1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Atikmdag has stopped responding and has successfully recovered

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Sean8, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. Sean8

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    299 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Is there a fix for this, happens when I turn on the computer sometimes and sometimes playing games. Ive tried the latest video drivers reformatted and that hasnt helped so far.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,070 (10.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,912
    Could just be a bad card but you could try installing the video drivers only (no CCC) and see if it helps.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Sean8

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    299 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    yea thats how it is right now no ccc, and this is the 3rd card from rma so im sure its not the card now since the other 2 did the same thing. might just be a vista issue
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,070 (10.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,912
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Sean8

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    299 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Ive been reading ati forums, seems like TONS of people have the same problem as me lol

    and yea i reinstalled my os and that didnt solve it either.
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Then it's obviously a hardware issue. RMA the card.
     
  7. Sean8

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    299 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
  8. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,070 (10.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,912
    Try using older drivers until you find one that doesn't do it? Does everything in your device manager looks good? (no !'s)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Sean8

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    299 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    yea ive tried older drivers etc, i think its a vista issue might install xp just to try it.
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,070 (10.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,912
    Have you tried installing SP2 yet? All patches and hotfixes are included.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Sean8

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    299 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    its installed
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,070 (10.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,912
    Dang man, what a shitty problem... Perhaps it is time to give XP or better yet Windows 7 a try. You may want to send Microsoft and AMD an email asking for assistance too. Good luck :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)