• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

atiflash 6950. i screwed it up!

annonym

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
hi.


i have a problem.
i flashed my 6950 with the bios of a 6970.

now the pc wont start anymore....


i deactivated the pci-express port in the bios, and switched to the onboard adapter.

now i start atiflash under DOS. ...C:atiflash -i now i can see the bios information of my 6950. adapternumber is 0

i tried to unlock the gpu bios...worked

but when i try to flash it with ..C:atiflash -f -p 0 cayman.bin (cayman.bin is the backup of the old bios)

and then i get the ERROR 0FL01
ROM not erased

-------

what can i do to flash my card back?
force the flashing?


thank you for your help




error message:


Old SSID: 03B8
New SSID: 2460
Old P/N: 113-C2000100-107
New P/N: 113-AD01900-102
Old DeviceID: 6719
New DeviceID: 6719
Old Product Name: 6718.13.8.0.9.AS01

New Product Name: 3-MSITV246MS.103
MSI CAYMAN PRO V246
Old BIOS Version: 013.008.000.009.039303
New BIOS Version: 013.011.000.001.000000
Flash type: AT25S010N
programmed = 0, romsize = 20000
ROM not erased

ERROR 0FL01 : press '1' to continue
 
Last edited:

annonym

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
but i can read the bios with atiflash under dos, if i go with the onboard gpu


the only thing, i cant erase the old (6970) bios rom
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.22/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#8
try atiflash -i

ensure the adapter number corresponds to the card correctly when you type the flash command:

atiflash -p -f "adpter number as seen in atiflash -i" cayman.bin
 

annonym

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
ok i tried 2 pci-e cards.

the first in the main slot = my old 4800 adapter 0

the second on the other slot is my 6950 adapter 1


and it still dont work

same error message
 

annonym

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#13
someone else any ideas?


its like the bios has become write-proteced... but i dont now how


the first flashing was "sucessfull"
 

rflair

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
Likes
80
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel Q9550@3.83GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E
Cooling Thermalright TRU120
Memory 8 GB OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) ATI 4890@940/1100
Storage 3.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Dell, 42" Sharp Aquos
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy ZS
Power Supply PC P&C 860
Software Windows 7 SP1 x64
#19
Use -unlockrom in ATIflash.
 

annonym

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#21
where can i find all atiflash parameters? and a discription. who is the programer of this?
 

rflair

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
Likes
80
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel Q9550@3.83GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E
Cooling Thermalright TRU120
Memory 8 GB OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) ATI 4890@940/1100
Storage 3.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Dell, 42" Sharp Aquos
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy ZS
Power Supply PC P&C 860
Software Windows 7 SP1 x64
#22
Atiflash -unlockrom 0

Why would you use 1? You don't have dual cards do you?
 

annonym

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#23
yes. now i installed my old 4800 in pcie-port 1 and the 6950 in port 2


now the adapternumber from the 6950 is 1
 

annonym

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#24
Message:

when i try to backup my old 6950bios:


Old SSID: 03B8
New SSID: 2460
Old P/N: 113-C2000100-107
New P/N: 113-AD01900-102
Old DeviceID: 6719
New DeviceID: 6719
Old Product Name: 6718.13.8.0.9.AS01

New Product Name: 3-MSITV246MS.103
MSI CAYMAN PRO V246
Old BIOS Version: 013.008.000.009.039303
New BIOS Version: 013.011.000.001.000000
Flash type: AT25S010N
programmed = 0, romsize = 20000
ROM not erased

ERROR 0FL01 : press '1' to continue


thats all i get
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
664 (0.22/day)
Likes
106
System Name mine
Processor I7- 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Mortor
Cooling Cooler master V6GT
Memory 16gb corsair
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX1080 amp!
Storage m.2 ssd
Display(s) Benq xl2411
Case SilverStone FT02 - ltd edition red
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 10 64bit
#25
see this is exactly why n00bs shouldnt play with BIOSes.


first get someone professional
then get another card. use dual cards to boot. the flash your GPU.
1st sentance is why people get put off posting on a forum, douchbags calling them "n00bs" for no reason. he made a mistake, telling me you have never made one? sorry to go off topic but that kind of sentence erks me.

he has dual cards, hes trying to dual boot to flash his GPU, he came for help. not to be called a noob by you.

again, sorry for the offtopic.

OP: im sure sombody will help you, thers alotta knowlagable ppl here, dont be put off by one guys stupid comment. ive seen ppl on this forum fix BIOS flash errors by shorting the bios chip and even seen one crazy fella unsolder his GTX580 bios and reflash it, so dont lose hope ;)