1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Radeon Config?

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Dandel, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    i'm on Linux and i need a little help with fixing my dpi on a Television set i have on my computer... i can post the output of the command "xdpyinfo | grep -a3 resol" now, and all i need is help with figuring out the proper settings to get the screen to let applications, like *cough* AMD Catalyst Control Center - Linux edition*cough* run.

    Code:
    screen #0:
      dimensions:    1280x1024 pixels (370x280 millimeters)
      resolution:    88x93 dots per inch
      depths (7):    24, 1, 4, 8, 15, 16, 32
      root window id:    0xcc
      depth of root window:    24 planes
    --
    
    screen #1:
      dimensions:    640x480 pixels (0x0 millimeters)
      resolution:    -2147483648x-2147483648 dots per inch
      depths (7):    24, 1, 4, 8, 15, 16, 32
      root window id:    0xce
      depth of root window:    24 planes
    
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    LOL. Hi Dand.

    ANd just a little bump for you, cause I want to know the solution as well.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    So true... anyways all i can say is that it might be fixed by manually setting the screen size, but i have no clue what values to use... although i did manage to find this...
    Xorg.conf man page -> entry for monitor configuration.

    i think you haft to manually measure your screen size, using the following conversion factor...
    1 inch = 25.4 millimeters

    so i figure by using this info and my screen size of the tv, which is 20" the diagnal of the monitor is, 508 mm, but i haven't tested it yet... I'll probably do that sometime next week though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Code:
      dimensions:    1280x1024 pixels (370x280 millimeters)
      resolution:    88x93 dots per inch
      depths (7):    24, 1, 4, 8, 15, 16, 32
    --
      dimensions:    640x480 pixels (406x304 millimeters)
      resolution:    40x40 dots per inch
      depths (7):    24, 1, 4, 8, 15, 16, 32
    
    apparently i got my fixed now... notice the second screen, which is my TV.

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"aticonfig-Monitor[1]"
    	Option		"VendorName"	"ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option		"ModelName"	"Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option		"DPMS"	"true"
    	# configure the Television Sync.
    	DisplaySize     406 304
    	Horizsync	30	-	50
    	Vertrefresh	60.0
    EndSection
    
    note: i added the line:
    DisplaySize 406 304 ( rounded down of course. )
    (20")^2 = (16")^2 + (12")^2
    400 = 256+ 144

    so with that:
    16" * 25.4mm/in = 406.4mm
    12" * 25.4mm/in = 304.8mm
     
    Wile E says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Ahhh, thank you very much Dand. This will come in handy.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Your very welcome, after all i'm also happy i fixed this, i just hope ati/amd will update the config tool to allow an argument that'll allow people to specify the screen size of theirs, and it's aspect ratio.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,196 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Hmm. I have never messed with TV's much (especially in linux with a damned ati card) but never realized you would have to input the "tv size" or am I reading this wrong?

    I figured it would be up to the TV's hardware to transform the s-video signal into what the tv needs to output.. as 640x480 should be standard :eek:

    Care to explain how you "found" how to change/calculate this? I see a 16" and 20" but I have no idea where you got these numbers from.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Dippyskoodlez, i got the calculation on how to do the screen size properly by doing the Pythagorean theorem.

    20^2 = X^2 + Y^2
    5 squared = 4 squared +3 squared.

    using this logic...

    Multiplier = (20) /5

    so by using this logic...

    X = 4 * Multiplier
    Y = 3 * Multiplier

    now that the X and Y are solved for...

    Screen Width = X * 25.4 MM
    Screen Height = Y * 25.4 MM

    Note:

    This similar process can be applied to almost any monitor... just as long as you know the aspect ratio, and this sample is for a 4:3 ratio.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,196 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS


    Oooh duh :banghead:

    I totally forgot that things were measured diagnally.

    This would make the "size" the hypotenuse.. :laugh:

    So simple and obvious, yet so... left field :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yes, well i thought initially that it was obvious enough when i mentioned...

    5^2 = 3^2 + 4^2
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,196 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    ^marks in a post takes a while before it triggers "math mode" for me :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)