• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI + physx psu advice

Enmity

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
454 (0.14/day)
Likes
36
Location
New Zealand
System Name Enmity
Processor Intel i5 3570K 4.6Ghz@1.320vcore
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 2 x 4 GB Mushkin Frostbyte 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 5850's
Storage 1 x 90GB OCZ Vertex2 SSD, 1 x 1TB HDD, 3 x 320GB HDD
Display(s) Samsung XL2370
Case Coolermaster Storm Stryker
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG PCI + Senn HD485's
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
My current specs are in my sig and my power supply is a Silverstone Strider 750W.

Basically i've been thinking about upgrading from xfire 4850's to xfire 5850's. I'd like to gain the extra performance as the 512mb on these cards has become a bottleneck. I'm also thinking i'd like to play with physx while using ATI for rendering...something about that just seems fun.

From the research I have done i've found that 5850's consume slightly less power than my 4850's..so thats all good. Now, ive got a spare 8800gts 320mb and also a 9600gt which im thinking I can use as a dedicated physx card/ or sell along with the 4850's.

I guess the questions I have for you are :

Would xfire 5850s be worth it for my system, at 3.75Ghz would the Phenom be that much of a bottleneck?

would my psu have enough grunt to power 2 5850's plus either of the two nvidia cards mentioned above?...and if not...what is the least power hungry nvidia card I could purchase to run physx? eg: 85/94/9500gt's

I know a lot of you may want to say I should just upgrade my psu and then not have to worry about this sorta shit. The problem is I've just recently upgraded to a new case, finally have some great airflow and have all of my cables tied down. It'd be a mother of a job to re-wire everything all over again.

Thoughts? Any advice is much appreciated.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.39/day)
Likes
14,252
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#2
You will be very impressed with the Xfire 5850s, your Phenom might be a bit of a bottleneck but the gains will still be huge. Please note that in the latest drivers, Nvidia disables PhysX if there is an ATi card present in the system. However, if you are prepared to use older drivers, use the 9600GT for PhysX because it is just as fast, and more energy effecient (but your power supply could easily power either 3rd card). If needed you can use a Molex-PCIE power adapter to power the 9600GT
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.43/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#3
no need for a new PSU imo, two 5850's and a 9600GT would be a sick gfx + physx setup for some time to come.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#4
XFIRE and SLI are mostly for high resolution. That is where are most efficient. But knowing how great HD58X0 handle high resolutions. One HD5850 bios modded for higher voltage at 1000MHz Core would be plenty for me. I guess :rolleyes: two would be better. :toast:
 

Enmity

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
454 (0.14/day)
Likes
36
Location
New Zealand
System Name Enmity
Processor Intel i5 3570K 4.6Ghz@1.320vcore
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 2 x 4 GB Mushkin Frostbyte 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 5850's
Storage 1 x 90GB OCZ Vertex2 SSD, 1 x 1TB HDD, 3 x 320GB HDD
Display(s) Samsung XL2370
Case Coolermaster Storm Stryker
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG PCI + Senn HD485's
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
thankyou for your prompt responses. another factor will be that I'll most likely have to drop down to pcie 8x rather than 16x to fit the 9600gt in lol..however in the benches ive seen this doesn't seem to effect performance in a huge margin to gain physx support.

Ion - in regard to the latest nvidia driver - is that even when using the physx hack which was recently released? It's been linked on tpu for maybe a week?...or has nvidia done the sly (again) since then and worked around the hack?
 

Enmity

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
454 (0.14/day)
Likes
36
Location
New Zealand
System Name Enmity
Processor Intel i5 3570K 4.6Ghz@1.320vcore
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 2 x 4 GB Mushkin Frostbyte 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 5850's
Storage 1 x 90GB OCZ Vertex2 SSD, 1 x 1TB HDD, 3 x 320GB HDD
Display(s) Samsung XL2370
Case Coolermaster Storm Stryker
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG PCI + Senn HD485's
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
alright i just checked it out, im currently using the top and bottom pcie slots running in 16x. Both the nvidia cards i have are both dual slot coolers so theres no way i could fit one in, also, it'd have to be significantly shorter than the 4850's because im using the 4x sata connections which are in a hideous place....hmmm...so really if this physx things going to work i may have to do a bit more research and find a short, skinny single slot card to use for physx lol...

ive attached a pic of the current setup to show you what i mean about the satas...what a bitch of a spot huh?
 

