• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Attaching 2 monitors to the same video card - need advice please.

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#1
Firstly apologies if this is a super-n00b question, but it's something I've never done before, because I didn't think I'd be needing it.

Now I know that I can attach 2 monitors on my GT. It's got 2 DVI outputs. However, before I go into the trouble of doing it I would like to know if I'd be getting the expected results.

The thing is that originally I had my old pc... which I gave to my 5 year old daughter when I assembled the new one... then we bought an apartment - which missed a pc so I took the old pc there.... and I share it with my kid. Now the kid (rightfully) expects that since she shares 'her' pc with me in one place.... I should 'share' my rig :)cry:) with her at home.... (is there a bigger crying emoticon somewhere?!?)

Anyway what I wanted to get is having both me and my kid using the same rig. It'd be advantageous because I could keep a half-eye on her making sure she doesn't mess up anything I have.

However what I wanted to ask before I go into the trouble of carrying a heavy CRT from my dad's place is:

What would be the result when I connect both monitors?

I do not want to have the same screen stretched out on 2 monitors. Apart from the fact that it would look terribly funny stretched on the right on a 19"LCD and on the left on a 17"CRT, but what I want really is that my daughter and I can access different stuff at the same time.

I'm not looking into games as such, but would it be possible with such a setup for... for example my daughter browsing the internet on her sites while I can browse the net on my sites?

Another thing.... what about mouse and keyboard input?

Imagine this scenario: I'm on TPU... my kid is on ABCdotfirstwordsdotlearndotspongebobwhatever....

Can we both use the same pc? Or should I just try to get her to stare at Zek's avatar? :D
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#2
Uh, having a second monitor attached to your computer does not mean you now have two computers.

Both monitors would show the same desktop and simpley put, the second one would just be an extintion of the first one.

:)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
No. Not possible.

You can have 2 monitors that have 2 desktops, but you can only ever have one input. So whoever is on the PC could use both monitors. ie 2 browsers open etc. but you can't have it so you can do 2 different things at the same time.

Take my set up

I have a 20" Dell widescreen and an unbranded 17" TFT both hooked up to my card.

The 20 is the main, which I play games browse the net etc.

The 17 is my secondary which I use for copying data from documents, leaving temp monitoring programs open etc. etc. etc.

So even though I effectively have 2 seperate desktops, I can only use one at once.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
416 (0.11/day)
Likes
30
Location
Los Angeles,CA
#4
there are softwares that can make one PC usable for many.One is Thinsoft BeTwin.It can make what u expect.MSI used to give it away free with old mobo CDs havent seen lately.Try googling for it.I havent used it though but it will do the work IMHO.
 

GLeN

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
243 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
Location
N.Ireland
System Name Broken Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel Celeron D 3.06GHz / Intel Pentium III 498 mhz 16kb cache 180nm!
Memory 768 MB ddr400mhz / 128mb sdram99.7mhz
Video Card(s) Radeon 9200 SE 128mb / ATI rage Mobility 16mb
Storage 160gb seagate ide / 20gig
Display(s) 17 tft / 15 tft
Power Supply Went on fire / Battery
Software Xp / Xp
#5
So on thegt, that means you can connect a hdtv and a normal 17inch monitor and have it just like you said one for games one for browsing whatever? haha thats great
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#6
Thanks zCexVe, I had been thinking that like I suspected hooking 2 monitors didn't obviously enable 2 users to do 2 different processes on the pc. I'll be looking into your link. :)