1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ati crossfire different cards?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by karolpl2004, May 14, 2013.

  1. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    704 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chicago
    i got a msi r7850 power edition 2gb. would it work fine crossfired with msi r7850 twin frozr 2gb?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,388 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,904
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yes it will run
     
  3. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,038 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    take a look here

    [​IMG]
     
  4. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    704 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chicago
    thanks thanks, but now the important question.. is it worth it? =P

    edit: or should i replace it with two gtx 660s. i found em on craigslist for $300
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,953 (10.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,685
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    704 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chicago
    from what im reading, my motherboard doesn't support sli =( ..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,953 (10.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,685
    Perhaps go for a single 7950 or 7970. You can pick up a 7950 for around 300 bucks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    704 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chicago
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,019 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,418
    Reading your boards manual. states it supports sli and crossfire
     
  10. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Crossfire doesnt work very well. Really? Been working fine for me thus far.
     
  11. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    704 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chicago
    well if crossfire seems to work ok, i guess ill just buy another 7850..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,257 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,098
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Yes it should work fine as it is supposed to but not all games will show the same benefit.
    It might be wise to check out some reviews of crossfired cards to see how games You play might perform.
    On the whole xfire does work well for me but I think I am doing it the best way (for amd at least),I get one expensive gpu on release and keep it a few years adding a second when they are affordable and the xfire is stable and optimised.

    Some jump aboard xfire early for the powers (to be fsir reasonably) and its those that tend to suffer issues As I did with 2x3870 eearly bird caught a bsd.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,953 (10.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,685
    Not your frametimes. Stutter. Everyone has it. Whether you notice it or not is a different story. I've been using CrossFire since x19xx series. It's there. Even AMD knows it... that's why they're trying to fix it.

    The only concern I would have is the 1gb of VRAM over 3 screens.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    704 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chicago
    lol now im all confused... so maybe upgrading to a single 7950 or 7970 is the best idea?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,953 (10.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,685
    I think so. More VRAM is important in your case.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    704 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chicago
    any idea what my card might be worth?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,953 (10.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,685
    175-200... And I just realized that it's a 2gb card.. lol. Hmmmmm... What resolution are your screens?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    704 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chicago
    1920x1080
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,953 (10.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,685
    Now I'm having trouble deciding myself. Personally, I would prefer one 7970 over two 7850 2gb's.. But I suppose if I already had one, I'd pick up another since it's less of a hassle. I'd try it out and see if I like it. If not, I'd probably then step up to the 7970.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,257 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,098
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    All in all, one card is easier and even a 7950 would improve your gameing , sell the 7850 for an easy hundred add 130-230 and buy a big en :)
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Nope, dont have frame rates or stutter. The only game which didn't like CF was BF Bad Company 2 with my old 4850 CF. Other than that one game on that old card i've only got good things to say about crossfire.

    If you can sell your current 7850 it might be worth buying a single powerful card. I'd only CF if the second card is exceptionally cheap or if the CF solution is significantly faster than the similarly priced single card.
     
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,953 (10.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,685
    You must be the only one then. You should send your specs/setup to AMD, maybe it'll help them.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Bit of a blanket statement to say that every AMD customer whom runs CF have stutter issues.

    I could probably name a new people on this forum alone that don't have CF issues.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,953 (10.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,685
    I felt that I never had issues either... Until I ran a single card and noticed it was smoother even though FPS were lower. It's all been documented with GCN through AMD and PCPer. Some folks just don't notice it, and that's fine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Maybe the people that don't notice it don't experience it?

    Saying we don't notice it is the perfect excuse to justify what you can't prove. It's like saying ghosts exists but you don't notice it or you've got 10 dollars in your empty wallet but you don't notice it.

    I'm sure some journalism websites identified an isolated issue which effects a small minority. And if 99% of people genuinely don't notice a problem, then there isn't a problem.

    The Windows OS has plenty of bugs in the background, but as long as it doesn't crash, or blue screen or lock up and you "don't notice" then does the problem really exist?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)