• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ATI SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE keeps crashing - VPU RECOVER

Wutan

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello all! This is my first post and i hope i'll get the needed help here.

My specs first:

CPU-Z

Binaries
CPU-Z version 1.54

Processors
Number of processors 1
Number of threads 2

APICs
Processor 0
-- Core 0
-- Thread 0 0
-- Core 1
-- Thread 0 1

Processors Information
Processor 1 ID = 0
Number of cores 2 (max 2)
Number of threads 2 (max 2)
Name Intel Core 2 Duo E8200
Codename Wolfdale
Specification Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8200 @ 2.66GHz
Package (platform ID) Socket 775 LGA (0x0)
CPUID 6.7.6
Extended CPUID 6.17
Core Stepping C0
Technology 45 nm
Core Speed 2719.9 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 8.0 x 340.0 MHz
Rated Bus speed 1360.0 MHz
Stock frequency 2666 MHz
Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, EM64T, VT-x
L1 Data cache 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L1 Instruction cache 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L2 cache 6144 KBytes, 24-way set associative, 64-byte line size
FID/VID Control yes
FID range 6.0x - 8.0x
Max VID 1.225 V

TDP Limit 65 Watts



Chipset
Northbridge Intel P35/G33/G31 rev. A2
Southbridge Intel 82801IR (ICH9R) rev. 02
Graphic Interface PCI-Express
PCI-E Link Width x16
PCI-E Max Link Width x16
Memory Type DDR2
Memory Size 4096 MBytes
Channels Dual, (Symmetric)
Memory Frequency 340.0 MHz (1:1)
CAS# latency (CL) 5.0
RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 5
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 5
Cycle Time (tRAS) 15
Row Refresh Cycle Time (tRFC) 38
Command Rate (CR) 2T

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1173293

GRAPHICS CARD:
http://www.shrani.si/?3P/hv/ClfjyEE/ati.gif


My problem is next:

Nonstop i receive a message from the ATI control panel (specifically from VPU recover) that my graphics accelerator has stopped responding.

What i have tried:

Removing my RAM's and (have 3) using only 1 at a time - DIDN'T WORK

Reinstalling Windows (XP) - DIDN'T WORK - tried it 2x

My PSU is strong enough - NOT THE PROBLEM

Took it to a computer repair shop (he said he fixed it) - DIDN'T WORK - same problem

Updated all possible drivers - tried driver only, tried with the control panel, tried Omega drivers, updated all Windows needed drivers (used software made for that specific purpose)

Tried powering the graphics card with 2 different cables that are needed to power it - DIDN'T WORK

The BIOS in the graphics card is probably ok (not an expert) - Sapphire started selling my graphics card with a faulty BIOS - checked it (a i said probably not an expert - probably not a problem as my BIOS and the wrong ones don't match).


SO PLEASE HELP ME!

If you need any more information please say.

P.S.: Could it be because it's GDDR5?
The only thing i didn't try, because i couldn't find the driver is for the PCI-to-PCI bridge driver (it's supposed to be included in the intel chipset drivers package, installed it - still Driver Checker said it's not installed.)

Thank you for any help given. :respect::respect::respect::respect:
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#2
You have to disable vpu recover from CCC
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,266 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,834
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#3
VPU Recovery was a technique developed back in 2004 for older video cards, It really didn't work well at all and should be disabled. Its sensitive to code errors from games etc, turning it off should fix crashes
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#4
Here

 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,395 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,034
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
The PCI to PCI bridge driver can be found on your driver CD. Go to the device manager, find it, right click on it and make it update the driver from the CD.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,266 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,834
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
I Had this same exact problem with a Asus P4S8X and a Radeon 9700 Pro, I couldn't figure out for the life of me why my machine kept crashing so i RMAd the video card just to find same problems, Later On I moved to AMD and Low and behold it was the motherboard being a POS.

Took this just to get stable with the Asus board
Beta Bios Installed (Never went final)
Video Cache mode change to UC or USWC (Cant remember now)
Latest Drivers from SIS
Catalyst 3.8-4.0
Disable WIndows Automatic Restarts
Disable VPU Recovery

This is what I had to do with the MSI K7N2 Delta-L

Install video card,
install drivers
Play games.

Worked right out of the box with the MSI K7N2 Delta-L

Also people had the same problems with the Asus P4G8X. I don't trust asus.
 

Wutan

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
I disabled VPU RECOVER - in my case being turned on it did help - very little , but still when turned off my computer froze up, where as before when VPU would be turned on it would just reset the driver and give the error message. The same would be if the ATI CCC was not installed (only driver) - the desktop froze and you can't do anything until you reset it.

ONE THING I DID NOTICE !!! : when lowering hardware acceleration in the Display properties everything works fine, except that games and videos don't work in this state, so it's a partial solution.

And forgot to mention that i tried my older graphics card (Geforce 8800 GTS) before to exclude Motherboard being to blame - worked fine

HERE'S HOW THE ATI OVERDRIVE SETTINGS LOOK IF YOU NEED THEM
http://www.shrani.si/?1s/x2/1wGo7DLl/untitled.png
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,266 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,834
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
well if you tried your old card it sounds like you didnt remove the previous graphics card drivers properly.
 

Wutan

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
@eidairaman1 I tried the previous graphics card today, been fixing this problem for the last week now (before it was all a clean install), so there was no driver conflict - i tried the previous graphics card just to say to myself that i tried everyting possible, and still nothing :banghead:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,266 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,834
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
where is your powersupply at?
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#11

Wutan

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
My power supply is LC6550GP. My graphics card is supposed to have enough watts, 550 i think, but the individual power requirements, amperage and all that might be different.

If this doesn't work i'll install Win7 if all else fails.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
106 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name Idk
Processor Athlon II x4 Propus 620 @3.6ghz ~ 2.6ghz Stock
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling Cooler Master V8 with Arctic Silver 5 thermo paste
Memory 4gb DDR3 1600 ADATA
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 128-bit
Storage 1tb SATA Seagate ST31000340AS
Display(s) ht09 28" lcd 1080p 16:10 t.v
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) AC'97 hd
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 7
#14
Funny thing is, I remember having my old x1050 having vpu errors. For some reason my the latest ati drivers would give me VPU errors. So I just went to the drivers provided on disk.


:roll:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,266 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,834
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
Funny thing is, I remember having my old x1050 having vpu errors. For some reason my the latest ati drivers would give me VPU errors. So I just went to the drivers provided on disk.


:roll:
Newer drivers for that Card are not going to be any beneficial as that is not a gaming board.

Btw Radeon X1950 Pro Beats out 2600, 8600, and 3650.
 

Wutan

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#16
Guys thank you for your help, but i'm not going to bother with this anymore. I'm going to assume that despite being 2 weeks old that the graphics card itself is faulty.

Thanks anyway.