• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI drivers have stopped responding

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#1
I have been having this issue ever since I built this computer around three years ago. While playing games my screen will usually freeze once and I'll get the message saying that my ATI drivers have stopped responding. It usually does this once or twice and then works fine.

Lately when I get the error message my video card's performance drops, so I have to change my graphic quality from high to low on whatever game I'm playing.

I have a Sapphire ATI Radeon HD6870 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102909 I had this same problem on my old HD4680 but when I gave it to my brother he hasn't had any issues.

I've replaced almost every part in my computer. The only things I haven't replaced are my motherboard and CPU. I've used Windows 7 and 8 and have done clean installs both times on different hard drives.

I can't figure out what is causing this, I've posted on boards where I'm told to uninstall/reinstall newest ATI drives, replace RAM sticks (have used two different sets) and other responses. I would love to get some advice on what else I could do. I'm hoping it's not a hardware issue because I don't want to replace my motherboard or my CPU.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.70/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#2
This is most likely caused by instability,is the card overclocked? have you tried clocking it down or push the voltage up?
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#3
This is most likely caused by instability,is the card overclocked? have you tried clocking it down or push the voltage up?
I haven't changed any of the settings. Everything is the default settings
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.70/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4
try slightly increasing voltage and see if that helps.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#5
try slightly increasing voltage and see if that helps.
I'll try that, what increments should I increase it by?

I'm not sure if it would be a power issue though, my older video card did the same thing as well.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.70/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#6
The stock voltage of a 6870 is 1.175v,try 1.2v.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#7
The stock voltage of a 6870 is 1.175v,try 1.2v.
Ok I set it. Now I'll have to wait and see to what happens right?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.70/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#8
Thats right.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#9

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#10
Ok thanks, I'll reply back if it happens again then. Hopefully this will work
Unfortunately it did it again. Any other ideas?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.70/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#11
Is the card still under warranty? If not try setting it at 1.225 and test it again if it is under warranty RMA it.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#12
Also since you had the same problem with the previous card and the one you gave to didn't, then it can also be a motherboard/CPU issue.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#13
Is the card still under warranty? If not try setting it at 1.225 and test it again if it is under warranty RMA it.
I am pretty sure it's not the video card, my other card did the same thing. It works fine on my brother's computer.

Also since you had the same problem with the previous card and the one you gave to didn't, then it can also be a motherboard/CPU issue.
That's what I'm guessing, is there any way to tell without having to buy another motherboard or CPU? I don't know anyone who has a motherboard compatible with my CPU so I can't just test one or the other without buying a new one of them
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#14
I am pretty sure it's not the video card, my other card did the same thing. It works fine on my brother's computer.



That's what I'm guessing, is there any way to tell without having to buy another motherboard or CPU? I don't know anyone who has a motherboard compatible with my CPU so I can't just test one or the other without buying a new one of them
I am afraid there is no way to tell. The Sandy Bridge CPUs have the whole of the north bridge function integrated within the CPU so it is the CPU which communicates with the graphics card. But between them, the media of communication is the motherboard. So either of them can be faulty.
For the consistency, it is likely the motherboard as CPUs do not usually cause problems.
Also look for a BIOS update for your motherboard and check if the BIOS settings related to PCI-E x16 are all as it should be.
Generation 2.0
PCIE bus clock = 100 MHz
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,725 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,799
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#15
This is taken from another forum and relates to GPU crunching but the problem is the same - ATI driver has stopped responding and so on

If you are having driver crahses, the following registry modification might prevent that:
(Source: Bun-Bun from XS)
Code:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Watchdog]
"DisableBugCheck"="1"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Watchdog\Display]
"EaRecovery"="0"

I didn't try it myself......
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,702 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,931
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#16
This is taken from another forum and relates to GPU crunching but the problem is the same - ATI driver has stopped responding and so on

If you are having driver crahses, the following registry modification might prevent that:
(Source: Bun-Bun from XS)
Code:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Watchdog]
"DisableBugCheck"="1"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Watchdog\Display]
"EaRecovery"="0"

I didn't try it myself......
Good find relevant to GPU crunching/folding because that's when CPU threads use GPU for calculations that take much longer than 1 frame time calculations in games or Aero GUI.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff553893(v=vs.85).aspx

This timeout recovery mechanism is made for possible lockups in Aero. I doubt disabling it'll help here since card works fine in other machine.

