• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 8.12 Hotfix Released - Corrects Radeon HD 4850 CrossFire X Mode in Vista

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.00/day)
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
ATI programmers have released a hotfix that corrects the black screen and boot OS failure when Catalyst 8.12 is installed on Windows Vista, and two or more ATI Radeon HD 4850 video cards are working in CrossFire X mode. This issue only occurs when two or more ATI Radeon HD 4850 graphic cards are installed in the system with ATI CrossFireX technology. One single ATI Radeon HD 4850 card will not encounter this issue. To download the hotfix for both Windows Vista 32-bit and 64-bit, please click here.

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,198 (1.21/day)
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450I Pro (replacing POS)
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
I guess I'll try and see if this also fixes the issue, Incompatible display driver, with my 3870X2's. I know I'm not the only one having this problem with the 8.12's. I'll get back to ya.
 

miloshs

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
362 (0.09/day)
Location
Serbia
System Name Begginer's E
Processor Intel E8500
Motherboard DFI LT X48-T2R
Cooling Thermalright HR-01 Plus & Silverstone FM-121B (800-2400rpm)
Memory 2x2gb GEIL Ultra Plus PC8500 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850 1gb
Storage WD 1tb Black Series
Display(s) ASUS VW242HS 24"
Case CoolerMaster 690
Audio Device(s) ICH8 integrated crappie
Power Supply OCZ 700W xStream SLI PSU
Software Windows 7 x64
So.... 4870+4850 doesn't have this problem?
 

ilpalmare

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
I guess I'll try and see if this also fixes the issue, Incompatible display driver, with my 3870X2's. I know I'm not the only one having this problem with the 8.12's. I'll get back to ya.
I have 2x 4870 and with this patch the problem is not resolved :banghead: 1 graphic card is incompatible... :banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,198 (1.21/day)
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450I Pro (replacing POS)
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
Yep, same problem after installing them. Back to 8.11 I go!!:banghead:
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.22/day)
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
Come on ATi y'bawl bags!

I haven't been impressed with this driver set, they better sort the 9.1's or I'll piss and moan some more.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
190 (0.04/day)
Well I will be honest here people. I did a fresh install of my OS and installed the 8.12 CCC and drivers and I have 2 4870 1gb cards in cross fire and I have no issues like what they are talking about. My guess is that they have other registry keys that driver cleaner doesn't know about "newly added" and this is left behind because it doesn't know where that key(s) is and this is causing all the issues for people. Has to be because with my fresh install, everything is fine for me. Or maybe it has to do with a certain chipsets or something.



What I really want fixed is these god damn memory leaks in GTA IV PLEASE!!
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,198 (1.21/day)
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450I Pro (replacing POS)
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
I have 2x 4870 and with this patch the problem is not resolved :banghead: 1 graphic card is incompatible... :banghead::banghead::banghead:
How much memory do you have in your system? I read on AMD forums the issue might be linked to 4+ Gbs in systems. I don't have time to test this right now but maybe tonight or tomorrow.
 

ilpalmare

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
How much memory do you have in your system? I read on AMD forums the issue might be linked to 4+ Gbs in systems. I don't have time to test this right now but maybe tonight or tomorrow.
I have 3GB DDR3.. but the problem is that i have tried to install in VISTA64 in a fresh installation and same problem :banghead::banghead:

So if i put the 8.11 the card function very well and crossfire enable by default after installation
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,198 (1.21/day)
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450I Pro (replacing POS)
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
I honestly have to say this is all on AMD/ATI. :cry: Hopefully they can get there shit together and get this resolved cause this 8.12 is the worst driver I remember to date...I'm going back from the Rage Fury!
 

ilpalmare

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
I have opened a ticket to AMD and the response is: the enginnering work to find solution to this problem. Return to 8.11 catalyst at the moment
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
193 (0.05/day)
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
System Name My Computer
Processor i5 2500k@4.2ghz
Motherboard MSI Z77a G43
Cooling Hyper TX3
Memory Gskill 4gb Ripjaws 1.6ghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 7950
Storage 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 245bw
Case Apevia X-Plorer ATXB8KLW-BK
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream 600w
Software 7 64
I haven't had any problems with the 8.12 drivers, I always clean out the old ones before installing new ones.
 

EarlZ

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
339 (0.07/day)
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 Rev1.1
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 4GB G.Skill 9-10-9-27-1T 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX580 1.5Gb
Storage 2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung T220
Case Lian Li PC-P80
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Gold 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
LOL! another ATI driver related issue!
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,383 (2.05/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.

