• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 10.2 WHQL Released

Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,797 (0.85/day)
Likes
837
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#51
I am using 9.12 CCC hot fix and having no problems..... How are these Drivers any good? Would appreciate it if someone could post on an overall basis about them.

Kind of wondering if it is a waist of time or not. Is there really any performance increase or not?
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
135 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
System Name iSeven
Processor i7 2700K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Cooler Master 212 EVO
Memory Xtreem 8GB DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290
Storage 2X300GB Raptor Raid ZERO
Display(s) Dell 24"
Case Corsair SPEC-ALPHA
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Software Windows 10 Pro 1607 64BIT
#52
Ugh... i cant install this drivers, everything seems to work fine then at the very end i get a ? that says there were errors and that i should open the Report, everything has a success but the ATI Display Driver:

ATI Display Driver
Final Status: Fail
Version of Item: 8.702.0.0000
Size: 90 Mbytes


Anyone else with this problem, i tried jumping from 9-11 to 10-2, also tried cleaning everything and then installing just the 10-2, same problem.

Win 7 and HD 5870

Thanks

Install the suite individually, Display Drivers reboot, CCC reboot, etc...
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.14/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#53
I had that problem, with the 10.1 drivers, but then I found the 10.1 hotfix drivers and installed them and it worked, couldnt solve the issue, god ati suk with software!
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,928 (4.29/day)
Likes
6,112
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#54
Install the suite individually, Display Drivers reboot, CCC reboot, etc...
I had that problem, with the 10.1 drivers, but then I found the 10.1 hotfix drivers and installed them and it worked, couldnt solve the issue, god ati suk with software!
did you run driversweeper after installation??

-----

I dunno what ATi did but I have noticed everything seems to be a lot more sharper in detail (or maybe its because im running ATi stream SDK) - its like someone just said '/eyecandy on' fog/smoke/haze looks a lot more detailed too as you run through it or view it from a distance & dont tax the framerate an awful lot like it did previously. (yeah - definitely must be the SDK talking there!)

best drivers ive used so far.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.30/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#55
Is that in most games you play Freedom? I've always had better image quality with ATi cards than with nVIDIA.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,928 (4.29/day)
Likes
6,112
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#56
Is that in most games you play Freedom? I've always had better image quality with ATi cards than with nVIDIA.
funnily enough yeah :confused::confused: but Ive always had the 3D tab in CCC cranked up to Quality but textures just look totally shit when you got up real close to them. now they dont 'break up' 'merge' or 'blur out' into some sloppy mess. even when your right up close whatever your looking at still retains its detail & im just totally amazed at how much detail has suddenly appeard in my games.

the worst offender use to be the armours in Guildwars - you could have an elite set of armour which has the most amount of detail over the cheaper sets but the closer you looked/zoomed in on the armour the shittier it looked.

I have never seen this level of detail since i started playing the game & there hasnt been any update on the armour skins for eternity & if there is, its usually to deal with minor clipping issues, not texturing.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
912 (0.24/day)
Likes
203
System Name Carbon Corsair Carbide 540
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula IX
Cooling H100i Cpu cooler 6 x 120mm Corsair sp's
Memory Corsair Dominator 3000mhz 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980
Storage 120GB Mushkin Deluxe, Corsair 128GB pro, 256GB 840 pro & 1TB samsung EVO. M2.SSD 960 evo 250GB
Display(s) Dell U2913WN
Case Corsair Carbide 540
Audio Device(s) ON Board
Power Supply AX1200i with RED cables. Corsair
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software windows 10
#57
So much better and CoD4 is a lot smoother
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.14/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#58
I ran driversweeper about 1000 times lol, the usual safemode routine and I got that issue.

When I first installed the drivers they worked fine, it started to happen when I swapped my HD5970 over with a HD5870 and then it wouldnt work so I tried theHD5970 again but it still didnt work so I back tracked to 9.12 drivers until the 10.1 hotfix drivers came out.

