• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Automatic ramdisk mounting with Link Shell Extension ( Hardlinks )

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,311 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,718
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#1
Example: Arma 2
Fist off create a new folder for putting the files you want separated from the main game folder ( remember were you took the files from).
The ones I moved were the following as they are most likely the main streamed ones, these are all located in various locations in the main game directory.
Cut and paste these files in your new folder and keep it somewhere as backup, you also need it to reload into the RAMdrive depending on how you use it.

structures_e.pbo
characters_e.pbo
weapons_e.pbo
plants2_Tree.pbo
takistan_data.pbo
takistan_data_layers.pbo
tracked_e.pbo
air.pbo
misc_e.pbo
roads_e.pbo
takistan.pbo
desert_e.pbo
rocks2.pbo
rocks_e.pbo
plants2_Tree.pbo
Roads2.pbo
rocks2.pbo
signs2.pbo
signs_e.pbo

The above files totals at 3.91gb altogether so I went for a 4gb RAMdrive, you can chop and change to suit yourself or do some testing and see what ones really are used most.

Ramdisk time:
I used Dataram RAMDisk but to have a bigger ram drive than 4GB you need to pay $15.
I created a 4096mb unformatted ramdisk partition then formatted it as NTFS, copied the files to the ramdisk then with the Dataram program made a img of it and told it to automatically load it at start up.

So when the system starts up the ramdrive is there with all required files.

http://memory.dataram.com/products-and-services/software/ramdisk

Now it's time to link those files to were they were moved from.
Download this app for the symlinks, saves a lot of time and hassle.
Link Shell Extension
http://schinagl.priv.at/nt/hardlinkshellext/hardlinkshellext.html
Go to the downloads section and get whatever one is for your OS/system.
Install as per the installation instructions on the page linked.

Once downloaded and installed it's time to link the ramdrive files to were they came from and how you do this is VERY simple.

In explorer you select the files on the ram disk and right click and select Pick Link Source, after that you go to were the files were and right click in the right side of explorer and select Drop Symbolic Link.

As long as you told it the right places were all the files are from it should work.

Important shit:
Don't disable pagefile, It can make problems like crashing. System startup will be slower due to the system making the new drive from the image on boot.

For my needs at least and still only using a 4GB ramdrive turning the pagefile off has no ill effect although the system has 8 GB to run on so that might be why.
 
Last edited:

bear jesus

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#2
Some useful information there, i admit though for now it's of no use for me as i still only have 4gb total but once i upgrade to a tasty 8gb, 16gb or 32gb this could come in very handy. :toast:
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,311 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,718
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#3
Some useful information there, i admit though for now it's of no use for me as i still only have 4gb total but once i upgrade to a tasty 8gb, 16gb or 32gb this could come in very handy. :toast:
It fun to mess around with it, another good thing is with that ram drive program you can save the image on shutdown to so it's always up to date. Although better not using hardlinks with changing files though and just tell the system to just store them there.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,625 (0.35/day)
Likes
552
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 1701)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
#4
I too have messed around with RAMDisk - but the performance gain vss. a new SSD disk is limited.....saying that it is not worth the trouble if you have a relative new SSD disk.

But else .... if you have 8 GB mem and an old 5400 or 7200 rpm slow-disk-drive then it
a good idea ;)
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.65/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
#5
If you have a SSD then IMO a RAMdisk is still very useful just to save wear-level-trashing of your SSD. Put your temps esp. internet temps onto the RAMdisk.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,311 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,718
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#6
If you have a SSD then IMO a RAMdisk is still very useful just to save wear-level-trashing of your SSD. Put your temps esp. internet temps onto the RAMdisk.
For sure and as long as you don't mind a little slow down ( depending on size ) you can save it all with that ramdrive program so when the system is rebooted all be like normal.