Attachments

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,648 (2.64/day)
Likes
3,431
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
I read a post from Mussles on this subject, he was saying the cpu bottle neck's the gpu till ya hit 4.2GHz on the cpu....
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
896 (0.18/day)
Likes
180
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock TF
Memory 2x8gb Team Dark Pro 3200C14
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX970 Xtreme Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB / 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG 42" HDTV LED 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) SoundBlasterX AE-5
Power Supply EVGA 1000w Supernova
Mouse Razor Deathadder Elite
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
#8
use the 8800gts 320mb, those have more rop's then the 9600 and from what I read the higher the rop's the bettter for physx. also the 8800 had 320bit mem which is better too I think. I just came off a 4850x2 with a 8800gts 320mb and it was a hell of a combo. Now I got a single 5870 and gtx 260. Only reason I got off the 8800gts was because I needed something that had dxva support, it was also my tv card.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
I read a post from Mussles on this subject, he was saying the cpu bottle neck's the gpu till ya hit 4.2GHz on the cpu....
that was on intel, not sure what clocks would give relevant performance on his AMD system.


regardless of this, you cant run ATI cards + physx.

nvidia has blocked it, physX will NOT enable unless the primary video card in a system is an nvidia one - and yes, this even applies to the Ageia PCI cards now.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,976 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,336
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#10
Guessing since GTA4 uses 50-60CPU at 3.7Ghz for me I could add another 4850 and be fine with overhead losses and all. My 4850 I have pushed to 735Mhz with a pencil mod and just a BIOS unlock for higher GPU speed. Withthe second pencil mod I have hit 790 core but it was slightly unstable, and my volt meter was uncalibrated.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
Guessing since GTA4 uses 50-60CPU at 3.7Ghz for me I could add another 4850 and be fine with overhead losses and all.
CPU usage in task manager doesnt show the CPU being used to feed the video cards. that is transparent to the OS.


I tested mine, where overclocking my video cards had less than 1% performance gain til i passed 4.2Ghz (which wasnt completely stable anyway)
 

Enmity

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
454 (0.14/day)
Likes
36
Location
New Zealand
System Name Enmity
Processor Intel i5 3570K 4.6Ghz@1.320vcore
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 2 x 4 GB Mushkin Frostbyte 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 5850's
Storage 1 x 90GB OCZ Vertex2 SSD, 1 x 1TB HDD, 3 x 320GB HDD
Display(s) Samsung XL2370
Case Coolermaster Storm Stryker
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG PCI + Senn HD485's
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#12
in regard to the 8800 gts i wont be able to fit this card inbetween my xfire set up as it is too long and will be blocked by my sata connections.

Physx can be enabled when using ATI as the primary gpu - heres an article about it which was released just recently. Of coarse you have to be on win 7 and must apply this hack to make it work. perhaps not with any nvidia driver released from this point on...but as of a week ago it should work.

http://www.techpowerup.com/105329/H..._PhysX_on_Windows_7_with_ATI_GPU_Present.html

I am now exploring the options of using a shorter single slot design nvidia card instead, perhaps a 94/9500GT...or a 220? they should be short and slim enough I reckon.
 

Enmity

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
454 (0.14/day)
Likes
36
Location
New Zealand
System Name Enmity
Processor Intel i5 3570K 4.6Ghz@1.320vcore
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 2 x 4 GB Mushkin Frostbyte 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI 5850's
Storage 1 x 90GB OCZ Vertex2 SSD, 1 x 1TB HDD, 3 x 320GB HDD
Display(s) Samsung XL2370
Case Coolermaster Storm Stryker
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG PCI + Senn HD485's
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#13
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,231 (1.47/day)
Likes
664
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#14
i think there is not bottlenick with 3.7 , also i see your psu is enough