• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Radeon HD 6950 - FPS Problems

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#26

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,557 (1.37/day)
Likes
965
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
#27
Okay I just did and it didn't seem to do anything.
Okay then you may have a virus or some spyware. Thing is it could have also been some kind of glitch. It is just too hard to say really.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#28
Or maybe an update to the game changed the ingame settings. 100fps at which settings? 30fps avg seems right for a stock 6950 at ultra.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,557 (1.37/day)
Likes
965
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
#29
Or maybe an update to the game changed the ingame settings. 100fps at which settings? 30fps avg seems right for a stock 6950 at ultra.
Yeah I think that there is some kind of low setting that was used and it finally kicked it to high and now this is happening, Though the OP stated that all games are now slow. But 100FPS in BF3??? Seems a bit high for one card really.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,557 (1.37/day)
Likes
965
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
#30
I am getting this on ultra settings. With 12.3 drivers.
I have seen as high as 80+ !!
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#31
I meant average fps. It differs from map to map as well.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.90/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#32
I find it hard to believe that you were actually getting 100fps with a single 6950 @ 1080p so it was prolly a glitch as other's have suggested but since you claim to notice a decrease in FPS with other game's as well i would be inclined to think that maybe you have some type of malware/virus as other's have suggested, have you tried to run any anti virus/malware proggies?

I never go through that extensive driver removal process, i just remove through control panel and then run driver cleaner/crap cleaner, reboot and install new driver's. I've been lucky so far :eek:

Hope you get it sorted
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#33
I find it hard to believe that you were actually getting 100fps with a single 6950 @ 1080p so it was prolly a glitch as other's have suggested but since you claim to notice a decrease in FPS with other game's as well i would be inclined to think that maybe you have some type of malware/virus as other's have suggested, have you tried to run any anti virus/malware proggies?

I never go through that extensive driver removal process, i just remove through control panel and then run driver cleaner/crap cleaner, reboot and install new driver's. I've been lucky so far :eek:

Hope you get it sorted
I was playing on Medium when I used to get this FPS but now I can't play without it dropping down to 50 and lagging. And I can barely play Minecraft now o_O
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#34
See in task manager if something is using up your CPU
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#35
See in task manager if something is using up your CPU
There is nothing. And I have 16 GB of RAM so processes taking up RAM should not effect anything.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#36
Amount of RAM doesn't matter if a malware is using up all your CPU resources leaving little room for your games thus the GPU getting starved.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#37
Amount of RAM doesn't matter if a malware is using up all your CPU resources leaving little room for your games thus the GPU getting starved.
Well I have no processes taking up any memory or CPU resources.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#38
I find it hard to believe that you were actually getting 100fps with a single 6950 @ 1080p so it was prolly a glitch as other's have suggested but since you claim to notice a decrease in FPS with other game's as well i would be inclined to think that maybe you have some type of malware/virus as other's have suggested, have you tried to run any anti virus/malware proggies?

I never go through that extensive driver removal process, i just remove through control panel and then run driver cleaner/crap cleaner, reboot and install new driver's. I've been lucky so far :eek:

Hope you get it sorted
I just scanned my computer with multiple anti-virus/malware and no viruses, rats or any type of malware. So that must not be the issue.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
969 (0.32/day)
Likes
173
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / BW-16D1H-U PRO blu-ray
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, Dali Zensor 7´s, Dali Zensor Vokal, Dali Zensor 1´s, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#39
Back up your documents, and try a clean windows install. If that doesnt solve it, its hardware related.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2005
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
20
Processor 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Stock
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D/US 4x4 1866@99927 1.41v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 280x
Display(s) crossover
Case junk
Audio Device(s) usbstick
Power Supply enermax 82+pro 5years+ still good
#40
Could be just an utility that doesnt load properly anymore like Asus toos for overclocking. While trying to load for a veeery long time it eats up all cpu cycles. Examine the taskmanager and disable offending stuff in msconfig startup or services if you confident you r doing the right thing.
 