What is ATI stream? I neva eva use it!:D
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,928 (4.29/day)
Likes
6,112
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#59
ATi Stream - literally ATi's answer to Nvidia's CUDA - but read on,
 

fluff

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core 2 duo e6400
Motherboard gigabyte GBT-GA-EP41-UD3L
Cooling stock
Memory 2x2gb corsair DDR2 800mhz pc2 6400
Video Card(s) powercolor hd5770 1GB
Storage western digital caviar black 500GB
Display(s) LG W2243S-PF
Case Gigabyte 3d Aurora
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply coolermaster 600W silent pro
Software windows 7 64 bit
#60
gray stripe

I've Just Installed The 10.2 Drivers And Still Have The Grey Stripe Crash While Gaming. I've Also Had A Black Screen Crash Which Never Happened Before. I've Not Had The Reboots Or Shut Down In Idle That I Had Before. What's Most Annoying Is The Total Lack Of Info From Ati. The Only Info I've Had Is From Forums. Having Supposedly Released A Hotfix For Hd5800 Cards, A Release For Hd5700 Cards Was Going To Be A Week Behind. It's Been Way More Than That Now And Still No News From Ati. Im Not Even Sure If 10.2 Is Supposed To Be A Fix Or Not-they Don't Actually Say.

Powercolor Hd5770
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.30/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#61
Welcome to the forums fluff!

I've always wanted to know if you manually put a capital at the beginning of each word or if you have a program that does it for you.

If you fill out your system specification it'll be easier for us to help diagnose and recommend a way of reinstalling the new driver set.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,850 (0.94/day)
Likes
596
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#62
i dont praise nvidia drivers - i just wish ATI had some of their features in their drivers as well.

Per-application settings, including crossfire profile is all i want.
Hmm not sure I follow. There might be some minor differences, but when it comes to available 'features,' pretty much anything that's applicable to your hardware, is available no matter the manufacturer.

Most people seem to be fine with using either NV Panel or CCC. But for 'power users,' there's Nhancer and ATi Tray Tools (or Riva Tune for some).

If you know what you're doing, one program can achieve for your hardware what the other can.

The only thing I would say ATi drivers lack, is staying up to date on Crossfire profiles at the pace Nvidia might. Which means we have to go in and in some fashion or another, tell the card to treat the game as one it's driver already has a profile for. Which isn't a big deal, often you just rename the executable and force AA...

What gets me is how fast drivers come out, and unless they're released alongside new hardware, the actual changes are almost miniscule for your average user. They rarely increase performance(especially by a noticeable gain), and in ATi's case, seem to forget to add profiles for newly released software.

It's almost as if drivers (in between new hardware releases) are more like hotfixes that rectify any miscellaneous bugs/glitches and issues, that affect maybe 10% of users.

The only consolation there, is that you can choose from the myriad and plethora of driver versions, and barring any oddities, should work fine as long as it supports your hardware.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
868 (0.27/day)
Likes
160
Location
Toronto, ON. Canada
System Name Gamers PC
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.80 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
Cooling Corsair H50 Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2 x WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA300 w/64MB Buffer (RAID 0)
Display(s) Samsung 2494SW 1080p 24" WS LCD HD
Case CM HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI TITANIUM -PCIE x 1
Power Supply Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX (650W)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#63
New drivers getting released add hot fixes to fix bugs/glitches issues with minor game improvements and crossfirex improvements. The major improvements I’ve notices in the past several months is Crossfire. When you buy two graphics cards, they better perform really good in crossfire/sli.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,800 (9.61/day)
Likes
18,719
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#64
I lost fan control, temperature readings and frequency readings on my 2nd card in CCC with these drivers.:(
Same here with system lockups as well
I didn't get the lockups, but I've found out more. With the 9.12 hotfix and these 10.2's it puts the 2nd card in an ultra low power state. It basically turns the 2nd card off when not in use. If I were to load up a 3d application the 2nd card does go and it runs at whatever I have it set to in CCC, so all is working well. You can turn off the ultra low power state by going to the registry, tick the "Computer" icon, hit ctrl+f (to search) and input "EnableUlps" in the field. One entry will come up highlighted. Right click it, tick Modify and change the value from 1 to 0 to turn it off. Restart.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,800 (9.61/day)
Likes
18,719
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#66
too bad it doesnt turn off the top card since it stays hotter

