• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ATI 9500NP / 9800SE Hardmod

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,024 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,879
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#1
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,024 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,879
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#5
english only please, except in the german forums.

i did the mod .. works great
 

Frozen

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
137 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
US
#6
Im thinking about doing it.

Now what can i use to connect the points? :p I ran out of conductive stuff, and my dad put his solder gun somewhere....

I tried numerous things........
 
R

Ramon

Guest
#7
R360 core

Hi Wizzard.


I have a Sapphire 9800SE L-shaped ram (266bits) with the R360 core. I removed the heat sink and it is the 360. softmodded all right until I flashed it to an XT (why not , it's a 360 after all?). The oly driver able to go from 9800Se to XT I have found is the Omega driver, but they don't have the 4.9Beta :mad:

2 Questions:

#1 Why your driver (V47 and V49) refuse to install (Unrecognized hardware error) ? The 9800XT is not supported yet ?

#2 Is the hardmod the same for the 360 core ?


Many thanks,

Ramon
 

Frozen

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
137 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
US
#8
You cant mod a 9800SE to XT through drivers. That requires hardmodding and flashing to XT.....
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,024 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,879
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#9
well actually i have never seen any performance increase from a pro to xt mod .. if you clock a real xt at pro speeds, performance is the same as a real pro ..
 

Frozen

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
137 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
US
#10
Well the R360 has shader optimizations i think, so you DO score higher on benchmarks......
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,024 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,879
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#11
got any numbers to back that?
 

Frozen

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
137 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
US
#12
Look in the endless OCfaq archive...some people get a boost from about 5400 to 6500 in 3dmark 03. If i clock my card to XT, i get about 5900 now (i also get around 5400 stock) The small jump from 380/340 to 412/365 shouldnt boost you 1100 points....
 

tomy_j

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2004
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Medan, Indonesia
#13
Hello, I'm new member here.

Last week I bought a brand new Sapphire Radeon 9500 nonpro 128MB 256Bit with L shape 3.3ns Infineon memory layout.

I got my Sapphire R9500 softmodded successfully into R9700 and I OC-ed it into 325/300 core/memory with stock cooling.

I consider to use Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer Rev.3 to replace the stock cooler. ;)

I got 7200 in 3DMark2001 SE.
While I got 4700 in 3Dmark2003.

My PC specs:
Intel PIV 1.5GHz
MSI MS-6534 i845
384MB PC133 SDRAM
Seagate 7200.7 40GB
LiteOn CDRW 52x32x52
400 Watt PSU

Is that scores good enough?

I wonder why my 3DMark 2001 SE is too low. :rolleyes:
Can anybody give me some explaination?

Sorry for my English.

Thanks.
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
#14
Its a old version use the 3dMark2003 its the same dumb qeustion as why is my videocard slower with old divers :S
 
M

mulder

Guest
#15
Hardmod Resistor Question

I have an Xpertvision 9800SE that runs flawless with the softmod drivers.
I would like to do the hardmod by connecting pins 2-3.The thing that troubles me is that the resistor that used to be moved from 1-2 to 2-3 is around 5 Kohm.Won't I be damaging my card by just "shorting" 2-3.Is there any successful mods out there that used this method?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,024 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,879
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#16
nope .. many people have done it successfully .. never heard of any problems
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
#17
Do you only need to make a connection between 2 and 3, and not cut any between 1 and 2 ?
 
C

CjVirus

Guest
#19
Hi gues i am a new ati owner ......( i had geforce 2 mx!).
I have softmoded my Club 3d 9800 se 256 bit to 9800 and now i want to hardmod it
so here are the question......
Were do i find the PRO rom and the flashing program?
Does anyone heared that something went wrong with club 3d card by hardmoding them?
 
C

CjVirus

Guest
#21
I tryed to hardmod but i have a problem....my card has Etrontech 3.3 bios chip but there is no Etrontech bios for pro.I have tryed to flash with other manufacturers bios but it doesnt work.Now i have the original 9800 se bios again.

The question....What sould i do to upgrate to pro?
 
L

LiOneL

Guest
#24
After doing the mod card is not responding?

I did the mod on 9500 Non Pro L shaped memory card... Soft mod worked just fine before i tried hard mod. I unsoldered the resistor and moved to position 2-3. The computer doesnt started... Problem VGA says D-Bracket.. I unsoldered resistor again and put to position 1-2 card still dead. Is it possible that i damaged the GPU? Can the GPU be replaced if its damaged? Are the R300 and R350/R360 GPUs compatible? I dont think that there are available R300 GPUs anymore ...

Also when i was mounting the AMD cooler (replaced stock cooler with AMD one before tried this hard mod) on card Screw driver slipped away a little bit and hit the board, but i think it dont do any visible damage to the card... Any advices?