• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ATI11.1 NB filter not installing

Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#1
I am installing the packages separatly since its in french.
When I do the Southbridge package installation it contains USB AMD filter driver that installs without problems and therer is also the Northbridge filter driver.
My problem is that when the package is installed it tells both have been succefully installed then need to restart the computer. After taking a look the Northbridge filter drive is not installed and to be sure of that i tried reinstalling the package and at the beginning when you chekc the little squares it tells that the Northbridge filter driver is not already installed .


Can anyone of you that have knowledge in ATI tells me something about it ?

Thank you guys.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#2
may be a corrupt driver download, delete and re-download and see if that helps. Did you clean out all the old drivers?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#3
go to device manager and system devices look for ATI pcie express (3gio) then right click it update driver point the install to the folder 11.1 and select the north bridge driver click install.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#4
may be a corrupt driver download, delete and re-download and see if that helps. Did you clean out all the old drivers?
I did twice one wit h a new fresh install i just finished also.

go to device manager and system devices look for ATI pcie express (3gio) then right click it update driver point the install to the folder 11.1 and select the north bridge driver click install.
Never had it since im using Onboard Radeon HD4200 also from ATI website its not a folder but a single .EXE file
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#5
I did twice one wit h a new fresh install i just finished also.



Never had it since im using Onboard Radeon HD4200 also from ATI website its not a folder but a single .EXE file
so it extracts to ATI/Support folder right ? the north bridge filter driver is in the sb driver package.You should have a driver under system devices in device manager if not then you have some thing wrong and you asked why it is not installing.Or how it can be installed.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#9
Found it. Same as Microsoft that contains Windows 7 64-bits thats why its not installing. But due to the install config files like stated on tom's hardware website it does not install since its the same version.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#10
If you change WorkaroundInstall=false to WorkaroundInstall=true, then it should fix your problem.
You can also change ShowUpdate=false to ShowUpdate=true, then you can use update to update drivers without uninstalling them first.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#11
Yes I know i've read the article and i'm testing eveything right now. But I also changed for the language but whatever you set it at true or false you always can choose the installation language. So i'll tweak everything in it and make a installation folder repaired with the ATI 11.1 and burn it to a dvd. The problem about my other thread is not solved ..its still missing a file and i dont know why they removed it.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#12
After taking a look the WorkAroundInstall will remove the squares that are already instaleld in your system so you wont see them if for exemple windows drivers are the same as the ATI catalyst. After taking a further look the NorthBridge filter driver is the only one who seems to be already installed by windows 7 in my case. So i could take the folders of installed drivers, tweak the installers files like stated on tom hardware website and burn it on a dvd for further installation or jusdt leave it as one executable package and choose to uncheck the square at first. But the main fact is that whatever the square is checked or not it wont install...the tweaking will only block the ATI drivers who are already installed by windows.

Question is now...Why the hell they removed in the displaydriver package the option to install VideoPlayer WMV9/VC-1 1.00.0000??? Was it useless only for Radeon HD4200 or useless for win7 64bits?

Theres the question my friends :p
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#13
If you really need a video player for VC-1, try a codec pack with a bundled video player such as CCCP or K-Lite Mega Codec Pack. Why they removed it is beyond me. perhaps they're still finalizing that part of the new suite
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#14
If you really need a video player for VC-1, try a codec pack with a bundled video player such as CCCP or K-Lite Mega Codec Pack. Why they removed it is beyond me. perhaps they're still finalizing that part of the new suite
Seriously I did not even see the difference with or without I just saw it was removed from the 11.1 version. Is it really helpful and whats the purpose of this ?
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#15
Install the chipset or usb filter driver from your mobo maker

I always install the last catalyst driver form AMD & after i install the chipset from gigabyte which install the USB filter & something else i don't remember & all works great ;)
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#16
<Everything is already installed and going well but if you have read earlier i just told that they removed one thing from the 10.12 to 11.1 and im wondeirng why they removed it. Thats all. Oh and whats the usage of it ? :p