• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Radeon HD 3450 AGP 1.5 V?

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#1
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
Yes it's compatible, 1.5v is the newest AGP standard. Only VERY old motherboards would have the older type (1.8v I think).
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.62/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#3
if you gonna use that rig for gaming get the HD 3850 instead. Or better yet do a full scale upgrade. If not gaming, then you dont even need to get an HD 3450.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#4
if you gonna use that rig for gaming get the HD 3850 instead. Or better yet do a full scale upgrade. If not gaming, then you dont even need to get an HD 3450.
Well, I'm looking for a resonable priced AGP video card that will work well with Vista. At $45 on newegg.com, price isn't too bad. Just want to make sure that it will work with that kind of AGP slot on motherboard.

- Josh
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#5
Yes it's compatible, 1.5v is the newest AGP standard. Only VERY old motherboards would have the older type (1.8v I think).
Thanks alot. Just wanted to make sure the card would be compatable.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.62/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#6
Well, I'm looking for a resonable priced AGP video card that will work well with Vista. At $45 on newegg.com, price isn't too bad. Just want to make sure that it will work with that kind of AGP slot on motherboard.

- Josh
i would think that your current Radeon 9000 should work on Vista, so thats why i said there bis little point in the upgrade if not gaming.

If you gonna get the HD 3450 i highly recomend to get the actively cooled version. Passively cooled cards are blazing hot, especially under load. I know this from first hand experience.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#7
i would think that your current Radeon 9000 should work on Vista, so thats why i said there bis little point in the upgrade if not gaming.

If you gonna get the HD 3450 i highly recomend to get the actively cooled version. Passively cooled cards are blazing hot, especially under load. I know this from first hand experience.
The Radeon 9000 doesn't have a native driver for Vista. Also it's not mine, it's a loaner from my brother. Also, I'm gonna do a little gaming with it. Most importantly, how can I tell if the card that I'm gonna get is actively cool or passively cooled?

- Josh
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#8
Look at a picture of the card, if you see a fan anywhere then it's actively cooled. If there's no fan and just a piece of metal on it, it'll be passively cooled. I imagine a low powered card like a 3450 would be passively cooled to save money on manufacturing costs, plus it'll be silent of course. A passively cooled card won't overclock as much as an actively cooled one though.

I really wouldn't bother getting it if you intend to play recent games though, even an AGP 3850 would struggle with a lot of modern games like Crysis for example.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.62/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#9
I really wouldn't bother getting it if you intend to play recent games though, even an AGP 3850 would struggle with a lot of modern games like Crysis for example.

Yea, i agree with that. Furthermore if you are planning to use Vista on your present system be prepared to upgrade to a min of 2 GB of RAM, recomended size is 4GB. In all honesty, even with 2 GB of RAM and HD 3450 your machine will struggle with Vista and newer games. You are much better off upgrading everything as i sed earlier.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#10
Look at a picture of the card, if you see a fan anywhere then it's actively cooled. If there's no fan and just a piece of metal on it, it'll be passively cooled. I imagine a low powered card like a 3450 would be passively cooled to save money on manufacturing costs, plus it'll be silent of course. A passively cooled card won't overclock as much as an actively cooled one though.

I really wouldn't bother getting it if you intend to play recent games though, even an AGP 3850 would struggle with a lot of modern games like Crysis for example.
Thanks. I just took a look at the pic of it off the newegg.com site. It definitely has a fan on it, so it's actively cooled. Gaming isn't one of my really big main concerns. Just looking for a reasonable decent AGP card that will work under Vista and directX 10.

- Josh
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,482 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#11
Thanks. I just took a look at the pic of it off the newegg.com site. It definitely has a fan on it, so it's actively cooled. Gaming isn't one of my really big main concerns. Just looking for a reasonable decent AGP card that will work under Vista and directX 10.

- Josh
Just wondering -- if gaming isn't a big concern, why worry about getting a card that supports directX 10? You could find you an older Radeon X1600 AGP somewhere on ebay for $10, probably.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#12
Just wondering -- if gaming isn't a big concern, why worry about getting a card that supports directX 10? You could find you an older Radeon X1600 AGP somewhere on ebay for $10, probably.
Well, let's say that gaming could be a concern. I do have a couple of games.... Silent Hunter 4 and will be upgrading Chessmaster.

- Josh
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.62/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#13
Well, let's say that gaming could be a concern. I do have a couple of games.... Silent Hunter 4 and will be upgrading Chessmaster.

- Josh
in that case you will be better off with a 3650 or 3850. HD 3450 is not a gaming card, its more for HTPC or media playback uses or to provide display functionality to systems without IGP. It may play modern play games but just barely. I'm not familiar with the games you mentioned but i know that all games list recomended and minimum requirements needed to play. Check them out and see what kind of hardware they recomend and go from there. Also, dont forget to get more RAM, if your board supports dual channel -- great, then pick up some cheap DDR on ebay otherwise Vista will bog your system down.