• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATIFlash tool problems... help!

OJay

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
First of all, hi guys! :D

I recently put together my new pc and installed this graphics card:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004NDSZUW/?tag=tec06d-20

Let me first explain why I am trying to flash this card: I'm using MSI AB to overclock and overvolt it (and getting impressive results so far @ 970/1300 vcore = 1.187, not pushing the ram much yet). It is kombustor and games stable. However, I would like to set power control to 20%+ and for that I have to use CCC and CCC does not work well with any 3rd party OCing software (tried MSI AB and Trixx with CCC and the pwoer control keeps resetting whenever I OC). So now I've created a new modified BIOS using RBE that has increased OC limits and voltages just so I can use power control and OC all from within CCC. (Also might try to unlock shaders later)

I followed the instructions for the CD Boot flash here: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57750

I have two remarks to begin with: first, ATIFlash 3.86 is only one .exe file and the other .chg and .txt files are nowhere to be found. So I only extracted that and copied it onto the bootable CD and restarted. Also tried with ATIFlash 3.6 which has multiple files and copied those to the same bootable CD. The new bios was also there in .rom format.

When I boot from teh CD, I get some loading messages (that appear too fast for me to read) but then it goes down to this error message:

Driver not found: MSDC001 or something along these lines.

I tried executing the atiflash commands still but no go.

Help?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
113 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
System Name Intel
Processor E8400 E0 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Pro 1202
Cooling Zalman Fatal1ty FS-C77
Memory TeamGroup Xtreem DDR2-667 MicronD9 3-3-3-8/GSkill 4Gb 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6870 Vapor-X/Sapphire X1950XT
Storage VelociRaptor 150Gb + RaptorX 150Gb + WD green 1Tb
Display(s) Asus LCD 22"
Case ThermalTake sViking
Audio Device(s) Realtek OnBoard
Power Supply LC Power Hiperion 700Watt
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

OJay

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
OK I honestly did not go through all the comments, but I noticed they were all referring to CDROMS with IDE cables.... mine is a SATA drive... could that be it?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
113 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
System Name Intel
Processor E8400 E0 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Pro 1202
Cooling Zalman Fatal1ty FS-C77
Memory TeamGroup Xtreem DDR2-667 MicronD9 3-3-3-8/GSkill 4Gb 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6870 Vapor-X/Sapphire X1950XT
Storage VelociRaptor 150Gb + RaptorX 150Gb + WD green 1Tb
Display(s) Asus LCD 22"
Case ThermalTake sViking
Audio Device(s) Realtek OnBoard
Power Supply LC Power Hiperion 700Watt
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit
#5
I don't know if that has any influence (SATA or IDE interface), but back there in DOS time, if you wanted to have a optical drive available in DOS mode, MSCDEX was a software that was used to "force" the optical drive to be detected when it was not loaded during DOS mode start.

Maybe if you download MSCDEX from the net, copy it into your bootable CD and when DOS mode is loaded you run MSCDEX just like that and if it returns you a help menu, then you just need to use a command to load and "force" detect your drive...

I think this was the process to make an optical drive available back then...


Check this also
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/87165
 

OJay

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
My other option is to boot from USB, which I properly formatted and added the needed files. Also put it priority 1 from UEFI BIOS but for some reason the system would not boot from it.It goes straight to windows. So I'll have to do this through CD. I followed techpowerup's guide to the letter but I'm facing this strange issue which I frankly still do not know how to resolve. I mean all the DOS boot files are into the CD now, why is it not functioning properly then?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
113 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
System Name Intel
Processor E8400 E0 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Pro 1202
Cooling Zalman Fatal1ty FS-C77
Memory TeamGroup Xtreem DDR2-667 MicronD9 3-3-3-8/GSkill 4Gb 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6870 Vapor-X/Sapphire X1950XT
Storage VelociRaptor 150Gb + RaptorX 150Gb + WD green 1Tb
Display(s) Asus LCD 22"
Case ThermalTake sViking
Audio Device(s) Realtek OnBoard
Power Supply LC Power Hiperion 700Watt
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit
#8
Try via USB and deactivate booting from any hard drive...

After this, you just have to figure out what's the correct set up to boot from USB drive...

This is how i do it my self because my board bios is a little confusing to me... So i deactivate booting from any hard drive and i change the usb settings 'till i get what i want...

Does your BIOS detects your USB drive?
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.11/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#9
I personally don't have much experience with ATiFlash\ but if you are having a lot of grief with it, you can try ATiWinFlash.

Just make sure when you use ATiWinFlash, you have your card at stock and not third party OCing tools running.
You want to have the system running with only the bare essentials while flashing the BIOS in Windows.

I have used ATiWinFlash to Flash my GPU BIOS and have not had never once had a problem.
 

OJay

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
I did once try using winflash but it gave me a 'cannot erase ROM' message. Apparently my bios needs to get unlocked first and I dont know how to do that.
Do u have any links to reliable guides on using Winflash? You'd be doing me a great favor :D

I've read some doing it from the application itself and others recommend using command prompt.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
113 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
System Name Intel
Processor E8400 E0 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Pro 1202
Cooling Zalman Fatal1ty FS-C77
Memory TeamGroup Xtreem DDR2-667 MicronD9 3-3-3-8/GSkill 4Gb 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6870 Vapor-X/Sapphire X1950XT
Storage VelociRaptor 150Gb + RaptorX 150Gb + WD green 1Tb
Display(s) Asus LCD 22"
Case ThermalTake sViking
Audio Device(s) Realtek OnBoard
Power Supply LC Power Hiperion 700Watt
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit
#12
There is a command to use with DOS flash program to unlock ROM... I'm pretty sure that I've already saw it here in TPU... Search for it... (I'm at work and busy atm to do it for you)...
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.11/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#13
When I flashed the BIOS on my HD5840, it was only to create a custom fan profile so my Twin Turbo cooler fans would actually work without the need of third party software.

I know there is a reliable source somewhere here on TPU.
I just don't know where as it has been a while since I flashed my GPU BIOS.

I do not know about unlocking the GPU BIOS as I have not needed to do so.
 
Top