Lately when I get the error message my video card's performance drops, so I have to change my graphic quality from high to low on whatever game I'm playing.
Maybe you already checked these, but since you didn't mention it:

Can you check (using GPU-Z or whatever) when that happens, is your card stuck in low power state or throttling due high temperatures?

HD 6870 draws about 13.5 Amps from the +12 Volt rails under maximum GPU load. What is your PSU?

Maybe you can try persuading your brother to test your MBO/CPU/GPU combo with his PSU?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,889 (0.99/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#17
Try the card in your brothers computer chances are the card is A OK and the board/CPU are broken. You said your old card did the same but works fine in your brothers computer that's why you should test the card on your brothers computer.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,538 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,625
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#18
What drivers are you using in both machines? I used to have an issue with my 6870s crashing here and there in crossfire but the most recent drivers seemed to have rectified that problem. Is it possible that the drivers in your machine are old and the drivers in your brother's machine are new?

Are you installing the latest drivers from AMD's website?

Memtest86+ could determine if it is your ram or not.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#19
This is taken from another forum and relates to GPU crunching but the problem is the same - ATI driver has stopped responding and so on

If you are having driver crahses, the following registry modification might prevent that:
(Source: Bun-Bun from XS)
Code:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Watchdog]
"DisableBugCheck"="1"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Watchdog\Display]
"EaRecovery"="0"

I didn't try it myself......
When I get to \Control I don't see any Watchdog option. Should I create this folder and the display one as well?

Can you check (using GPU-Z or whatever) when that happens, is your card stuck in low power state or throttling due high temperatures?

HD 6870 draws about 13.5 Amps from the +12 Volt rails under maximum GPU load. What is your PSU?

Maybe you can try persuading your brother to test your MBO/CPU/GPU combo with his PSU?
I just downloaded GPU-Z so I'll check it next time this happens. Does GPU-Z have a history log or anything? What would be the best way to record the information?

The original power supply I had was a PC Power and Cooling 610W
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817703005

I bought a new one CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139010

But I'm still having the same issue. The only things that are the same are my motherboard and CPU.

Try the card in your brothers computer chances are the card is A OK and the board/CPU are broken. You said your old card did the same but works fine in your brothers computer that's why you should test the card on your brothers computer.
So you're saying that even though my old card did the same thing I should test this one just to be sure?

What drivers are you using in both machines? I used to have an issue with my 6870s crashing here and there in crossfire but the most recent drivers seemed to have rectified that problem. Is it possible that the drivers in your machine are old and the drivers in your brother's machine are new?

Are you installing the latest drivers from AMD's website?

Memtest86+ could determine if it is your ram or not.
I have tried using the drivers Windows finds as well as the ones I downloaded from ATI's website. I'm running the latest one (13.1). I've tried completely removing the drivers and then reinstalling them but it didn't help. I have also tried installing without Catalyst control center but it still didn't work.