DarthElvis

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#41
Is your card going to 3d clocks properly? Maybe something in Catalyst (or not in Catalyst - atipdlxx.dll, I'm looking at you)fubared your clockspeeds. Are you using anything like Afterburner or ATT?
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#42
Well I have no processes taking up any memory or CPU resources.
Did you click the button that says "Show processes from all users"? Even if there's only one user, there's still a bunch of hidden processes that could be using up your resources.

Also, as someone else eluded to, your card may not be clocking all the way up.

I had a 6950 a while ago that would not go all the way to 3D clocks and would give me some horrible frame rates. It was probably the BIOS on the card, but flashing it voids warranties. I RMA'd it. The new one worked perfectly. Luckily I had other video cards I could use in the mean time.

Use GPU shark to see the available states that are on the BIOS of your card. Most 6950's have 3 power states. Then simply monitor the clocks to see if you're getting your 3D clocks. You can use MSI afterburner for this purpose as you can set it to display the clocks in game.

EDIT: Reload the 12.3 drivers. They're the best driver's I've used in awhile. I have noticed major FPS increases across the board. I'm seeing 140+ in BFBC2 and averaging 120+ in Dirt 3 using 2 6870's in crossfire. NOTE: That's at 1920x1080 with all of the visual settings maxed. It's also faster and I have yet to experience a crash with it. In stark contrast to the 12.1 driver I was using which wasn't all that great. Would get hard locks and so on. My friend with an Intel system was experiencing the same things.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#43
Did you click the button that says "Show processes from all users"? Even if there's only one user, there's still a bunch of hidden processes that could be using up your resources.

Also, as someone else eluded to, your card may not be clocking all the way up.

I had a 6950 a while ago that would not go all the way to 3D clocks and would give me some horrible frame rates. It was probably the BIOS on the card, but flashing it voids warranties. I RMA'd it. The new one worked perfectly. Luckily I had other video cards I could use in the mean time.

Use GPU shark to see the available states that are on the BIOS of your card. Most 6950's have 3 power states. Then simply monitor the clocks to see if you're getting your 3D clocks. You can use MSI afterburner for this purpose as you can set it to display the clocks in game.
I checked all the processes and the process that is taking up the most is just the idle process so that doesn't really matter. I tried logging with GPU-Z while gaming and the highest the core got was to 750 MHz. If there is a way to reflash the bios to fix it please tell me because I don't think I have a warrenty on my card.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,529 (6.38/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#44
download MSIafterburner and start it up while gaming. Check your clocks to see if they are going into 3D mode. I had an issue before were it would say at 2d clocks and games would drop FPS FAST!
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#45
download MSIafterburner and start it up while gaming. Check your clocks to see if they are going into 3D mode. I had an issue before were it would say at 2d clocks and games would drop FPS FAST!
How do I know if they go into 3D mode?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,587 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,975
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#46
How do I know if they go into 3D mode?
I have a problem with my own non-refernce 6950 that has it only go to 500 MHz under 3D load. It sounds like you are having a similar problem. I am currently working with the card maker going through basic troubleshooting for this issue, and perhaps following the same steps will benefit you as well.


First, please do not use and third party tools to attempt clocking the card just yet.


IF you have the time, and an extra harddrive, I suggst you do a fresh OS install, and try installing using the Catalyst 11.12 driver. To monitor temperatures and clockspeed, you can use GPU-Z. At the very bottom of the monitor tab in GPU-Z is a check-box to have it update while in the backgroud, make sure this is checked, and load up 3DMark 11 or something and let it run.

When it exits, you can right-click the clock and temperature listings, and select the option to show the highest reading. If the clock does not scale past 750 MHz, your problem is like mine, and I suggest you contact the card maker to get some support on this. If it works, we can come to the conclusion that your problem is driver-related, and then deal with that. You've already eliminated temps, it seems, so let's look elsewhere for the problem.