SuRGe

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
System Name ULTIMATE_BEING
Processor AMD Phenom 9850BE @ 3.0GHz Lapped
Motherboard ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe/WiFi
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK
Video Card(s) 2 x ASUS EAH3870X2
Storage 2 x Western Digital 74G Raptors Raid0
Display(s) DELL 24" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER COSMOS S RC-1100-KKN1-GP
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply COOLER MASTER Real Power Pro1000 RS-A00-EMBA 1000W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit
I guess I'll try and see if this also fixes the issue, Incompatible display driver, with my 3870X2's. I know I'm not the only one having this problem with the 8.12's. I'll get back to ya.
kenkickr
I have the same system spec's as you and i have my 2 - 3870x2 running in crossfirex on 8.12
I did get the incompatible display driver also at first but my problem was i downloaded the XP 64bit version of the driver instead of the Vista 64bit version.
Could be you have the wrong driver.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,198 (1.21/day)
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450I Pro (replacing POS)
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
I'm sure I clicked on the driver link for Vista x64 but before I came to work I downloaded the Vista x64 driver off Sapphiretech.com so tonight after my daughter goes to bed I'll screw around with it.
 

viczulis

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
887 (0.21/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Bandit 7
Processor Intel I7 920 (Havent OCd yet)
Motherboard MSI X58 Pro
Cooling Air Black Knight
Memory 6 Gbs of something
Video Card(s) 2 - XFX 5770s 1 Gb (waiting for a price drop to go higher)
Storage 1 - TB Sata Seagate
Display(s) 28" LCD
Case CM HAF , G-5 mouse, Saitek Cyborg Keyboard
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX 2 Audio Card
Power Supply ABS Tagan BZ Series 900 W Modular
Software 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium
All I get is Catallyst Install Manager Has Stopped and wont install on computer. My daughter has 32 bit Vista and 4850 and it installed no problems. :banghead:
 

SuRGe

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
System Name ULTIMATE_BEING
Processor AMD Phenom 9850BE @ 3.0GHz Lapped
Motherboard ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe/WiFi
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK
Video Card(s) 2 x ASUS EAH3870X2
Storage 2 x Western Digital 74G Raptors Raid0
Display(s) DELL 24" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER COSMOS S RC-1100-KKN1-GP
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply COOLER MASTER Real Power Pro1000 RS-A00-EMBA 1000W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
218 (0.05/day)
System Name OC GamePC
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K (4,7ghz @ 1,392v max)
Motherboard Intel Z68
Cooling ID Cooling Frostflow 120mm AIO (2x Noctua NF-F12)
Memory 26gb 1866mhz DDR3 CL9 Dual-Channel (2x8gb)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX970 SSC @ 1430/7900
Storage 250gb Sata3 SSD, 750GB SSHD
Display(s) 32" 1366x768 Toshiba LED Backlight TV
Case Raijintek Thetis Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 PCI
Power Supply EVGA 550G2
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: ~ 11.100 Timespy: ~ 4.000
All I get is Catallyst Install Manager Has Stopped and wont install on computer. My daughter has 32 bit Vista and 4850 and it installed no problems. :banghead:

Hugh... And here I thought the 8.12 was the best driver set released to date. Made my HD2600 Mobility rock solid and saves all settings on avivo. Not gonna change in a while. :ohwell:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,164 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Listen up, this maybe a Hotfix where you gotta Install it without installing ontop of the previous Driver, just use the CCC from that version unless if this Hotfix Driver has it already.

Remember Installing ontop of previous drivers causes more headaches.
 

neomatrix

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Still doesn't work,

Yep, same problem after installing them. Back to 8.11 I go!!:banghead:
This hotfix only fixes bsod. It doesn't fix the fact that no crossfire option appears since 8.10.

I have P6T Deluxe, latest 1003 BIOS. Crossfire doesn't work at all w/ these new drivers.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,164 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
i suggest you ping Asus on the Motherboard.
 

neomatrix

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Asus or ATI?

If this bug is Asus's MB issue, then why would 8.10 work fine on the same MB, BIOS, and settings?

Some have contacted Asus also. ATI really needs to do better testing before releases. I do realize they can't test all configurations, but these issues should be owned by ATI, it's their product that'll take the hit.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
2,476 (0.52/day)
Location
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
System Name Hells Core.
Processor Q6600 Go @ 3.6ghz 24/7 1.360v stable.
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula.
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (lapped). 1x120mm Akasa fan 2x80mm akasa fans (variable speeds)
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB 2x2 gigs pc2-6400 latency 6-6-6-15 @1100mhz. D9,s
Video Card(s) 2 x HIS HD5870's Crossfire
Storage WD Caviar SE 160GB 7200RPM SATAII 8MB Cache / Samsung 7200RPM SATAII 16mb Cache.
Display(s) 22" Benq True LED/HD.
Case Inwin IronClad Gaming case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi™ XtremeMusic EAX 5.0.2
Power Supply Hiper 880W Type-M Quad sli crossfire certified. 85% Efficiency Rated.
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores "3dmark06 23995" Q6600@4.3ghz 3870x2 GPU @900mhz MEM @1000mhz-OS XP. "The Current TPU Champ"
Wouldnt recomend this for 3870x2 users my games stutter like mad went back to old driver and its fine.

**EDIT**

Fixed somwhere along the lines i must have installed somthing that maybe corrupted the driver did a system restore reinstalled the driver and it seems to be working fine very smooth.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,164 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
If this bug is Asus's MB issue, then why would 8.10 work fine on the same MB, BIOS, and settings?

Some have contacted Asus also. ATI really needs to do better testing before releases. I do realize they can't test all configurations, but these issues should be owned by ATI, it's their product that'll take the hit.
Well if your having such a problem, run the 8.10s then, Also depending on your Vid card, try to get the driver from the manufacturer, not ATI but whoever built your card.
 
Top