• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ATI Radeon Config?

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#1
i'm on Linux and i need a little help with fixing my dpi on a Television set i have on my computer... i can post the output of the command "xdpyinfo | grep -a3 resol" now, and all i need is help with figuring out the proper settings to get the screen to let applications, like *cough* AMD Catalyst Control Center - Linux edition*cough* run.

Code:
screen #0:
  dimensions:    1280x1024 pixels (370x280 millimeters)
  resolution:    88x93 dots per inch
  depths (7):    24, 1, 4, 8, 15, 16, 32
  root window id:    0xcc
  depth of root window:    24 planes
--

screen #1:
  dimensions:    640x480 pixels (0x0 millimeters)
  resolution:    -2147483648x-2147483648 dots per inch
  depths (7):    24, 1, 4, 8, 15, 16, 32
  root window id:    0xce
  depth of root window:    24 planes
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#2
LOL. Hi Dand.

ANd just a little bump for you, cause I want to know the solution as well.
 

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#3
So true... anyways all i can say is that it might be fixed by manually setting the screen size, but i have no clue what values to use... although i did manage to find this...
Xorg.conf man page -> entry for monitor configuration.

i think you haft to manually measure your screen size, using the following conversion factor...
1 inch = 25.4 millimeters

so i figure by using this info and my screen size of the tv, which is 20" the diagnal of the monitor is, 508 mm, but i haven't tested it yet... I'll probably do that sometime next week though.
 

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#4
Code:
  dimensions:    1280x1024 pixels (370x280 millimeters)
  resolution:    88x93 dots per inch
  depths (7):    24, 1, 4, 8, 15, 16, 32
--
  dimensions:    640x480 pixels (406x304 millimeters)
  resolution:    40x40 dots per inch
  depths (7):    24, 1, 4, 8, 15, 16, 32
apparently i got my fixed now... notice the second screen, which is my TV.

Code:
Section "Monitor"
	Identifier	"aticonfig-Monitor[1]"
	Option		"VendorName"	"ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option		"ModelName"	"Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option		"DPMS"	"true"
	# configure the Television Sync.
	DisplaySize     406 304
	Horizsync	30	-	50
	Vertrefresh	60.0
EndSection
note: i added the line:
DisplaySize 406 304 ( rounded down of course. )
(20")^2 = (16")^2 + (12")^2
400 = 256+ 144

so with that:
16" * 25.4mm/in = 406.4mm
12" * 25.4mm/in = 304.8mm
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#5
Ahhh, thank you very much Dand. This will come in handy.
 

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#6
Your very welcome, after all i'm also happy i fixed this, i just hope ati/amd will update the config tool to allow an argument that'll allow people to specify the screen size of theirs, and it's aspect ratio.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#7
Your very welcome, after all i'm also happy i fixed this, i just hope ati/amd will update the config tool to allow an argument that'll allow people to specify the screen size of theirs, and it's aspect ratio.
Hmm. I have never messed with TV's much (especially in linux with a damned ati card) but never realized you would have to input the "tv size" or am I reading this wrong?

I figured it would be up to the TV's hardware to transform the s-video signal into what the tv needs to output.. as 640x480 should be standard :eek:

Care to explain how you "found" how to change/calculate this? I see a 16" and 20" but I have no idea where you got these numbers from.
 

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#8
Dippyskoodlez, i got the calculation on how to do the screen size properly by doing the Pythagorean theorem.

20^2 = X^2 + Y^2
5 squared = 4 squared +3 squared.

using this logic...

Multiplier = (20) /5

so by using this logic...

X = 4 * Multiplier
Y = 3 * Multiplier

now that the X and Y are solved for...

Screen Width = X * 25.4 MM
Screen Height = Y * 25.4 MM

Note:

This similar process can be applied to almost any monitor... just as long as you know the aspect ratio, and this sample is for a 4:3 ratio.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#9
Dippyskoodlez, i got the calculation on how to do the screen size properly by doing the Pythagorean theorem.

20^2 = X^2 + Y^2
5 squared = 4 squared +3 squared.

using this logic...

Multiplier = (20) /5

so by using this logic...

X = 4 * Multiplier
Y = 3 * Multiplier

now that the X and Y are solved for...

Screen Width = X * 25.4 MM
Screen Height = Y * 25.4 MM

Note:

This similar process can be applied to almost any monitor... just as long as you know the aspect ratio, and this sample is for a 4:3 ratio.


Oooh duh :banghead:

I totally forgot that things were measured diagnally.

This would make the "size" the hypotenuse.. :laugh:

So simple and obvious, yet so... left field :roll:
 

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#10
Yes, well i thought initially that it was obvious enough when i mentioned...

5^2 = 3^2 + 4^2
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#11
Yes, well i thought initially that it was obvious enough when i mentioned...

5^2 = 3^2 + 4^2
^marks in a post takes a while before it triggers "math mode" for me :laugh: