turns grey, and i have to manually shut down my computer :(
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#40
Im running the free version :), Also i have been running on quality.. he he.
Every time I install a driver I whipe previous drivers and benchmarking software and reinstall. I've yet to see a driver give diminishing returns following those guidelines. Also I had to reinstall Vantage when I installed my 4870x2 otherwise it would produce a lot of geometry and lighting errors.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.92/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#41
ATI Release notes: said:
ATI CrossFireX™ Enhancements
This release of ATI Catalyst™ enables users to verify whether an application is
running in ATI CrossFireX™ mode. The new option found in the ATI Catalyst™
Control Center system tray, will allow users to verify whether a Direct3D or
OpenGL application is running in ATI CrossFireX™ mode. (The “ATI Cross-
FireX” logo will be shown on screen when the application is running).
Has anyone seen this yet? What is it exactly?
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#42
Yes, I noticed it with crossfire being enabled in Dead Space... there are some other things I have not tested yet.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
250 (0.07/day)
Likes
47
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-6700K, 4333 MHz (43 x 101)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5
Cooling Coolit FreezOne
Memory G Skill F4-3000C15-8GVRB (2x8:16Gigs)
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
Storage 1X Samsung 256 SSD / 2XSeagate 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 32" / 22" FPD2085W
Case Thermaltake Core X31 RGB Edition
Audio Device(s) RealTek HD \Corsair Gaming H2100 Wireless Dolby 7.1 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Rosewill Quark Series 1000W Full Modular Power Supply with LED Indicator
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit \ Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
#43
Hi Guys Quick Question: I installed the 8.11's and all seems ok so far :) But in this package i do not see HydroVision and Avivo Drivers do i even need them installed ????? Thanks
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,387 (10.16/day)
Likes
18,028
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#45
Hi Guys Quick Question: I installed the 8.11's and all seems ok so far :) But in this package i do not see HydroVision and Avivo Drivers do i even need them installed ????? Thanks
You can get the separate install packages for each at AMD's website. They are located right under where you would click to download your drivers.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
250 (0.07/day)
Likes
47
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-6700K, 4333 MHz (43 x 101)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5
Cooling Coolit FreezOne
Memory G Skill F4-3000C15-8GVRB (2x8:16Gigs)
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
Storage 1X Samsung 256 SSD / 2XSeagate 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 32" / 22" FPD2085W
Case Thermaltake Core X31 RGB Edition
Audio Device(s) RealTek HD \Corsair Gaming H2100 Wireless Dolby 7.1 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Rosewill Quark Series 1000W Full Modular Power Supply with LED Indicator
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit \ Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
#46
You can get the separate install packages for each at AMD's website. They are located right under where you would click to download your drivers.
You are correct :toast:
But i was not sure if i needed them. I don't think i need them (lol) any performance increase with them or without them Thanks Guys
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.66/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#47

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,387 (10.16/day)
Likes
18,028
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#48
I've noticed that with each driver release, I'm getting lower 3dMark06 scores and higher 3dMark Vantage scores. I think they are going in the right direction.:)
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#49
From 8.7 to 8.9 3DMark went up for me.
From 8.10 3DMark06 has been dropping with 8.11 quite considerably.
Oh well doesn't cause any in game fps issues so I'm not going to get worried over it.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
165 (0.05/day)
Likes
44
System Name "the strong silent type"
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Thermalright Archon
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX D3 8GB 1866-899 RipjawsX K2 GSK
Video Card(s) XFX 6950 1GB dualfan
Storage Crucial M4 128GB / Samsung F3 HD103SJ 1TB
Display(s) LG W2253V
Case CM 690 II Advanced
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 600w
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
#50
the overdrive features are greyed out in 8.11 this was not the case with 8.9..

Anyone got any idea how i get them to work again?

I got a HIS 4850 ICEQ4...