I had two different kinds of RAM with this issue. I ran a Memtest a month ago and it came back with no issues.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#20
I am afraid there is no way to tell. The Sandy Bridge CPUs have the whole of the north bridge function integrated within the CPU so it is the CPU which communicates with the graphics card. But between them, the media of communication is the motherboard. So either of them can be faulty.
For the consistency, it is likely the motherboard as CPUs do not usually cause problems.
Also look for a BIOS update for your motherboard and check if the BIOS settings related to PCI-E x16 are all as it should be.
Generation 2.0
PCIE bus clock = 100 MHz
I upgraded my BIOS around a year ago because it was having issues with my lightup keyboard. Should I try updating it again? I had help installing my BIOS last time, but it appears that 1.H is the latest one, or am I reading it wrong?
http://us.msi.com/product/mb/790FX-GD70.html#/?div=BIOS
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#21
I upgraded my BIOS around a year ago because it was having issues with my lightup keyboard. Should I try updating it again? I had help installing my BIOS last time, but it appears that 1.H is the latest one, or am I reading it wrong?
http://us.msi.com/product/mb/790FX-GD70.html#/?div=BIOS
Yeah 1.H is the latest. Do one thing. Enter your BIOS and check the version. If it is the same as the latest one, then you don't need to upgrade. Else you must upgrade it since you are having problems which is likely related to the motherboard.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#22
Good find relevant to GPU crunching/folding because that's when CPU threads use GPU for calculations that take much longer than 1 frame time calculations in games or Aero GUI.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff553893(v=vs.85).aspx

This timeout recovery mechanism is made for possible lockups in Aero. I doubt disabling it'll help here since card works fine in other machine.



Maybe you already checked these, but since you didn't mention it:

Can you check (using GPU-Z or whatever) when that happens, is your card stuck in low power state or throttling due high temperatures?

HD 6870 draws about 13.5 Amps from the +12 Volt rails under maximum GPU load. What is your PSU?

Maybe you can try persuading your brother to test your MBO/CPU/GPU combo with his PSU?
I got a log of it happening this time. It happened around "2013-03-12 21:22:52"

I'm not sure what I'm reading, it appears that my VDDC Current drops and then my GPU Core Clock and Memory Clock drop. Any idea what that could be?
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.26/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#23
Your current did not drop. It spiked. You may want to get a new power supply. What kind of PSU do you have.


Reading your original post, the 3 highest possible problems are hard drive corruption, psu issues, software conflicts causing crashes. I knew it wasn't the card itself since you have the same problem on multiple cards and the same card didn't happen on your brother's computer.

After reading your logs, I can tell you that power spikes caused it.

12.13 , 1.172 , 10.0
12.00 , 1.172 , 45.0

That part right there. That's 12 volts and 45 amps. No video card can handle that. You're lucky there's some safety features built in there or else it should've fried your card.

Go buy a new decent PSU like a Corsair brand.
 

sazkion

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling ZALMAN CPU Cooler Blue LED
Memory 2 x CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870
Storage OCZ 120GB SATA III
Display(s) 2 x LG 23" LCD Monitor W2353VP Model GH22LS30
Case COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1)
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
#24
Your current did not drop. It spiked. You may want to get a new power supply. What kind of PSU do you have.


Reading your original post, the 3 highest possible problems are hard drive corruption, psu issues, software conflicts causing crashes. I knew it wasn't the card itself since you have the same problem on multiple cards and the same card didn't happen on your brother's computer.

After reading your logs, I can tell you that power spikes caused it.

12.13 , 1.172 , 10.0
12.00 , 1.172 , 45.0

That part right there. That's 12 volts and 45 amps. No video card can handle that. You're lucky there's some safety features built in there or else it should've fried your card.

Go buy a new decent PSU like a Corsair brand.
I've had this problem with two different power supplies

PC Power and Cooling 610W - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817703005

and my current PSU
CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139010

My video card has two connectors for a power supply that appears to be 6 pins each. My old PSU didn't have those connectors so I had a 6 pin connector to whatever type of power plugged into the IDE drives. This IDE power was shared with another hard drive as well since the cord had multiple connectors. My new PSU has connectors that I think will plug directly into this video card, should I try that?
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.26/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#25
The HX shouldn't do that. It is rock solid stable.
Yes, all the drives should be on separate lines than the video card.

What motherboard are you using? and what bios. You should really fill out your system specs in your profile so we have a better understanding.