i had to disable vsynv on Tf2.. made it look jittery with it on.
The top card is hotter because that's the card the system is using more. The 2nd or bottom card is for accelerating 3d graphics. That's why they implemented the ultra low power state for it. With my configuration though, both cards stay pretty much at the same temp. For TF2, disable "Multi core rendering", it will take care of the jitters and still use CrossFire.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,745 (0.39/day)
Likes
176
Location
The Nevada Wasteland
System Name 9th Level
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE @3.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA790FX-UD5P
Cooling Corsair H100, x2 250mm, x1 140mm, x3 120mm fans.
Memory 8GB Patriot DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480 (800/1600/2000/@1.0v)
Storage x1 80GB, x2 1TB.
Display(s) Acer 24" 2ms 1920x1200
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Xtreme gamer 64mb Xram
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#68
Is there any fix for the hundreds of black squares that pop up every time I start a game in BFBC2? They go away after a minute of playing but still.
 

bogie

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
92 (0.02/day)
Likes
12
#69
I'm getting constant crashing in COD:WAW with these on my HD 4870x2.

Back to 10.1 for me.
 

fluff

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor core 2 duo e6400
Motherboard gigabyte GBT-GA-EP41-UD3L
Cooling stock
Memory 2x2gb corsair DDR2 800mhz pc2 6400
Video Card(s) powercolor hd5770 1GB
Storage western digital caviar black 500GB
Display(s) LG W2243S-PF
Case Gigabyte 3d Aurora
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply coolermaster 600W silent pro
Software windows 7 64 bit
#70
Welcome to the forums fluff!

I've always wanted to know if you manually put a capital at the beginning of each word or if you have a program that does it for you.

If you fill out your system specification it'll be easier for us to help diagnose and recommend a way of reinstalling the new driver set.
Sorry about the capitals. What you actualy do is leave caps lock on, then when you submit the entry it changes to capitals on first letter of every word itself. My son has already told me off for this mistake.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,894 (5.58/day)
Likes
7,159
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#71
The top card is hotter because that's the card the system is using more. The 2nd or bottom card is for accelerating 3d graphics. That's why they implemented the ultra low power state for it. With my configuration though, both cards stay pretty much at the same temp. For TF2, disable "Multi core rendering", it will take care of the jitters and still use CrossFire.
TBH with yall i would force the card clocks during gaming so they dont have a chance to adjust in variably thanks to Powerplay, then once out of the game set the clocks back low myself if thats even possible.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
626 (0.17/day)
Likes
88
Location
Finland (northern)
System Name Getting old!
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3,9Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-UD4H
Cooling About sufficient air cooling
Memory 4GB Dominator DDR2 1066 @1040Mhz
Video Card(s) Club 3D Radeon HD6950 1GB
Storage 120GB Kingston SSDNow 200V+, 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Display(s) Crossover 27Q LED-P (lovely!)
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Integrated -> optical -> HELIX P DSP
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Win7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11 P5285 WPrime 1.55 10,15 sec Super Pi Mod 1.5 17,920 sec
#72
This one wasn't as easy to get right as the older ones. I got some choppines in games with these at first. I struggled a bit and it looks like Stalker Clear sky got some real boost.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
236 (0.06/day)
Likes
15
Location
EU
#74
@Mussels
In regards to those profiles you need with various settings per game, you could just make the settings and save them as a standard CCC profile and select the option "start application on loading this profile" and select the game there, then select 'make a shortcut on the desktop', (and/or make a hotkey), also in profile manager, and there you have your per-game settings.
So basically that already exists for some time now, although I must admit I never tried to make a profile with that 'start application on loading', plus you'd still need to either make a profile for every 3D app or make a reset to defaults profile too else you'd be stuck with the settings of whatever you played last, but that's not a big deal is it?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,232 (1.37/day)
Likes
664
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#75
yeah sounds good, cuz the damn 10.1 can't detect my crossfire so i switch back to 9.12, now im go try this one
 
Top