• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 10.5 WHQL Driver Suite Released

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,998 (1.98/day)
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
low 2D clock is working amazing now and I dont need to make a custom profile :D
You're 100% sure about that?
I was holding myself from installing this driver since I seen negative feedback, but your post makes me change my mind.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,860 (2.28/day)
You're 100% sure about that?
I was holding myself from installing this driver since I seen negative feedback, but your post makes me change my mind.
Yes 100% FoR sure Black Panther,

I've been on the 10.3CCC for a few months now. This CAT Is for sure a great driver, I've noticed straight away while in 2D mode, the monitor was crisp,fast, and lag free under stock 157MHz idle clocks. I find It's even better than when I made a custom profile under the 10.3CCC.... ATI got it right with this driver :toast:

Also, ran Mark06 + Vantage + GOW, Dirt2 , Heaven , all ran smother and the way Id expect a driver to perform. :pimp:
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.24/day)
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
These drivers a trash.:shadedshu
They bumped my idle clocks up to 400/1125, instead of the normal 1x7/300 (I forgot the x on the idle core clock).
Went back to 10.4 and all is back to normal.

As good as they may be in boosting performance, etc, sacrificing downclocks is not worth it IMO.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,457 (8.60/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
These drivers a trash.:shadedshu
They bumped my idle clocks up to 400/1125, instead of the normal 1x7/300 (I forgot the x on the idle core clock).
Went back to 10.4 and all is back to normal.

As good as they may be in boosting performance, etc, sacrificing downclocks is not worth it IMO.
its a fix for various other issues (flickering on multi monitor, for one) that activates when it shouldnt.

from what i've read, it will be fixed in 10.6 (just like its fixed in 10.5a which also got a forgotten fix for BC2)
 

HillBeast

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
407 (0.11/day)
Location
New Zealand
System Name Kuja
Processor Intel Core i7 930
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Cooling Corsair H50 HB.o Special Edition with Koolance CHC-122 NB Block
Memory OCZ Extreme Edition 4GB Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 5870 Vapor-X Rev. 2
Storage 2x 1TB WD Green in RAID
Display(s) BenQ V2400W
Case Lian Li PC-A17 HB.o Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 889A
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W
Software Windows 7 Professional
Benchmark Scores 93632 sysPoints in sysTest '09 47 FPS in Star Tales Benchmark
Well I just tested it on my computer, and there are some increases in scores on 3DMark, but nothing to get excited about.

1280x1024 0xAA w CCC 10.4 (20841 3DMarks) -> CCC 10.5 (20920 3DMarks) - 79 Points
1920x1200 4xAA w CCC 10.4 (18412 3DMarks) -> CCC 10.5 (18556 3DMarks) - 144 Points

I'll see if DiRT 2 runs any better later on, but IMO it's not really worth it. It does increase the clock speed at idle (as you can see in my screenshots below), and idle temps are up from 25C to 36C. I like my computer to be really cold and that really irks me.
 

Attachments

HillBeast

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
407 (0.11/day)
Location
New Zealand
System Name Kuja
Processor Intel Core i7 930
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Cooling Corsair H50 HB.o Special Edition with Koolance CHC-122 NB Block
Memory OCZ Extreme Edition 4GB Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 5870 Vapor-X Rev. 2
Storage 2x 1TB WD Green in RAID
Display(s) BenQ V2400W
Case Lian Li PC-A17 HB.o Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 889A
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W
Software Windows 7 Professional
Benchmark Scores 93632 sysPoints in sysTest '09 47 FPS in Star Tales Benchmark
So yeah, I put 10.5a on here and well for a minute it worked, as in the clocks were back to 157/300. I went to take a screenshot and then 10 seconds after taking the screenshot the clocks went back to 400/1250. No idea why the RAM clock is so high and the core is so low, but thereis definately something funky in 10.5 and 10.5a.

Heres a screenshot of it anyways. You can see for a wee bit it was at 157, then it went to 875, then back to 157 then it stuck to 400. It's still at 400 right now and the RAM is still at 1250.

Oh yeah I have a Vapor-X hence the higher clocks.



EDIT: Just tried something: I went into CCC and set the clocks to the lowest possible (600/625), clicked apply, then clicked Defaults then clicked Apply again and now it's at 157/300. I confirmed it in GPU-Z as well.



I'll see how long it stays like this.
 

Attachments

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,457 (8.60/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
weird, on 10.5a mine have been at 157/300 all the time.

are you running dual monitors/crossfire?
 

HillBeast

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
407 (0.11/day)
Location
New Zealand
System Name Kuja
Processor Intel Core i7 930
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Cooling Corsair H50 HB.o Special Edition with Koolance CHC-122 NB Block
Memory OCZ Extreme Edition 4GB Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 5870 Vapor-X Rev. 2
Storage 2x 1TB WD Green in RAID
Display(s) BenQ V2400W
Case Lian Li PC-A17 HB.o Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 889A
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W
Software Windows 7 Professional
Benchmark Scores 93632 sysPoints in sysTest '09 47 FPS in Star Tales Benchmark
weird, on 10.5a mine have been at 157/300 all the time.

are you running dual monitors/crossfire?
Nup. Single card, single monitor. I think it was just something weird it was trying to do because it seems to be working fine now at normal speeds.
 

Radamanthys

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
The problem is when you overclock. If i Set up the core clock to 861 instead of the Default 860. Idle 2D clocks go up to 400/1200 instead of 137/300. My idle temps went 14ºc up, and that's driving me crazy, Any fix ?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,998 (1.98/day)
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
Top