• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Audio for ps3 with hdmi > dvi converter

Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello,

I would like to get some audio for on my ps3, because right now I don't have any audio.
I bought a hdmi to dvi converter to get better quality (It's a pretty old tv which doesn't have hdmi) but the problem is dvi is only picture no sound. So after googling a bit I found out that I should use the white and red cable of the cables that come with the ps3 for sound.

The problem is: I get my picture on the channel "PC" and my sound on the channel "AV.SV"

So I either have sound OR display!

If you know how to solve this, thank you in advance!!!
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,266 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,070
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#2
Plug speakers into the mic jack on the tv? Or is that a no go because of the setting you need the tv on?
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Well I know it works with other speakers (not the ones of the tv) but I already have my computer (with speakers) and my stage piano (with a big speaker) on my room and its just way too many wires already. Another set of speakers would mean more wires and I don't have a plug socket for it!
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#4
Can you use the optical out on the ps3? If not then just track down an RCA to 3.5mm adapter and plug that into your monitor if I'm understanding your set up correctly.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Ehm im not very technical, but it's not a monitor its a television. The only ways to get sound is scart, av and 3.5mm plug, but I don't know have a cable from my ps3 to that plug. How do I combine that sound with the dvi display?

Also, I have no Idea what RCA is
 

Muenman

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#6
Hi What you need is 3.5mm Stereo Plug to Two Phono Sockets.
http://www.maplin.co.uk/3.5mm-stereo-plug-to-two-phono-sockets-48366 <-- there is a uk site with a picture of what i am talking about.
You can get them for about 6 or 7 quid.

You will need the phono ends to be female on the adapter because your ps3's basic composite cable are male ends. With most 3.5mm Stereo Plug to Two Phono Sockets adapters the 3.5mm jack is male so you might need a female to female adapter(otherwise know as 3.5mm Stereo Jack Coupler)
http://www.maplin.co.uk/gold-3.5mm-stereo-jackcoupler-34619<--- a picture

So plug your hdmi/dvi adapater into the ps3 and do the normal hdmi setup.
Then plug your composite cable that came as default with the ps3 into the ps3. Then get the 3.5mm Stereo Plug to Two Phono Sockets adapter and plug the red and white bits off the ps3 cable into it.
Now depending on your setup you could need or not need the 3.5mm Stereo Jack Coupler you may not need it if you have a pc monitor with speakers build in and a port at the back to plug a 3.5mm jack into it. But alot of LED monitors these days dont have speakers build in.

So if you dont have speakers built in or just want to use some better speakers or headphones you need need the 3.5mm Stereo Jack Coupler to give you a female end to the male end that is commonly found on the 3.5mm Stereo Plug to Two Phono Sockets. You may be lucky and find a cable with female ends but i never did. So now you have a female end to your 5mm Stereo Plug to Two Phono Sockets you can plug in whatever speakers you like.

Now go to the ps3 options and go to sound and setup the sound to go out of composite cable.

I hope i havent confused you :)
+ I only came on here to look at the Asus gtx 680 direct cu edition but ended up registering haha
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#8
Hello,

I would like to get some audio for on my ps3, because right now I don't have any audio.
I bought a hdmi to dvi converter to get better quality (It's a pretty old tv which doesn't have hdmi) but the problem is dvi is only picture no sound. So after googling a bit I found out that I should use the white and red cable of the cables that come with the ps3 for sound.

The problem is: I get my picture on the channel "PC" and my sound on the channel "AV.SV"

So I either have sound OR display!

If you know how to solve this, thank you in advance!!!
I think i know what you mean, you could buy all connectors and adapters but you will still have no sound because the TV speakers will only work with the same sound source as the Video signal, so it's irrelevant if you can use the optical or component because you will have either sound or video. If your TV works like mine you can't do anything. A small Home theater will fix your problem, connect the PS3 directly to it.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
I think i know what you mean, you could buy all connectors and adapters but you will still have no sound because the TV speakers will only work with the same sound source as the Video signal, so it's irrelevant if you can use the optical or component because you will have either sound or video. If your TV works like mine you can't do anything. A small Home theater will fix your problem, connect the PS3 directly to it.
So the only way to get sound is by an external speakers?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#10
So the only way to get sound is by an external speakers?
I think so, because the problem is not the PS3 since you can config it to do what you want, but the TV won't allow you to have separate video and sound signals, they have to be both from the same source.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#11
Unless you can slave the DVI input to the analog audio input using the TV's menu somehow (I've never seen a TV that can do this), you are going to need to use external speakers with the PS3 or use a headset.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
I think so, because the problem is not the PS3 since you can config it to do what you want, but the TV won't allow you to have separate video and sound signals, they have to be both from the same source.
^this


you'll need to use a source with video and audio on the same 'channel' or external speakers. the flaw is with your TV, not the PS3.