• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI+NVIDIA Physx??? yes

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (3.73/day)
Likes
2,978
Location
Republic of Texas
#2
heres how you do it.

first off... the only available version SO FAR to do this on is build 6519 found on isohunt

then you need to roll your bios date back to 12/1/07 and install

there is a link to a site on the dvd that has the activator. DL, install, reboot, done.

now...

DL vista 32bit drivers and make sure you run them in compatability mode for vista RTM.

then when its all up and going do this...

1. install all drivers and get everything working.

2. have both monitors up and running.

3. right click desktop and go to display properties and select display settings(adjust resolution).

4. make sure both vid cards have a desktop enabled, ONLY ONE.

5. select the nvidia card as your default/main desktop/monitor and hit APPLY(not ok, leave the window open)

6. open physx control panel and go to the physx card tab. it should now say physx is enabled. leave this open.

7. switch the default/main display back to the ati card(s) and hit apply.

8. in the physx control panel, click on ENABLE a few times so that APPLY becomes available once again. click apply and repeat this step again.

9. run your benchmark of physx enable games.

10. enjoy.

NOTE: the monitor on the physx card does not need to be left on at this point.
 
Last edited:

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
12,092 (2.68/day)
Likes
6,405
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
#3
Well dammit man! Get in damn Vista and get that DX10 ATI + PhysX rollin! I got faith you'll find or already have the solution to it!

Just eagerly waiting for the screenies! :rockout:
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (0.97/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#4
Alright!!! Lets so those results! :)
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#5
Lol, its already 1AM here. Show me the results and let me go to sleep , I have to wake up at 6 AM for work and I always have trouble getting up . Please Hurry :D:D
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.13/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Lol, its already 1AM here. Show me the results and let me go to sleep , I have to wake up at 6 AM for work and I always have trouble getting up . Please Hurry :D:D
We all know what fit's like, he won't tell anyone until he's ready (assuming he didn't fall asleep at the PC or find something to fix :p).

Damn I can't wait for this though. I kept toying with the idea but as soon as I heard that it wasn't useable in Vista I pushed the idea to one side, now I'm stoked! :D
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#7
Damn I can't wait for this though. I kept toying with the idea but as soon as I heard that it wasn't useable in Vista I pushed the idea to one side, now I'm stoked! :D
Well you'll be dissapointed. Look at the screens, it still says no PhysX acceleration .
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.13/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Well you'll be dissapointed. Look at the screens, it still says no PhysX acceleration .
I think he's put the wrong screenie up, because I've seen one with it active.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.13/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
You'll be more disappointed when you take a look at the complete screen .
Hahah, fit, where's that one you posted before with it all active?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.13/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
I have seen that. But you will soon know what I meant by my above comment
Yeah, I see that bit on the right-hand side....
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2004
Messages
968 (0.19/day)
Likes
591
System Name Seriously ?
Processor Core i7 4790K @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling Alpenföhne Broken 120 + 2 huge coolermaster chassis fans
Memory 2x8GB DDR3 2133Mhz Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) Geforce GT 610 (no longer playing games)
Storage 2x60gb Kingston SSDnow 320 / 1x120gb Crucial SSD C300 / 1 WD caviar black 1tb
Display(s) 40" Samsung UE40ES5500
Case Cooler Master HAF932
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Microsoft intellimouse optical
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/vmb641
#13
windows 7 is not doing it properly right now,later maybe...
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (3.73/day)
Likes
2,978
Location
Republic of Texas
#15
and yes......

Windows 7 is the answer.

there is nothing special about this at all(the setup/install)(7 is very nice and fast as hell).


more testing to come... comments please.
 
Last edited:

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.31/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#16
and yes......

Windows 7 is the answer.

there is nothing special about this at all(the setup/install)(7 is very nice and fast as hell).

there is ONE HUGE ASS PROBLEM that i was having last night that delayed my testing.

this will not work with any ATI X2 cards.

the X2 cards have 2 bios's and the motherboard will always load the single card first(nvidia card). this means that the primary card will be the nvidia card and you will not be able to enable physx once you switch the display to the Ati x2 card(s). im not 100% sure on this but after battling this problem for 5 hours with no solution i popped in my 4850 and it worked within 5 minutes.

more testing to come... comments please.
Awesome! but I still cant use it! :ohwell:
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (3.73/day)
Likes
2,978
Location
Republic of Texas
#18
i took every single vista driver i threw at it.... it's actually alot better than vista... even in the alpha stages. expect beta 1 to be out in october.

anyone can go get it right now. go to www.isohunt.com and put this in the search box with the quote marks "windows 7" . there is one that has some green comment marks, thats the one i got.
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.31/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#19
wait whats all this talk about windows 7, that's not out yet is it?
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.31/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#21
there is an early build of 7 out that you can try. the beta 1 should be released in october.
oooo, so Are they not going to release SP for vista that will allow physics or do we have to upgrade to windows 7 for that support?
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (3.73/day)
Likes
2,978
Location
Republic of Texas
#22
there is talk of one but at this time i have no info that proves that something is coming for vista. the problem that vista has with this is one that cant really be solved without a major change in the OS itself. i think MS is going to push 7 out the door early. alot of people are thinking 7 is just vista sp2 but it's far different. the whole kernal was rewritten from the ground up. 7 works far differently than vista although it looks similar. there are actually quite a few differences between the 2 os'es but i will not into them in this discussion.
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.31/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#23
there is talk of one but at this time i have no info that proves that something is coming for vista. the problem that vista has with this is one that cant really be solved without a major change in the OS itself. i think MS is going to push 7 out the door early. alot of people are thinking 7 is just vista sp2 but it's far different. the whole kernal was rewritten from the ground up. 7 works far differently than vista although it looks similar. there are actually quite a few differences between the 2 os'es but i will not into them in this discussion.
Well I guess I'll just have to wait and see, looks like ill be upgrading my os again soon. :ohwell:
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2005
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Merseyside UK
Processor Intel i7 950 (3035B684)
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling Swiftech GTZ
Memory 3x4GB Cosair Vengeance PC3-12800
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Vertex2, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP-HC
Case HSPC 'Top Deck' Tech Station
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair AX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#24
<---- disappointed :(
 
Top