The fresh OS install will help ensure it's not issues like a virus or other conflicting software. I think you must take this step now.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#47
I have a problem with my own non-refernce 6950 that has it only go to 500 MHz under 3D load. It sounds like you are having a similar problem. I am currently working with the card maker going through basic troubleshooting for this issue, and perhaps following the same steps will benefit you as well.


First, please do not use and third party tools to attempt clocking the card just yet.


IF you have the time, and an extra harddrive, I suggst you do a fresh OS install, and try installing using the Catalyst 11.12 driver. To monitor temperatures and clockspeed, you can use GPU-Z. At the very bottom of the monitor tab in GPU-Z is a check-box to have it update while in the backgroud, make sure this is checked, and load up 3DMark 11 or something and let it run.

When it exits, you can right-click the clock and temperature listings, and select the option to show the highest reading. If the clock does not scale past 750 MHz, your problem is like mine, and I suggest you contact the card maker to get some support on this. If it works, we can come to the conclusion that your problem is driver-related, and then deal with that. You've already eliminated temps, it seems, so let's look elsewhere for the problem.


The fresh OS install will help ensure it's not issues like a virus or other conflicting software. I think you must take this step now.
Should I try using a custom BIOS Rom? And I have actually tried using another harddrive but nothing changed, I think the problem is BIOS related.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,127 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#48
I have a problem with my own non-refernce 6950 that has it only go to 500 MHz under 3D load. It sounds like you are having a similar problem. I am currently working with the card maker going through basic troubleshooting for this issue, and perhaps following the same steps will benefit you as well.


First, please do not use and third party tools to attempt clocking the card just yet.


IF you have the time, and an extra harddrive, I suggst you do a fresh OS install, and try installing using the Catalyst 11.12 driver. To monitor temperatures and clockspeed, you can use GPU-Z. At the very bottom of the monitor tab in GPU-Z is a check-box to have it update while in the backgroud, make sure this is checked, and load up 3DMark 11 or something and let it run.

When it exits, you can right-click the clock and temperature listings, and select the option to show the highest reading. If the clock does not scale past 750 MHz, your problem is like mine, and I suggest you contact the card maker to get some support on this. If it works, we can come to the conclusion that your problem is driver-related, and then deal with that. You've already eliminated temps, it seems, so let's look elsewhere for the problem.


The fresh OS install will help ensure it's not issues like a virus or other conflicting software. I think you must take this step now.
500mhz under 3d? wow that is an strange problem. and in 2d does it goes to 250?

Anyway I would suggest doing this if not tried: driver resets to default :) this solve a few problem for me in the past.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#49
500mhz under 3d? wow that is an strange problem. and in 2d does it goes to 250?

Anyway I would suggest doing this if not tried: driver resets to default :) this solve a few problem for me in the past.
I personally have tried about every possible thing you can with Driver reinstalling and etc and it really hasn't done much for me.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,587 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,975
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#50
Should I try using a custom BIOS Rom? And I have actually tried using another harddrive but nothing changed, I think the problem is BIOS related.
NO, do not try another BIOS just yet.

Yes, it seems that my own card's tech support thinks that this is some weird BIOS issue. He actually thought that the card had the wrong BIOS on it, but he did confirm that the right one is on the card.

I just want to make sure htat you tested on a fresh OS, with nothing else installed other than the single app used to test clock scaling...this is quite important. It should make things like what ChristtheGreat above mentioned not an issue. If you have tested on fresh OS, and this did not fix it, then yes, flashing the BIOS might be the next step. Do you have a copy saved of your original BIOS?

500mhz under 3d? wow that is an strange problem. and in 2d does it goes to 250?

Anyway I would suggest doing this if not tried: driver resets to default :) this solve a few problem for me in the past.
Yeah, very strange indeed. I did notice a performance loss a fwe months ago, but i thought it was just due to a newer driver. I bought a third card, and when i used all three, performance was lees than two carda, even though the one card clocks quite low...this made me look deeper for the performance loss, and then I discovered this problem. THe card maker is jsut as baffled by this, and I was dealing with the guy that handles RMA testing for the OEM.
 
Last edited: